We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and comfortable”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #306 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed at this B&B for about 5 nights with family. The hotel has two parts, the main building and another building about 3 mins walk around the corner. We stayed in the other building. It is close to Hyde Park, about a 5 min walk and then another 5 mins to get to Oxford Street. It is about 2 min to the nearest bus stop and metro.
The building where we stayed has no lift but we were helped with our luggage to the second floor. The stairs get narrower after the second floor.The rooms were quite clean and comfortable with coffee and tea facilities and a small fridge. The bathroom was rather small, more like a closet but all furnishings were new. There was free internet.
Our continental breakfast was included in the room cost and was quite good, cereal, toast cheese, butter, jam, fruit, juice and quite good coffee. On several mornings the owner, who was present every morning at breakfast, cooked us eggs. I received some very nice chocolates too from him to commemorate the Queen's jubilee. On departure, they arranged for transport to the airport, which was on time. The driver was very helpful so much so that we realized we could travel straight to the airport instead of going by train for only a little more than the cost of the train tickets and taxi fare to the station.

We found the staff extremely pleasant, willing to answer all our questions. What makes this hotel stand out is the service, the personal touch given by the owner and general attitude of the staff. They certainly try to make their guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor if you have lots of luggage and is stairs are not your thing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinidadSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    627
    184
    53
    31
See reviews for
490
328
166
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just come home from a trip to London with our two sons and found this hotel to be such a refreshing change from the usual impersonal chain hotels we usually stay in! Our room although on the small side was perfectly equipped, the decoration of the bedroom may have been a tad tired but it was spotlessly clean with a recently refurbished bathroom that was just lovely. The breakfast was fab with plenty of choice for the children - The gentleman from the hotel who was present at breakfast was just so welcoming and made a huge effort with the children.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlliG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Room facilities were impressive and bathroom was of the highest standard. Reception staff were very welcoming and spent time in explaining places of interest to visit in London.

I will be using this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A walk-able distance from 2 major underground stations, this hidden gem has exceeded all our expectations.
The affable Mr. Crias and the equally able staff (Tipu, Shah & Stephano) made sure our smallest of the needs were attended to.
Thank you once again and all the very best.

Room Tip: I prefer the new annexe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bharatsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

All of the staff were welcoming, attentive to our needs and friendly throughout our stay.
The location is ideal for sightseeing as it is only a few minutes walk from Paddington Station. There is little noise from traffic.
The room and bathroom were clean and the presence of a fridge was a great addition. The TV was a large screen one with very good reception. The only drawback was the absence of air conditioning. The weather was very warm during our stay and it was difficult to sleep due to the heat. This was the only disadvantage with our stay at Rhodes Hotel.
The continental breakfast was perfectly adequate with very friendly staff looking after the tables.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#203 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#475 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#400 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#546 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing