We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel in Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkwood at Marble Arch
Ranked #34 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Hotel in Central London”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed 16 nights at the Parkwood. Lovely accommodations. Clean rooms, delicious breakfast and so convenient to all of what there is to see in London. Just 1 block from Hyde Park, a perfect place for a respite from the activities of the city. Shopping on Oxford St all within walking distance. The Tube was only 5 minutes away and so convenient. I highly recommend the Parkwood. Very friendly staff and ready to accommodate. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower room. No lift and the stairs can get steep on upper floors. That was my only co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    274
    77
    31
    11
See reviews for
191
182
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very pleased with the location of this B&B. We felt welcome and secure during the entire stay. We enjoyed the breakfast served by a charming staff who provided excellent service. Although situated right in the middle of busy central London, the hotel is on a quiet street with a picturesque entrance. Everything was clean and as pictured on the website. Yes - the rooms are small and the stairs are steep. If you are trying to stay within a budget, this is the perfect place to stay while touring London!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenLomand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in May 2014. The locality of this hotel is excellent it was handy to everything, particularly Oxford Street for those who like to shop! The room we booked was a small one, but clean and comfortable and value for money. The staff were really lovely and very accommodating, particularly when we were in a bind when our airport transfer (booked by us privately not by hotel) had not shown up. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice staff, good English breakfast, clean rooms and very the hotel was very centrally situated. The small terrace on 2nd floor was brilliant. We used it a lot in the afternoons.
We'll be back soon.
Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimbob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The two of us stayed in three different rooms (12, 17 and 8 respectively) for the duration of our 2 week stay. We knew and agreed to this in advance, and we also knew that one of these had a shared bathroom, which I was not looking forward to. Also, for almost our entire stay we were on the third and fourth floors. There is no lift and the stairs get quite narrow the higher you go, so this is an important issue for many. Again, we knew this in advance. We felt, however, that it was worth it, considering the brilliant central location of the hotel and the reasonable cost. Given the length of our stay cost was very important. We also wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance of some of London's tourist attractions, or only short tube rides away, as this would save us time, as well as transport costs.

The first thing to say is that it is wrong to compare the Parkwood to a hotel, especially any of the fancy ones in the vicinity. It is better compared to a B & B, and this is how it describes itself. Rooms are small, and contain a bed(s) and cupboards, but no tables or chairs. We found the rooms plain but acceptable, not dingy nor depressing. Bathrooms were small and we would have wished the showers to be warmer and with stronger pressure, but they were fine. The hotel fitout has a bit of a DIY feel, but I don't regard that as necessarily inferior to uniform boring motel rooms. Rooms were clean and beds were reasonably comfortable.

The breakfast room was very pleasant, and we made use of the couches in the reception area for reading. Although the hotel is only metres from busy Bayswater Rd, and only a few minutes walk from Marble Arch and Oxford St, it is surprisingly quiet, fronting a pleasant narrow street with minimal traffic. It is, of course, close to shops, restaurants and department stores.

We found all the staff polite, friendly and helpful, and feel this is one of the best features of the hotel. They really make an effort.

For the duration of our stay in May the hotel was pretty well full, and we got the impression that some of the guests had stayed previously.

We weighed up whether we preferred to stay somewhere nicer that would be either more expensive or further away from the centre. In the end we were happy with our decision, and would stay again - but only if I could get a room with ensuite and no higher than the 2nd floor!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydbunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tairua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed for six nights in a downstairs room with twin even though small it was modern clean and has everything you want. The shower is good pressure to. The breakfast was great we had a full breakfast each day with fruit cereal yogurt and then a hot full breakfast. You also have toast. A very short walk to the tube and on one day we walked to Buckingham Palace and all the nearby attractions. Hyde Park is just across the road and a beautiful place to walk

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BettyOudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We are a Spanish family of 5 people - three children with 15,12 and 7 years old- and we were looking for on the internet a nice hotel in central London for our fist time there. We booked two rooms (twin and triple) for 5 days. The staff were very helpful so they explained and gave us all the information we needed for our busy days as tourists. The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable too. Also we could have good breaksfasts and not very different from our Spanish ones. Some of us had toast, butter and jam and a very good tasted "coffee with hot milk" (traditional Spanish one). We are sure that next time we travel to London, we´ll ask the Parkwood for our stay. The only difference is that we would like to get the family room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank oscar187452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#146 of 1,068 in London
1,406 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 554 in London
611 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#52 of 554 in London
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#23 of 554 in London
573 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#29 of 554 in London
218 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#10 of 554 in London
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood at Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood at Marble Arch

Property: Parkwood at Marble Arch
Address: 4 Stanhope Place | Marble Arch, London W2 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkwood at Marble Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Best of UK" Award Winner, 2009-2010! The Parkwood occupies one of the best locations for a good-value hotel in London - next to Oxford Street and Marble Arch on a fairly quiet street, just 50 yards from Hyde Park, in a section of London known as Connaught Village. "Frommers" NB- Free breakfast if booking is made from the hotel's own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Parkwood at Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood At Marble Arch Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing