We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #225 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have visited this hotel several times. Good location near Paddington and Lancaster Gate, even near to Oxford street. This time our room, on the third floor, was rather large and very convenient, clean and comfortable. But the weather was so hot that we missed AC. The movable fan was a relief, but we had to have the windows open and there is some traffic in this street. The hotel itself is rather silent and a nice, old building very well modernised. We slept well in the heat and enjoyed our stay.
The wifi is a bit unstable and can be improved.

Room Tip: I belive ground floor rooms are smaller than higher up, we have had a ground floor room once. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1SveinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear 1SveinS, Thank you for your continued support and for returning time after time. I was glad that once again you enjoyed your stay with us. Return guests are what really makes working in a hotel a real pleasure and satisfaction. Thank you for being one of them and for your kind comments. See you soon, we all look forward to be welcoming you in The Darlington Hyde Park again. E-mail us for availability and the best rates. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel is in excellent location about a 10 min.walk to Paddington station. Reception staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was good lots of choices & staff very pleasant.Rooms were cleaned every day with nice fresh towels.Nothing to complain about. Would stay there again with out hesitation

Room Tip: Select a front room on any level above one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Samuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear 77Samuels, Thank you for taking the time to write a brilliant review after you recently stayed with us at The Darlington Hyde Park. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay including our location, friendliness of the staff, breakfast and cleanliness. Thank you so much again for all your kind words. We look forward to your next visit and I have passed on your kind words to my team. My warmest regards to you, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a room for stop over on the way home back to Canada. It was clean and perfectly fine for an overnight. Close to the train station so it was very convenient to get out to the airport on the Heathrow Express.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IslandGirl5265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear IslandGirl5265, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay in The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all here at the hotel look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Darlington Hyde Park wasn's as luxurious as our hotel in Paris, but we knew that. However, having a suite made it great to spread out.
There was not AC, but there were 2 tower fans in the room. It was also a safe neighborhood, and the front desk staff said that it was OK to leave our windows open at night. When we checked out, they tried to charge us for AC. Apparently they are upgrading rooms with AC in the bedrooms. However, once we said that our room didn't have AC there wasn't any issue of being charged for it.
The tub is very high. One needs to be careful getting in and out. It is also narrower than our tubs here in the states. I felt as if I was using a loofa on my body each time I used their towels. The bed was comfortable, but the linens were awful. I am a fabric snob, and the linens were too scratchy. I was so thankful that I had brought my own blanket for the plane and used it. There was no separate sheet. The only sheet covered the duvet, but it didn't bother my traveling companion. I have neck issues, and the pillow was too fluffy. Again, thankfully I had my own pillow that I had brought for the plane and used it.
Breakfast was quite yummy. I will crave their bacon and ham.
The front desk staff were helpful.
​Being able to connect to the internet was spotty. I was only able to do so the first night. My traveling companion was somehow able to connect a few other times. We asked the front desk about it, and they said that it was because so many people were on the internet. This was quite aggravating to me.
The Darlington is close to Paddington Station and several restaurants .
Although it sounds like I've only complained about them, I would stay with them in the future simply because they are close to the subway, and it being in a safe quaint neighborhood.

Room Tip: We were in room 205 which was at the end of the hallway. We never ran into other guests in our hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Connie D, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Darlington Hyde Park on Trip Advisor. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our location, the breakfast, you found your room and bed comfortable, the front desk helpful and our free Wi- Fi convenient and easy to use. I am sorry that you found our linen scratchy and pillows too fluffy. We took your comments on board and please rest assured that we are trying to improve our linen and towels quality. The comment about air conditioning concerns me the most. Air conditioning can be booked in advance at extra cost. If there is no air conditioning booked, we do not charge the guest anything extra apart from the accommodation or some extras like telephone call or special coffees at breakfast if there are any during their stay. Accept my apologies for this misunderstanding and if you would like to discuss it further with me, please do not hesitate to contact me at dominika@darlingtonhotel.co.uk. I once again thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us and I hope you will consider returning to The Darlington Hyde Park in the future. Kind regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Located close to Paddington station and Hyde Park.
Good cafes nearby. leafy streets, pleasant surroundings. We had a suite which had a separate bedroom, big bed, very comfortable and we had an air conditioning. Good breakfast and quick and efficient check in and out.

Room Tip: Book a suite, more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ocee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear ocee_10, Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at Darlington Hyde Park Hotel. It is really appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel spacious and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best discount rates when traveling to London next. Best regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room #3 in right under lobby. Foot steps over head all night. Door to exit/entry hall and front door slam and sound like people moving furniture overhead. We upstairs to question night manager and he acted like I was crazy, tried to say our room was under room across the entry hall. If #3 is the only triple room, DON"T STAY HERE! No a/c only a fan in the room. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't stay in triple room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear DiaDave, Thank you for taking the time to review The Darlington Hyde Park on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry that you found room 3 noisy but I hope it will not deter you from coming back to The Darlington on another occasion and you will allow us to find another room to suit you when you are back. Best regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent two nights at the Darlington hotel and was delighted with my choice. The hotel is conveniently situated near Hyde park only a couple of tube stops from central London, the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff could not have been more helpful, the full English breakfast was also excellent. Would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen_markell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominika G, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear stephen_markell, Please accept a huge thank you from my team and myself for your visit in The Darlington Hyde Park and for your amazing review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness, breakfast and you found the staff helpful. We look forward to be welcoming you in our hotel again soon. Contact us via e-mail or phone to get the best rates available. My kindest regards, Dominika Gozdzik, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#430 of 1,075 in London
1,066 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#227 of 1,075 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing