We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality at the centre of London”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #655 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at St Davids from the 8th to the 13th of November. The room was very cosy, clean and was overlooking Norfolk Square gardens. The hospitality was excellent as the staff and the owners of the hotel were ever so helpful. They gave us all the necessary information we needed to visit London and other cities in UK. English breakfast was served at many variations according to our appetite and was great.
The hotel's location is one of its great advantages as it is situated 3 minutes walk from Paddingdon station and the bus stop that takes you to London's main streets.

We are definitely going to stay in St Davids again when we visit London next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andros2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

If you decide to stay in this hotel, just be prepared for what it is. Old, rundown, just worn out - including the carpets and beat up doors and walls. We stayed in a fourth floor room with twin beds. There was barely enough room to move in the room and no place for suitcases. When we went down for breakfast there were ten or fifteen people ahead of us backed up the stairs waiting to get into the dining area. We gave up and went to a restaurant down the street, even though breakfast was included in our rate.

In summary, with some maintenance and refurbishment this could be a reasonably acceptable budget hotel. As it is, it does not meet even the minimal quality standards that we would be comfortable with. We would not return under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

St Davids has similar look to many hotels in the same area of Paddington. A warren of corridors and stairs. Perhaps a few houses connected during time to create the hotel.
About a hundred yards from Paddington tube and rail station and conveniently placed for buses into Central London .
Forget the decor if using St David for short stay it provides comfortable bed,tele and tea etc. upon request, the bathroom(pod), gives plenty of hot water and fair shower . We faced out to the square with good view on second floor. A bit of noise from adjoining rooms but not overwhelming.
As with other views the breakfast was excellent, full English or continental or both and all cooked to order and served with a smile.
We enjoyed our stay and will return again when visiting "the smoke".

Room Tip: If tea/coffee not in room will be supplied at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connorfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel is in need of refurb to all rooms.....ALL !
Outdated decor and the furniture....needs to go in the skip!
good breakfast and friendly staff.
I was working in london alone...wouldn't take wife or girlfriend and stay here for a romantic getaway....you ll end up divorced!!
Spend some money on the place.....your charging premium rates for sub standard accommodation .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the St. David's from 9/21/2013 through 9/30/2013 - and it was a wonderful place. Our room faced Norfolk Square on the first floor - ideal. The full English breakfast was well-prepared and the morning staff was always friendly. Likewise, the desk staff was so helpful and outgoing.
The location - a five minute walk to the Paddington tube station and the Paddington train station - save so much time each day. It was especially wonderful coming "home at night" as you were just minutes from your hotel.
There are also some lovely restaurants just two minutes from the hotel. The Victorian Pub is a 5 minute stroll - and it is FANTASTIC.
Would we stay here again? ABSOLUTELY.
Thanks to the staff for making our London visit so enjoyable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank heroes4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked one week prior to arriving in London and my first conversation with Alex (The owner's sone) on the phone made me very comfortable right away. Stayed here for 5 days. The first couple of days was in the double room (on single occupancy) at GBP 85/night. This was on the 4th floor. The several reviews that complain about the stairs are not exaggerating. The steps are small and tricky especially with luggage. One the second night I stayed in the double room (again on single occupancy) for GBP 75 but this time on the first floor, with a small private balcony and a fantastic view of the quiet Norfolk gardens. Its quite lovely.
The rooms are serviced everyday and the beds are comfortable, the curtains seem a bit old, but thats not a big matter. The bathroom are tiny but effective.
The hotel serves a breakfast that is made by the owner and his wife manages the breakfast service herself. She is lovely. The owner (and Chef) steps out to acknowledge the guests, which is nice. The staff are from different races and the different accents are amazing to hear in one room. They are all very responsive, especially the Indian gentleman at the front desk.
The location is fantastic in terms of connectivity to anywhere. I used the underground extensively because it took one minute to get to the station.
In addition the hotel also held my bags for 5-6 days while I was travelling around UK, for no extra charge. They have their act together. I was never made to feel uncomfortable staying solo at what seems to be a family hotel.

Coffee/Tea machine is needed in the rooms though.


Good stuff.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor facing the Norfolk garden to escape those stairs and get a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed here for a girls holiday break. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Paddington in a lovely quiet square. We were greeted by first name and given our room info by the very charming Alex on the front desk who clearly understands that good customer service is a differentiator :-)
The rooms were as we expected from these reviews. Our twin room had a double and single bed which were very comfy indeed, a wardrobe, dresser and a flat screen TV. Hair dryers were available on loan and there are no hospitality trays in rooms but there is a coffee machine in reception. The bathroom was fine as long as you didn't bring a cat to swing ! Everything was very clean and rooms were serviced every day. A full breakfast was served every morning and we were offered all sorts of variations as well as a continental alternative. This was included in the price and again the staff in the dining area were super helpful and friendly. There is free wi fi in reception and you can get any help with info or directions from front desk. My friend and I paid £80 a night so £ 40 each for our room and breakfast in Central London. This is a family hotel and it shows. I would recommend this hotel and will be staying again. Also worth mentioning the pub across the road for the best glass of wine we had all week.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues request a lower floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#860 of 1,076 in London
647 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#651 of 1,076 in London
440 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#670 of 1,076 in London
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#554 of 1,076 in London
321 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#357 of 1,076 in London
1,469 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing