We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option for London”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #594 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good budget option for London”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Location: The hotel is conveniently located around the corner from Paddington tube station. We had no problems walking our heavy luggage from the tube. It's also just round the corner from a main road with plenty of bus routes. From the hotel we walked to: Little Venice, Hyde Park, Mable Arch, Oxford St, Bayswater, Madame Tussauds. There is a good pub around the corner (Dickens), a 24hr Tesco Express nearby & plenty of food options, including great middle eastern food on Edgeware Rd.

Breakfast: This was included in the price. There was a choice of cooked or continental. They happily accommodated me as a vegetarian. I opted for the cooked but most days I was offered items from the continental as well i.e. croissant, yoghurt etc. The ladies serving had limited English but were very friendly and helpful.

Reception: The staff on reception were very friendly, check in was hassle-free, we departed at 5am so settled our bill the night before. Staff helped us out when we had questions.

Room: Our room was on the 1st floor, no lift, but I never expect that in historic London buildings. The room was small (also expected in European capital cities) but it was functional and clean. We had a nice view over the beautiful Norfolk Square. Shower pressure was great. Bed was comfortable. Even though the hotel is literally around the corner from the tube and busy roads, there is no traffic noise as it fronts onto a quiet garden square.

Overall, a great budget option for London. Hotels in the area are so expensive, and I never spend much time in them as I like to be out exploring. As long as the hotel is clean, bed is comfy and staff are friendly, that's all I'm really looking for. If you're the same you'll be happy with this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Norfolk Square (for a good view and a small balcony). Ask for a room on the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyperlollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    247
    79
    43
    32
See reviews for
144
136
64
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

You get what you pay for, me and my wife stayed for one night and its was a suitable hotel for our needs. The breakfast was very good and the staff were courteous the room was adequate and clean, but for £99 per night we would of liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Overall a pleasant hotel in a handy location to Victoria and tubes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located extremely close to an underground station (Paddington), which makes getting around very easy. Breakfast is included in the price of a stay, and it is quite good. If you wait until 9 or so, you will have to wait a bit for your breakfast more than likely, but otherwise, a great option and value. Wi-if is provided free of charge in the lobby, and for a small charge in your room. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of beautiful Hyde Park, making early morning jogs or strolls an easy option.

The staff held our bags for us after checkout so we could spend the afternoon sightseeing before our train left.

Overall, this is a great place to stay in London. Wish the wi-if was completely free, but otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This place has character by the bucket load and does what it says on the tin! It is friendly, with great service at reception, no tea and coffee in the room but hot water and drink machine in the lobby. The rooms are spotless, the shower room clean, basic but great water pressure and everything in the room works! TV, fan, shutters for the windows and really comfy beds, plus blankets available if cold and extra pillows. Cooked breakfast is delicious, lovely wafer thin bacon, 2 eggs, nice quality sausage, beans and garnish of mushrooms and tomato. Fruit juice (orange) and toast plus tea or coffee compete the package! Would recommend to anyone and definitely stay again. It's not the Hilton but doesn't try to be and everything they promise they deliver.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff was helpful and smiling, even though the lobby and the restaurant were overcrowded and too busy to handle most of the time. I guess the smiling faces and helpful attitude of the people working at St. David's are the reasons why it has received so many good reviews from travellers. The good reviews were also the reason why we decided to stay there. Unfortunately. Let us make this clear: St. David's will not live up to your expectations at all if you are used to Premier Inns or other low price hotel chains. This is a very different deal. Small rooms, damp and dark, but cheap. You should only stay here if saving money is your first priority. If you fancy a healthy breakfast with fruit, vegetables and maybe yoghurt, you should go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to see the rooms before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gruerlokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hotel is on a nice street lined with other hotels and incredibly close to the the Paddington tube and train station. Unfortunately the place is a bit of a dive, with old furnishings and carpet I wouldn't let my bare feet touch as it was pretty dirty looking (glad I brought my slippers!). It's a large hotel with lots of rooms and hallways, and our room had one of the bathroom 'pods' that had been added to the room. It was a very small and cramped bathroom, but by London standards I suppose the room was average in size. The doors tend to slam loudly even if you try to let them close quietly so you tend to hear other guests coming and going in the same hallway.
You do indeed feel like cattle at breakfast when being seated but the food arrived quickly and although not the best English breakfast it was sufficient. You can ask at the front desk for a hair dryer to use, and wifi is free only in the lobby (you have to pay extra if you want wifi in your room). It's London, and you're likely there to see the sights not spend time at your hotel, so the location of the hotel is the real winner. There is a direct train to Heathrow from the Paddington station too so leaving was easy. There are tons of restaurants of nearby as well, and Hyde Park is a walk away.
Would I recommend it? For the location, yes. London is an expensive city, so it was sufficient given the price (which was still a lot!) we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimen_hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My travelling companion had stayed at this hotel before, and it was just as she remembered. The rooms were very small (as cheap rooms tend to be in big cities) but reasonably clean. Nothing fancy, not terribly pretty. The bathroom was very small and there was a terrible odour coming from it one day, which was fixed right away, before we even had a chance to say anything. We are short people (160cm) and pleasantly plump, but I suspect that larger-than-average size people would not have been very comfortable in our room. Also, there is no elevator, so if you were on a higher floor you would have to carry your luggage quite a distance. There was free wi-fi in the lobby; you could pay extra to use it in your room. Full English breakfast was included--not to my taste, but there were other options. The coffee is vile--switch to tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkm1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#789 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#670 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#609 of 1,067 in London
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Property: St. David's Hotels
Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing