We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #6 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Lime Tree in a comfortable boutique hotel located in Belgravia - close to the tube and within walking distance of many London attractions. The neighborhood offered a variety of amenities - pubs, newsstands, shops - yet was very residential and not touristy. It was a nice retreat at the end of the day - quiet and restful.

Breakfast choices included traditional English or continental - both are plentiful and tastey. Staff allowed us the flexibility of mxing it up - part traditional, part continental - if you want some fruit with your fried fare.

The staff were friendly - some more attentive and accommodating than others but overall good service.

We stayed in Room #2 which faces the garden and is on the 2nd floor (bonus). The room's high ceiling added the perception of space and although cozy, we didn't feel crowded. The bathroom on the other hand is tiny. Functional, but very tight quarters and the step UP into the shower (about 10") seemed a bit like an accident waiting to happen.

Standard amenities were included as well as a fan and heater - the fan served us well.

We would recommend the Lime Tree and would definitley return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYCMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    208
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
176
255
108
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Lime Tree for 5 nights at the end of a 5 week road trip through the British Isles. The location is nice with a number of dining options close by and for the ease of getting around London. Our room on the first floor would have been quite large until it was made into an En-suite which reduced the size but suited our needs well and was what we asked for.. What really made the hotel work for us was the staff. Every member was outgoing and friendly and always ready to help with directions and suggestions. Starting at breakfast and going until you came in for the last time in the evening everyone was attentive towards making your stay pleasant. We will definitely plan on staying here during our next trip to London

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed at the Lime Tree for nearly a week. Staff is fabulous--helpful, friendly and cheerful! A very convenient location and great value. Really lovely breakfast, and hotel is attractively furnished. Request a room at the back for more quiet, and on a lower floor during warmer weather. A bit hot on the top floor. Definitely have a meal next door at the Ebury Wine Bar!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YPMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here July 4-8, 2011, on the second floor. This was my #1 favorite hotel in our month long Europe trip. Everything about this hotel is excellent. The location is great. It is just two blocks from Victoria Station and there are many good restaurants nearby. It is walking distance to Sloane Square for basic shopping (grocery stores, department store, bookstore, ATM), although the underground is faster. The hotel has no elevator or air conditioning due to the building’s historic status (prominently noted on their website) but I didn’t find the climb up two stories to be too tough (and I’m not a spring chicken). The hotel is in impeccable condition. The décor is lovely, and makes you feel like you are in England, not just in a drab chain hotel room. The carpets are clean and the walls and furniture are well maintained. There is free wi-fi in the rooms (yay!). The hotel has a garden in the back that really is a garden (others say they have gardens, but examine the photos carefully, they are often just a gravel space with a couple of potted plants). We used the garden to sit out and read, and it was a calm and peaceful way to end some frenetic sightseeing days. I noticed that there is a ground floor room that opens onto the garden, and the guest in that room was very appreciative of that room due to his creaky knees. Our room was quite large. Unfortunately for us it was one of the most expensive in the hotel because most of the other rooms were booked by a group tour. I spent weeks – months really – looking for a centrally located alternative and finally had to just give in to the recognition that London is incredibly expensive for middle income travelers. When I finally chose Lime Tree I was not resentful of the price, and was very happy with the facility and the service. It helped that they offer a cash discount. The breakfast was great – the full English breakfast was a welcome change from our breakfast experiences on the continent – but in addition to that welcome change, the food itself was well prepared and generous in portions. The coffee was excellent, surprisingly better than our hotels in Italy or cafes in Paris.

The beds were the most comfortable of our European hotels. There was plenty of hot water and plenty of water pressure. The bathroom was modern. Someone has commented on the oddity of having the sink in the room, but that wasn’t an issue for us at all. A hairdryer was provided as promised. There were no screens on the windows (a pet peeve of mine), but also no mosquitos. One day was quite warm so the staff loaned us an extra fan (remember, no A/C). The other days were just fine even without A/C. Our room was a couple of stories up and faced the street but it was quiet in the evenings. The owners, Matt and Charlotte, are on the premises and are a wonderful, engaging, helpful and friendly couple. I would go back to this hotel again just to be able to visit with them and get their advice on visiting the rest of England!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet_in_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Lime Tree Hotel. It is located in a lovely neighborhood close to public transportation. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and a perfect way to begin the day. The hotel is an historic property that has great charm. Our well-maintained room suited our needs perfectly. We enjoyed visiting in the garden after a long day touring.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth36262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Lime Tree Hotel offers very good value for money. It is conveniently located in a very nice residential area between Victoria Station and Sloane Square. Several nice shops, restaurants and cafés are just steps away. The rooms are quiet small, but nicely decorated and well equipped. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast very good. I can truly recommend this hotel, especially for leisure travelers. I will try to stay here again when I come back to London - it provides the perfect balance of location, price and ambience!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerlinSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed just over a week at the Lime Tree while on a Rick Steves company tour of London. Rick's company has been using this hotel for quite a few years, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. It's situated in an up scale neighborhood of fancy apartments/flats and nice restaurants. The building has a long history and was originally built as an attached home, then later made into a hotel. The rooms are small, as is typical of London hotels, but everything was clean and very safe. Be prepared if you stay here that there is no AC, just a portable fan provided. There is also no elevator. Our room was on the top floor and got stuffy, so we kept the window open all the time with the fan going. Fortunately the weather was cool, and there were no flying bugs because the windows don't have screens. The bed is a double...they don't have queens, so it was a bit small for us but had a comfortable mattress. They provided a hair dryer and toiletries, but as in many European hotels, there are no wash cloths...just hand and bath towels.
A full hot English breakfast is provided in the morning on the main floor in a charming breakfast room. You have your choice of items, and the staff serve each table. A different kind of home baked bread is sampled each day. Decor in the building is lovely and the rooms have been updated with new plumbing. The staff are really what make the place...they were always smiling, helpful and went out of their way to answer questions and give help when needed. We arrived early and were waiting out on the fenced backyard patio when the manager carried our luggage to the room up the steep curving stair case.
There is free wi fi and a computer on the main floor for guests. We had our laptop along, but discovered that the wifi only worked infrequently in our room, so we had to go to the main floor to use it.
The hotel's location within a few blocks of Victoria station where you can catch buses or the Tube was excellent. We felt very safe coming back at night to the hotel, and also walked to Buckingham Palace, a show theater and Hyde Park from the hotel.
If in London again in the summer, we might stay here again, but would want a main or 1st floor room.

Room Tip: Unless you like lots of stairs, ask for a main floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,731 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#195 of 1,067 in London
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,067 in London
2,056 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#310 of 1,067 in London
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing