We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but beware the bedbugs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairways Hotel
Ranked #832 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean but beware the bedbugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2007

The room was a decent size and generally clean, though had that slightly grotty old feel many budget hotels in London have. Windows opened, which was a plus seeing as I stayed there for the two days of summer we had in 2007. Good location. Perfectly adequate, or so I thought.

I saw a couple of bedbugs on the last night and complained to the receptionist the next day. She was very rude and couldn't care less. That day I started to develop bite marks all over me - a week later they hadn't gone and I had over 200 lumps all over and was in agony. Three months later, I still have a few scars and scabs from them.

Overall, reasonable budget hotel in decent location and near to tube stations, etc, but cleanliness of the beds left a lot to be desired. Book with caution.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed bugs
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsOverall666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    29
    15
    15
See reviews for
16
23
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2006

I don't know who Jenny and Steve are, and quite frankly I don't care.

What I wanted was a cheap hotel with easy walking access to the centre of London for New Years Eve, and that's what I got.

It was nothing special, but was a safe secure place for me to leave my stuff and sleep at night.

Only real complaint is that of the 2 single rooms we booked mine smelt baddly of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2005

I stayed here this weekend and found it to be quite good. The location is excellent and I didn't find it particularly noisy. There are lots of good places to eat and drink round the corner, and transport links are excellent.

We had to check in at the reception desk next door and the staff were friendly enough. It was perhaps a little impersonal, but they were certainly approachable and polite.

Our twin room was nice and clean with a balcony, an old tv set, and a sink. Our toilet and shower were out on the landing. My only complaint was the lack of hot water in the shower, which was disappointing when we were pleased with everything else about this hotel. I had to have a cold shower first thing in the morning which was pretty bad.

Otherwise, I would stay here again purely based on the price and location alone. We were free to come and go as we pleased with very little contact with the owners.

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2004

Our family have stayed in this Hotel with Jenny and
Steve a few times over the last ten years and found it quiet, friendly and good value for money.
If the hotel has been sold to the people next door
I sincerely hope they keep the same standard of service as the previous owners. If not-this is another family who will be looking for a London base.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2004

We began the first of many pleasant stays with Jenny and Steve at Fairways in 1987. Discovered it quite by accident and were attracted by the clean smell of furniture polish wafting out the front door. It was our London home-away-from-home. Very sorry to read in the previous review that Jenny and Steve have now retired. Good things always have to end.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2004

I stayed here about a year ago with my daughter and we both loved it.
Our room was small but cute and clean. The owners, Jenny and Steve, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and served a delicious breakfast. However, when I recently went to book this hotel again I found that it had been sold to the hotel next door. I guess the owners retired so I would never book it now. I just want to warn people to be careful.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dyann301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2003

Friendly staff but very noisy

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel 65
#783 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Venture Hostels
#674 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Viking Hotel
#855 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#282 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Five Kings Hotel
#852 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Hotel

Property: Fairways Hotel
Address: 186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #832 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Fairways Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing