We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel whit nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #225 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is close to Oxford street, easy access to good restaurants. We had a smal room that was right next to the aircontoionen. Poor continental breakfast, but the english breakfast was ok.
Close to paddington station

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anonym2011565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear anonym2011565, Thank you for your recent feedback. I was sorry to hear that you did not quite enjoy the size and location of your room and also you found the continental breakfast poor. I am glad that you did enjoy the English breakfast and our convenient location. I very much hope that you will give The Darlington Hyde Park another chance and you will come back in the future. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

An easy walk to Paddington Station. Rooms are clean but a bit stuffy if you hit a hot day! Breakfast is super quick and plentiful and the staff are more than helpful. A great base for a stay in London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Trish O, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come and visit us again soon and beforehand contact us directly for the availability and best rates. Warm regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked the Suite which is nicely laid out and clean, good water pressure and the bed was comfortable. for those needing an air conditioner you will be luck here.
the down side is the entry step is hazardous and could be reengineered seemed ridiculous that they were remodeling the facade but failed to consider how a guest enters the property, you walk in the entry door to a sudden 2 foot drop. The breakfast is acceptable but obviously something that they have to provide little pride in products offered and quality. the room is a beautiful victorian design filled with 20 year old Ikea furniture.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Paul W, Thank you for your stay with us and for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the suite room with its comfortable bed. However I was disappointed to read that you disliked the breakfast and you were not entirely satisfied with the decor and furniture. I am sorry that overall your experience was not as positive as that of others on Trip Advisor. I do hope that you will consider trying us again and we will be able to show you how lovely The Darlington Hyde Park really is. Kindest regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recommend this hotel to all my friends. It's close to Paddington Station when arriving and leaving to and from Heathrow. There's also Lancaster Gate around the corner which is on the central line for easy access into the City. The rooms are great, the breakfast plentiful, the staff lovely and it's clean and tidy!! Great restaurants around the corner. Connaught Village with pubs and cafés 5 min away. It's fantastic!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sparsmakad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear sparsmakad, Thank you for your lovely comments about The Darlington Hyde Park on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our central location, breakfast, rooms and facilities and our friendly service. We all here at The Darlington are looking forward to be welcoming you again in the future. My kindest regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very good location, nice clean room. The Paddington tube stop was only a short walk away, we could also walk to Oxford Str. & to Hyde Park, the bus stop to Camden was near as well! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Jamina J, Thank you for your stay with us and for your positive comments. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and your recommendations to others is greatly appreciated. Please do come and visit us again soon. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Finding the Darlington was not difficult even for us first timers into London. The staff were friendly and the hot English breakfast each morning was just that, hot and delicious!! Very good all round.
While the wifi was good, there were times it was impossible to get into the system. Steps in the bathroom were difficult, there needs to be a safety rail to assist older clients.

Room Tip: If travelling in full summer you will need to ensure that Air Conn is in your room as ours did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Maria B, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the location, the breakfast as well as the service provided by the team and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights, then an additional night after returning to London from Paris. Stayed in two different rooms, both were renovated with renovated bathrooms. Shower was snug for my husband, but this should be expected in a historic hotel. Great staff, very helpful. Very clean, comfortable, quiet. The breakfast is $10 Eur extra, we skipped it most days and grabbed a pastry out. If you are a breakfast person, it is a good choice. Easy to get to multiple Tube stops from this location and a very short walk from Paddington Station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowe_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Lowe_Country, Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your lovely feedback on Trip Advisor. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, helpful and friendly staff and our refurbished rooms and bathrooms. We are trying to maintain the hotel regularly to make sure that our guests feel comfortable whilst staying with us. With regards to the comment you made about the breakfast- the breakfast in the Darlington Hyde Park is included in the rate, we do not have a 'room only' option so I am really sorry for this misunderstanding. The information about included breakfast is given in the confirmation and also front desk staff say it before explaining where the breakfast room is. My team and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Darlington Hyde Park in the future. Yours sincerely, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#430 of 1,075 in London
1,066 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#227 of 1,075 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing