We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again”
Review of St. David's Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. David's Hotels
Ranked #592 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What impressed me most was the staff and hosts. Expect warm greetings from the servers at breakfast and a happy cook who whistles and adds cheer almost every day. The gentlemen at the front desk were always warm and helpful, made me feel welcome and well looked after. I never had to wait to use the shared bathroom, which was clean. The breakfast - super.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    247
    79
    43
    32
See reviews for
144
136
64
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Hotel is 2 blocks from Paddington Rail and Underground station. Desk people remembered us from 2 years ago. Had another wonderful stay. The owner ( George) even cooked our English Breakfast. No elevator or A/C but not needed. We will continue to stay here on our vacation trips to London. Charlie- USA

Room Tip: Lower the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We chose this hotel for two reasons...
1. Great location with easy access to mass transit. Take the train from the airport to Paddington Station. Simple five minute walk to St. David's Hotel. Then each day we could get on the train/tube or the city bus for excursions into the main attractions in London.
2. English Breakfast! This is included in the cost, and it saved us from having to find a place to eat in the morning. Hefty breakfast, delicious, wonderful wait staff.

Unexpected Bonus Points...
1. Excellent staff! So helpful and accommodating.
2. Location is on a small side road with a park across the street.
3. Quirky building with an interesting history!
4. Wonderfully clean and good hot showers.

The only caution: the rumble of the trains is audible. It was not a problem for us at all, but for a very sensitive person it might be troublesome.

Room Tip: Street side is a little noisier, but the rooms have a nice view of the park across the street as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

i've been staying at this hotel for weekend breaks for 5 or 6 years now . don't expect luxury but it's clean and the staff are always friendly and happy to help . plenty of bars , pubs , places to eat within easy walking distance - the hotel overlooks a small square with several bars and restaurants , paddington station and lancaster gate tube within a couple of minutes walk , hyde park within five minutes . ideal if you are attending concerts , sports events or have early appointments or meetings - breakfast officially from 0630 but if you ask nicely the evening before you can get something earlier , it's a great breakfast too !! great value , i paid just over 100 pounds for 2 nights including breakfast , for london you really can't beat that . the only negatives are the noise from the tube , and if you have one of the rooms at the front of the hotel you can be disturbed by the noise from the bars on the square .

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy from the pubs on the square , ask for a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Within walking distance of Paddington station the B&B occupies a small square with a central garden. This is no frills B&B. Clean room, clean bed, helpful staff and a solid English breakfast.The rooms are nothing special and some have bathroom pods similar to cross channel ferries. The word bijou springs to mind!For £99 a night I would stay here again. Two star hotel delivering good two star value.

Room Tip: The lower you are the noisier the underground is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robtoon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Situated in a pleasant location with Paddington Station a short walk away. Good service. Very friendly staff, obliging and always ready to give us useful tips and suggestions on transport, food, places of interest in London etc. Thanks in particular to Alex! Very helpful. You're a jewel!
The rooms, though basic, are clean and the beds comfortable. We stayed there 4 nights.
For the price we paid, with breakfast included, we're satisfied and would certainly come back if we should have the opportunity to make another trip to the UK.
Thanks again.
From Evelyn. Grace, Andrew, Wendy, Geof, and Angie (Singaporeans)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaganke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel was really nice considering that it is probably a 1 or 2 star. The staff are friendly and approachable. The rooms are basic, bed, shower, sink, TV, wardrobe and a wall fan. All you really need for a short stay in London. The price is very affordable. The food is very nice. The hotel is located less than a minute away from a tube station, bus station and Paddington Station. The only negatives i have of this place are the stairs going up and down to the rooms, especially on the third and fourth floors, and the trains that were passing from the nearby underground station. The vibrations were echoing through the building and i would occasionally wake up wondering what was going on.

Room Tip: If you have trouble scaling stairs stick to the first and second floors as the third and fourth are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#787 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#663 of 1,067 in London
420 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#608 of 1,067 in London
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. David's Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. David's Hotels

Property: St. David's Hotels
Address: 14-20 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's is a family run hotel situated in a quiet garden square in the heart of Central London. Just a minutes walk from Paddington Station and ten minutes walk to Oxford Street and Hyde Park, we are ideally placed for any forthcoming visits. The St. David's Hotel prides itself for its excellent value for money service. Whatever your motives for traveling to London, whether your a budget traveler, here on business or pleasure, we will endeavour to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. David's Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel London
St Davids Hotel
St Davids London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing