We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing hotel”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #585 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointing hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here because it is close to Paddington train station, is low cost and has decent reviews. Our initial impression was shabby and threadbare, but at least clean and as mentioned low cost and helpful location for us.

However, the attention to detail is lacking. We had to wait quite a while for anyone to come to reception to check us in. We observed others having the same problem. There was no written guide in the room, and several times we had to go downstairs (no room phone) to get answers to basic questions: is there wifi (free in lobby only), can we have a glass in our room, and so forth. Storage in the room is minimal, they do not make good use of what space there is. Dirty sheets and towels were piled in the hall and left for hours.

Breakfast was irritating, one of those things which makes a story later. It is served from 6:30 to 9:00. I went down to the basement where it is served at 8:00 (nobody eating at that point) to ask if you just had to be there by 9:00, or if they closed the room then. The man there, whose English was lacking, told me you just had to be there. At 8:45 when we went down, the breakfast room was full, and there were four parties crowded in a small hall. The staff was obviously overwhelmed and not handling it well. At first they told us we would have to wait in the hall until those eating had left. Then they decided to open a second nearby breakfast room and sent us in there. After a while the manager came in and in a loud and rude voice announced it was our own fault we had not been served, we should have come down earlier. That was certainly a first. 25 minutes after we arrived our order had not been taken, so we got up to leave. A server then came over and almost forced us to sit down. She said our order would be taken soon, which it was. Basic marginal English breakfast plus dry cereal -- acceptable given the budget nature of the place.

Basically a place to run the guests through like cattle, perhaps due to absentee ownership, I don't know.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    248
    79
    43
    32
See reviews for
144
136
65
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

OK. The people were very friendly and kind. There. BUT... We have stayed in many smaller family run places. This was not good. Friendly only goes so far. This place defines the word cheap. Want WiFi on you room? Extra charge. Cup of coffee? Extra charge. We got one bar of soap for two people for four days. No shampoo or body wash, had to go buy our own. One stinking plug in the room to charge the iPod and iPad and camera batteries, and the outlet was worn out snd would not hold the converter. The walls needed repainting and thd holes patched. The shower ran hot hot then freezing. The heat was not on cold rainy and windy days. But, as I stated up front, they are nice people. Good location. This room was the worst.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

I chose this accomodation because it was ideal for our morning flight at the end of the trip. The location is a stone's throw from the Underground & Rail stations at Paddington and it was fairly affordable for London. I did not want to waste our last night at an airport hotel. It works perfectly for this purpose: rail and tube options can get you to the airport with little hassle.

St. David's is located off the main drag so noise is not a major issue. The tube might run underneath it (there is a faint sound that goes away later in the evening). The building is old for those who enjoy a historic feel. As others have warned, it is difficult to take bags upstairs without a lift. The room is basic, but comes with soap and towels. Old trimmings and a defunct fireplace give the room some character, but it is a bit spoiled by the bathroom module which feels like an airplane bathroom inserted in the en-suite rooms.

Breakfast is available (6:30-10?) and speedy service for those who need to head out quick. I was able to have my full English breakfast in less than 5 minutes. It's not amazing food, but it's a decent meal for a long flight.

Staff are very friendly. I think a previous review was a bit xenophobic; an accent does not diminish hospitality. Upon arriving at the steps of this building, staff offered to take my bags and seemed genuinely welcoming. Breakfast staff were good as well.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HumJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
issaquah, wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

yes, the rooms are small but the service is friendly, and when I left my wallet on the counter when checking out, they put it in the safe and, when I called, they offered to trade it for the room key which I accidentally took! We'll be back next week, and I'm looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnb5502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What can I say? The hotel is old, the rooms are very small, but with a great view of the gardens. Bathroom, what bathroom. What we had for a bathroom, was a portable potty with a sink and a very small shower. It was a portable unit that had been installed in the room and you have to step up to get in it. Shheeesh. The breakfast was good and the selection of restaurants around was good and the only really good thing is that it is very close to Paddington Station and Paddington Tube station as well.

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

This is my review for solo traveler for 4 days
Adv:1-perfect location about 3 min for paddington station
2- The room is clean
3-Friendly staff 24 hrs
4-free wifi in reception , wifi in rooms will cost 3 GBP
5- Average english breakfast( it contains pork , if ur muslim there is a vegeterian breakfast)
6- After check out, u can leave baggage with reception

Dis:1- 2 star hotel
2- very narrow room( i stayed in single room with basin and toilet),very small toilet in the room(without door)
3- I saw the rooms with toilets outside , tiny rooms ,very difficult to stay in it.
4- Stairs are too narrow(i was in 3 floor).
5- The tv was a flat 19 inch pc screen

Concl: -It is good for short stay (3-4 days) solo traveler with low budget
-Not recommended for family or honeymoon
- For people with low budgets it is good

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Wonderful staff, location and service--Rooms are adequate size--what you expect in budget property in London!
The owners and staff could not be more helpful--Lovely neighborhood-quiet street--
Also very large breakfast!!
Great deal for the money--

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cg0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#804 of 1,068 in London
615 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#664 of 1,068 in London
422 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#608 of 1,068 in London
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Property: St. David's Hotels
Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #585 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing