We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Like a Posh B&B Than a Hotel”
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #5 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“More Like a Posh B&B Than a Hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a very good 2 night stay here in March 2014. We chose this hotel primarily because of it's location - we were travelling to Tilbury by coach from Victoria station to join a cruise and the Lime Tree is literally just around the corner.

The welcome we received was friendly and, as we were a little early, took a recommendation for lunch locally. We were in a superior double which was comfortable if on the small side but OK for a couple of nights, as I mentioned in the title the hotel is more of a B&B - there's no bar (or even mini bar), no lifts (lots of stairs which we saw some elderly guests struggle with) and, best of all, no faceless corporate staff.

We had breakfast on both days which was nice enough and well served.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Victoria Rail and Underground stations - Green Park is but a stop away on the Tube, and, being in Belgravia, is safe and quiet (for London).

We seemed to be the only British guests, everyone else being from the US or Canada and the front desk staff seemed to spend a lot of time advising them on tourist activities which was good to see.

All in all a good stay and very good value for London in general and especially compared to Mayfair hotels, where we normally stay. We may well stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulesandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    211
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
177
260
109
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel! We had the family room for four adults and it was perfect. Plenty of room. The beds were so comfortable. The room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfast was delicious and cooked perfectly. The staff were all welcoming and friendly. We just love this hotel and the location was perfect, safe and quiet. We are already planning our return trip and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pigmy-puff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Limetree for our honeymoon and enjoyed it thoroughly. The service was fantastic. The staff did many things on our behalf and knew the area very well, including bus schedules and routes. The rooms are small, as are the beds and hopefully you don't have to walk to the top floor because it's a tight fit with luggage. Paint and new carpet would make the rooms nicer (and would help the room match the bathroom which was modern).

Finally, breakfast was great every day. Fully customizable so you can eat as much or little as you like. Location is a huge benefit. Great coffee across the street and walking through Belgravia is lovely.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamjcswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gödöllő
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I really liked the hotel, specially the breakfast. I can only recommend this place.
The neigbourhood is good, the tube station is pretty close and you can reach the city center in about 10 minutes.
The rooms are not the biggest, but they are convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We chose this hotel for the location: walking distance from Victoria station and easy access to Kensington and Knightsbridge, and because we wanted to avoid a sterile hotel experience. Although some customers complained about the narrow staircase, we thought this was part of the charm of staying in a typical London townhouse; in any case the friendly staff offered to bring it up and down. Fresh cut flowers from, I assume, their own garden added a nice homey feel and you can tell the owners are attentive without being too posh. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTBcomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoustonTrav
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Lime Tree for 4 nights. The staff are superb--helping with touring and walking advice. The restaurants and cafes in the area provide walkable destinations after a long day of touring London. Our room was on the 2nd floor on the street and yes there was some street noise but not enough to bother us. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was spotless. Hurray for Alex, Charlotte and all the staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We first stayed at the Lime Tree in July 2011 and now again in February 2013 so the seasons were different. It felt as if nothing had changed and it remains cosy and with friendly staff & owners who interact easily yet respectfully. The rooms are quite small and if you are smart you will undress BEFORE you go to shower ! But it is a historical building and has plenty of character in a classy area and with a great cafe directly across Ebury Street and the lovely Thomas Cubitt restaurant cum bar only yards away on Elizabeth Street.
The location is great with an easy walk to Victoria Station and in the other direction to Hyde Park, Green Park, Mayfair and onto Oxford Street , Marble Arch etc. In another direction is Kensington and Harrods again easy walking. The place was warm (if not too warm) .
The best thing about the LTH is the hearty english breakfast. Personally served and plenty of it. I 'd go back just for breakfast. No other meals are served but hop across the road to the two places mentioned. Would stay again for sure unless I win the lotto and then it will be the Ritz :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank T0uringKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#110 of 1,069 in London
2,084 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#315 of 1,069 in London
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#191 of 1,069 in London
4,050 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,202 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing