We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place for a budget-fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parkwood at Marble Arch
Ranked #22 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a great place for a budget-fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

A delicious breakfast every day included. A quiet and clean room. Excellent pricing for the location-close to Hyde Park, Harrods, and Buckingham Palace, and on Oxford Street--the best shopping in London. A traditional London hotel. If you're looking for a North American style hotel, this is not the place, but an excellent place to experience the culture of Britain. I would recommend to anyone and would stay again. Management is excellent and friendly. Only drawback for some people would be the shared bathroom for most rooms and no elevators/lifts so not for people with mobility concerns.The management make this point clear in all advertising/correspondence.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plash133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London_Hotels_011, Owner at Parkwood at Marble Arch, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
We would like to thank Plash133 for the very complimentary review but wanted to just correct one minor reference to the "shared bathrooms for most rooms". We only have 4 guest bedrooms that don't have their own private en-suite bathroom and those rooms have 2 public bathrooms for their use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    265
    76
    27
    10
See reviews for
185
175
102
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have been to the Parkwood Hotel in September 2012 and I really like the hotel , the location is very close to Oxford Str the rooms were clean , the breakfast was good and very friendly staff .Very value for money , defintly will be back in future . Carmen Busuttil Malta

Room Tip: As there is no elivator tru to book early to book 1 st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Friendly staff, good breakfast and a superb location with a view on Hyde park. prices are really fair for London and there are only little few drawbacks like drafty windows which are to be expected from a listed building.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHoese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

London is an expensive city, especially when it comes to accomodation. Therefore it is great to find a place within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Hyde Park and Marble Arch for a reasonable price.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the fact you get a cooked breakfast each morning, as well as cereal, juice etc is a major bonus.
However if you don't like stairs this probably isn't the place for you. My wife and I had to climb two flights of stairs with our suitcases and 5 month old son - and we weren't on the top floor.
Also the room was very hot and stuffy but once you opened the window it wasn't too bad.
In short it's not a fancy place but you don't pay a fancy price. And the location is excellent and surprisingly quiet considering where it is. Good value for those on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robkanandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Fantastic base from which to explore London. 5 minute walk to Primark & M&S and hop-on-hop-off bus tours. After a full day of shopping or touring, the Parkwood is so conveniently close to return to, being serviced by many bus routes & the Tube. Fantastic English breakfast - eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, toast, coffee/tea, jams, cereal, fruit, milk - who could ask for a better way to start the day? Most importantly, it provided my family of 5 - 2A & 3C - a family room big enough to stay in comfortably! Yes, yes, the stairs need some getting used to, but what a small price to pay for the convenience of having us all in one room. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff - from checking theatre ticket availability, to checking bus-stop routes, to booking transfers. Thank you Parkwood for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippy143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I booked this room after looking at good reviews on trip advisor, I was given room 6 which is a very small single room under the staircase, it was clean and the bed was clean but the people above me were very noisy in the day and this room was the only one in the hotel without a bathroom, also I could hear people going up and down the stairs all day.I stayed in the lincoln house hotel the day before which was only £46 as this one was £59. the lincoln house was much better and is about 400 metres away. Overall I was dissapointed however it was a clean room to stay and the location is expensive as most other hotels are a small fortune in the area where it is situated, I did have a good night sleep nd anice breakfast so it wasnt all bad, just a very small room and not bathroom in my room which I really didnt like. Even though it was clean.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonnyy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Parkwood over the U. S. Thanksgiving holiday. The location of the Parkwood was terrific for our needs. We arrived from LHR via the fast train into Paddington Station. We were able to walk from the station to the hotel in 15 minutes. The Parkwood is conveniently located to the Marble Arch tube station and to Oxford Street shopping, yet is not in a busy tourist section. Its location nearby to Hyde Park is very nice, too, though the weather was a bit too dreary when we were there to take advantage of the hotel's close proximity to the park. The staff were very friendly and helpful in answering all of our travel and sightseeing questions. The full English breakfast was a perfect way to start the morning, eliminating the need to seek a breakfast spot before starting the day. We stayed in the triple ensuite for four nights. It was roomy enough for us and had a nice balcony overlooking the front of the hotel with a large window that opened, allowing in some fresh air. We stayed for one night on the top floor. It is a bit of a trek to the top, as there is no elevator. However, if you plan to make the climb just once or twice a day, then it isn't much of an issue if you are reasonably fit. I highly recommend the Parkwood as a nice alternative to the big hotel chain type accommodation!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#147 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#27 of 573 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood at Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood at Marble Arch

Property: Parkwood at Marble Arch
Address: 4 Stanhope Place | Marble Arch, London W2 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkwood at Marble Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of UK Award Winner, 2009-2010! The Parkwood occupies one of the best locations for a good-value hotel in London - next to Oxford Street and Marble Arch on a fairly quiet street, just 50 yards from Hyde Park, in a section of London known as Connaught Village. "Frommers" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parkwood at Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood At Marble Arch Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing