We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't expect much”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivanhoe Suite Hotel
Ranked #1,051 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Sandbach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't expect much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Didn't expect much other than somewhere to sleep for the price with the location in the capital - but even this was near impossible. One of the beds had springs poking through the mattress - whereas the other gave severe back pain. The general state of the room was relatively poor - it didn't look as though it was cleaned between each person's stay.
In the bathroom things were no better. Neither of us took a shower because there was a pool of what looked like stagnant urine in there. The tap in the room was almost impossible to do anything with because it was falling off, and until we'd been there - the sink was blocked.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank deltamikealpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    6
    8
    65
See reviews for
9
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Trust me I am not that easily disgusted but this was simply the most horrible experience I have ever had!
This place was not only dirty but filthy and beyond disgusting! I had to check out the next day as I felt I put my health at risk by staying there.
The floor itself was so dirty that I had to wonder if this room had been cleaned at all inbetween guests, since there was a lot of rubbish still left behind from previous guests. The bathroom was in an overly filthy state as well, which is why I didn't even dare to take a shower. It was just a never ending story of finding hairs and stains on the sheets etc.

Because there is absolutely no reception and no answer for some time when trying to ring them it is really difficult to communicate anything with them.

Those rooms do not look like they do on all those internet booking sites! And the reviews are usually not harsh enough when it comes to this place.

And the amount of money they want is too much. For just a little bit more you can find beautiful hotel rooms in Central London(!) where you will also actually receive service.

What you get with Ivanhoe Suite "Hotel" is not a hotel. I have stayed in hostels that were much nicer than this.

My camera is not the best but I think you will get a pretty good idea of what's going on there.

Again, DO NOT GO THERE, because you might have the same problems like me trying to get some of your money back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Just to give you the background, me and my mate are rugby players on a messy weekend to watch England vs New Zealand. We wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful to base ourselves while we spent the weekend getting sh**faced. It was perfect, a room 2 beds and a shower. No frills, just towels. That's what we paid for, that's we got!! Perfect!

If you're looking for a romantic weekend with the Mrs then no. If you're looking for a base, some beers, a great location and a messy weekend then it's spot on!

One thing I would note is that this place has huge potential and if you can tempt the owner to sell then buy it do it up and build yourself a goldmine!

Happy drinking!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NMRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

beyond horrible, the heater didnt work during November, so we had to stay with all clothes on under the dirty bed sheets. Clogged toilet, no toilet paper, no hot water, no mirror in the bathroom ... you are better off staying under the bridge that is more luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiduj r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Made 3 4 round to find hotel .. Door was locked.. Dialled the number shown on the door!! They received phone saying they are going to open door .. Waited more than 15 mins.. Bad reception ..again long wait.. No tv..No doubt it's in great location...

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Badapple1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcaste
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Absolutely shocking, this has to be the worst HOSTEL in london, poo on walls, blood on floor, doors hanging off, shower broken, sink blocked, nobody at reception, had to wait 20 mins to get in, tele broken, do not EVER, EVER book this hotel. We couldn't stay here, had to pay Ali of money to get somewhere else in london. SHOCKING!!!!!

Room Tip: Please do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights while on a weekend of drunkeness in London. Upon arrival at this shoddy establishment we were greeted with a mouldy piece of paper stuck to the door with a number to call. Called the number many times but no answer. We ended up phoning 4 different numbers we found online and eventually got an answer of a rude member of staff who said he would let us in in half an hour. Once inside this hotel there was a terrible stench and there was literally urine on the walls, floor and on a copy of the Mayfair magazine. Our room was rotten with strange brown stains on the beds, the shower was intermittent and the sink didn't drain, the fan on the roof shook the whole building and the shriveled old own stunk of something incredibly bad. However, the area was outstanding! Outside the hotel door is a hive of activity full of bars and great restaurants, well worth checking out. Make your own decision on this, the hotel really is awful but the location is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Davidjohnthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#868 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#606 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#207 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Suite Hotel

Property: Ivanhoe Suite Hotel
Address: 1 St. Christopher's Place, London W1U 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,051 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ivanhoe Suite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel London
Ivanhoe Suite London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing