We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good value especially for Royal Albert hall stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #301 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay, good value especially for Royal Albert hall stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on July 1st 2014 with my brother to see Coldplay at the Royal Albert hall. I have Multiple Sclerosis and have mobility issues so requested a room with as little stairs to climb. They took my needs into consideration as We ended up with the twin room on the ground floor (behind reception) it was small, but enough room for both of us. The toilet and shower were again very small but not a problem it was very nice with a recent refurb. Staff we met were lovely and very friendly and accommodating. It was hot with an average of 26c that day so air con was a huge plus. The bed was comfortable and clean. Breakfast (included in the price) was nice between 7-10am, with cereal, toast yogurts, fruit, tea, coffee orange juice, water, for an extra £6 full English. The only bad or negative thing was the dining room was small with crowded tables and the fact it was downstairs made things a little difficult but manageable. The hotel is not brand spankingly new but it's charming and would stay here again in a heartbeat. Book direct on their website as it is cheaper.

The hotel is a short distance from Lancaster Gate underground station (central line) and same distance to Hyde Park a walk through Hyde park would get you to the Royal Albert hall and not overly expensive for taxis too and from. The room included a folio with nearby restaurants details of theatres, churches, main attractions etc... This hotel is not cheap but I can safely say it's priced adequately. If you want a decent nights sleep a Clean comfortable bed this Is a good choice. Don't bother about people nit-picking at a few cracks in the skirting or bad decor it's an old building and there is a reason for this (it's not bad) great hotel no problems.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_kaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    610
    179
    53
    31
See reviews for
475
322
160
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This quaint hotel has a super location , close to tube stations , Lancaster Gate for Shopping, close to Paddington for Wimbledon and Heathrow or Victoria for Gatwick. Rooms are tight as are the showrooms . But remember you are only there to sleep. The breakfasts are fine and you will not need to buy the English Fry. The staff are super as nothing is a problem . You may leave your luggage and collect later . One thing is the hotel is Behring the hedge which runs along Sussex so remember that when you arrive to look for it. There are many restaurants and coffee / snack places close by. But one we must recommend is the Brazilian Restaurant across the road heading to Paddington Tube. Take the buffet with meat and you will be pleasantly surprised . Apart from all that we would certainly return and recommend this Hotel to anybody.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a great stay at The Rhodes Hotel. Chris and his staff could not have been more helpful. room 220 was bijou but comfortable and kept clean and tidy during our recent stay. we are already planning a further stay.

Room Tip: room 220 has its own terraced garden, air con and fridge well stocked with milk. its on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liztalkalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I originally found this hotel on Expedia, but decided to contact the hotel directly. I actually paid less contacting the hotel and booking it online through the hotel, rather than through expedia. The room was exactly as described and it was clean and had everything I needed. I even had a private balcony that had a nice view. It's close to Hyde Park and I took a very nice walk. The continental breakfast was very good and it was more than I needed. Slept like a bear and felt the staff was very nice. When I checked in the gentleman at the desk offered to carry my bag upstairs for me, it was unexpected, and I appreciated it very much after a long day of travel from Canada. I would recommend this hotel, it's not the Ritz or the Fairmont, but it's wonderfully located, and it was exactly as described. Very clean, would stay there again!

Room Tip: I was alone, so the double bed was more than enough for my needs, the rooms are tight, but again, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ochsenfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Rhodes Hotel offers everything you need when visiting London. The room we had was small, but that is always the case when staying at a budget hotel. It had comfortable beds, a small, but well equipped bathroom, Wifi for free and the continental breakfast contained everything we needed, from toast to cereals, coffee, orange juice and fruit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed in annex twice, good value, clean, liked having the fridge and air conditioning. No lift so fourth floor was a bit of a challenge (75 steps). Fine if you're fit, otherwise choose a lower level. They will take your luggage up for you if you need help.

Room Tip: No lift in annex so if you aren't keen on stairs ask for lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The room was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was included in the price and I was happy with the selection and amount of food provided. I was staying in the main building and the WiFi was perfect. I will be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#192 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#476 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitre House Hotel
#544 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#403 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing