We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Rhodes Hotel May 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #301 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay at Rhodes Hotel May 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed in annex twice, good value, clean, liked having the fridge and air conditioning. No lift so fourth floor was a bit of a challenge (75 steps). Fine if you're fit, otherwise choose a lower level. They will take your luggage up for you if you need help.

Room Tip: No lift in annex so if you aren't keen on stairs ask for lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    610
    179
    53
    31
See reviews for
475
322
160
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The room was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was included in the price and I was happy with the selection and amount of food provided. I was staying in the main building and the WiFi was perfect. I will be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The owner clearly makes the difference! He talks to every guest during breakfast and pays attention to the little details. Went there for a friend's birthday and we were completely spoiled. The location close to Hyde Park, walking distance Paddington Station is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Rhodes hotel is located just a short walk to both Paddington and Lancaster Gate stations. It is minutes (walking) from beautiful Hyde Park and near several quiet but good restaurants. If you are looking for an easy, quiet, safe and convenient location this is a good hotel. The included breakfast is good, and the breakfast staff is darling. The hotel will send a car for you from the airport, and that service is reasonable and convenient. Rooms are not large, but the bathrooms are very good and everything is spotless. My only complaint is that the rooms were not very soundproof at all, and whereas the rather well-mannered guests were not loud, even late-arrivals and conversations were an issue. If you are not hyper-sensitive to noise then this hotel is a wonderful spot to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Not often I feel misled by the high praise for hotels on TripAdvisor but this is one of them. I was looking for modestly priced room for one person for 2 nights near Paddington station. The interior of the room was a real shoebox. I had to climb for sets of steep stairs to get tobmy room with my luggage. Ask if your hotel has lifts. The breakfast was in a tiny room and you may have to wait for your turn. The bathroom was super tiny. If you just needba place to sleep, this hotel is fine. Can't recommend it to older folks for sure

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRhodes, Manager at Rhodes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay at Rhodes Hotel London.

We would like to say that you could have opted to pay well over £200.00 per night for a four star hotel with lift etc.

However you choose to book Rhodes Hotel London through our own web-site choosing the best online rate (non-refundable deal) during the London Marathon paying less than £ 86.26 including quite enriched breakfast, Wi-Fi etc.

We are known for our value for money and strive to offer best services to our valued guests. This is evident from many reviews and we would like to mention written eponymously one by Ms Mary Dawn Dedriae who is a regular traveller and have her blog for her travel experience.

She stayed in the same room in 2013 and here is the link of the blog where she has reviewed our hotel:

http://impressionsblog.com/2013/05/13/would-you-like-to-see-my-hotel/

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

A friend and I stayed in a room with two single beds. The room was small, but clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for a night in London and at a very reasonable price. The location is excellent, just 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park where we rented Boris bikes to explore the park. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was very adequate. We were impressed with how quiet the room was even with the window open - we were not bothered by traffic because the hotel is set back from the main Sussex Gardens road. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Pretty old interior, small rooms, noise from the neighbors... the rooms also get cold at night since the heating is stopped centrally. Pretty bad hotel compared to other options In the area, wouldn't stay there again

Helpful?
3 Thank Santa C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChrisRhodes, Manager at Rhodes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Rhodes Hotel London.

Rhodes Hotel London is an elegant Grade two listed Georgian House located only a short stroll from Hyde Park, the building being Grade two listed has many idiosyncrasies which have been maintained over the years of modernisation for which customers have commented, continues to add to the charm and characteristic of the building.

Being a Grade two listed building, you are able to experience that charm first hand while enjoying the comforts of carefully crafted modern rooms to give 3 star qualities which incorporates all wooden flooring, en-suite, independent central heating and air conditioning, free internet, flat screen TV, Fridge and tea/coffee amenities in every room.

As a Grade two listed building it does not mean diminished facilities, on the contrary, you have a breakfast room to give you that warm comforting start to your day, a lounge to relax in at any time, free access to computer with internet if you don’t have your own with printing facilities even from your own device and free baggage storage after check out to name a few.

Our rating on TripAdvisor reflects the overall reviews so it is appreciative to find that these reviewers who are able to use their real names to write real reviews, whereas some others will hide behind an anonymous identity to write in many cases drivel, so we would like to thank all those real customers for all their comments and a special word and thanks to our longest visiting customer from Oslo, Dag, who has been coming to stay at Rhodes Hotel London for more than 40 years knowing the founder of Rhodes Hotel London Mr Rhodes himself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#192 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#476 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitre House Hotel
#544 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#403 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing