We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location small beds”
Review of Queensway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensway Hotel
Ranked #816 of 1,063 Hotels in London
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location small beds”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This location is super only 2 blocks from Paddington station and easy connect to all of London. The first night room they put me in (a 4 night stay) was the size of a postage stamp, room 307, no place for luggage unless you slept with it. I was moved to a larger room I was traveling solo. They expected you to use the same small bath towels your entire visit and I suspect that the bath was not cleaned every day. The price was very good and the location was the best. Beds not comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on rocks. The photos make the rooms look much larger.

Room Tip: Avoid room 307 and guessing 207 also in the 149 address bldg, 147 is connected to 149.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    99
    107
    52
    22
See reviews for
60
87
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I'd like to think I'm an easy-going person and traveller and can handle quirky hotels. But to get to my 4th floor room I needed to get off on the 3rd floor and bring myself and my suitcase up 2 additional staircases-one a bit steep.
The location in terms of Paddington (which is why I chose this location) was great. The staff were nice and the breakfast was ok but if you get assigned to the top floor, be prepared.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I travelled with my 8-year old son to London as a part of a trip to UK to see a football match. We were looking for a reasonably priced one-night stay so that we could discover as much of the city as we could, even if we had very little time.

The hotel are just 2 blocks off the Paddington underground and train station, which is very practical. The area has its fair share of restaurants and shops. There's a bit of traffic noise, but keep your window closed and you're okay. From Sunday to Monday, we paid around €100 which I think is an ok price.

The hotel is a typical Basewater area tourist hotel, and due to its size I think it does have that "personal" feel to it. It's kind of basic. Staff was very helpful and friendly. When we left I forgot some items in our room and had to come back to get it - not a problem.

The room we had was fairly large, so if you stay in London for a few days and you do some shopping, you'll have good enough space for your new stuff. TV set was a bit old and not too many channels, no childrens tv which would have been good. I have also seen cleaner rooms, but it was very far from being filthy. I't okay but not more.

For that price it's good value for money and I'll consider staying there for our next London visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great location - 4 minute walk to Paddington Station and shops; and a little longer walk to Hyde Park. Clean twin room with good shower in the ensuite. Free wireless internet a bonus. Breakfast staff were brilliant and happily toasted our gluten-free bread each morning. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms close to and on the same level as reception have good wireless connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great location near Paddington station (lots of tube connections and direct train to Heathrow) and Hyde Park. Very friendly staff that let us check in early when we arrived at 8:30am. Very clean, quiet, nice breakfast included. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in september with my boyfriend. I don't know about the rest of the hotel but we stayed on the 4th floor and in our room(403) there was some kind of generator in the ceiling above the bed which started to make loud washingmashine-like noises every time someone in the other rooms turned on their water (during the night as well, yes). This was really annoying! The bathroom was really small as well. We stayed 5 nights and towels were not changed once. In addition it seems the cleaning was a bit poor (see picture attached).

The one good thing about the hotel was the location. It is located in a very nice area and only 2 minute walk to the tube station "Paddington" with some nice restaurants and pubs nearby.

I would definitive reccomend Paddington as an area to stay but not this hotel. If you absolutly want to stay there, stay away from noisy room 403!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 4th floor, in particular room 403.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaLa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

When I rate this hotel as “excellent” I’ve taken the price and the hotel’s description into consideration. I get the feeling that many reviewers don’t take these factors into consideration when reviewing hotels. As reflected from both the price and the hotels description, it’s not a luxurious hotel, but it’s a great hotel if you’re looking for a basic room in nice and clean surroundings without paying too much

The room was quite small (but not claustrofobic), and was furnished with a big bed, a closet, coffee/tea maker, TV and a desk. The bathroom was also quite small, but very nice and clean. The cleaning was very good both at arrival and during the stay. We didn’t hear any sounds from outside or from other guests (we had a room at the back, it's probably more noise at the front).

Great location – 3-4 minutes walk to Paddington station (a good selection of restaurants, cafes, bars on the way there) and close to Hyde Park. Friendly staff.

I don’t understand why people complain about the breakfast. The hotel advertise with continental breakfast, and then you can’t expect a large buffet. You get coffee, tea, juice, yoghurt, croissant, toast and a selection of jam/marmelade, the breakfast staff are very nice and the surroundings are clean and hygenic. If you need a buffet or full english breakfast, there are many places close by the hotel which serve this

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oslo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#886 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#686 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#787 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#781 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#814 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensway Hotel

Property: Queensway Hotel
Address: 147-149 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #816 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensway hotel is an elegant listed Victorian building which has been thoughtfully refurbished to reflect the opulence of that period, while offering all the amenities one expects to find in a modern hotel. The Queensway Hotel is in a tree line road close to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. We look forward at welcoming you at the Queensway Hotel located in Paddington next to Paddington and Lancaster Gate Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Queensway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensway Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing