We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable hotel”
Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #316 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and affordable hotel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We thrive excellently well at Rhodes and always try to stay there when we are in London. Location is good and the accommodation comfortable. We like the breakfast and the owner's personal and caring style. Often he offers a pleasant conversation and something extra to eat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleflod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    631
    185
    53
    32
See reviews for
491
329
167
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel with our 3 children. There were no hidden surprises. Everything was how it was shown on the website. Central location, very clean hotel, friendly and helpful owner and staff. There are no lifts but the receptionist carried up the heaviest bags for us. It was a very pleasant experience for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcdmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I was in london for my first time in the middle of March
Staying at the Rhodes hotel made my stay that much more special in all aspects.
Location was great walking distance to almost anywhere in the city and the paddington station only a couple of minutes away where you can get a train to anywhere including the airport.
I cannot say enough about the rooms as far as comfort and cleanliness.
The staff also make you feel very welcome and go all out to make your stay one to remember.
Looking forward to visiting london again and will only stay at the Rhodes hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eli b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I and our two teenage children recently stayed here for 3 nights during our European vacation. I was pleasantly surprised at the location, in a lovely tree-lined street in what seemed to be a mostly residential area, with a great selection of restaurants and a terrific pub nearby. Very short walk to the tube (Lancaster Gate) and the stop for the on-off bus tour. 2 minutes walk to the beautiful Kensington Gardens. The room was small but had everything we needed and we were only there to sleep anyway. I was delighted that not only did the bathroom have a bath, but a SPA bath! Very welcome after a long day walking around. Stefano at Reception was courteous and helpful both before and during our stay. A terrific budget hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so keep that in mind when asking for a room as the steps are quite steep with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed but would not dream of going anywhere else. Chris and Maria are so welcoming and genuine. They always go the extra mile to be helpful. Also I must mention Stefano and the others on reception who were so nice.courteous and helpful with luggage etc. Hopefully we'll be back soon.
Thanks to all

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My parents and I stayed at this hotel for an additional night in London after a two-week long Globus tour. Our original London hotel, the Doubletree Hilton at Hyde Park, couldn't accommodate our extra night.

Immediately upon arrival, I found that the hotel felt more like a hostel than the other, larger hotels in the area--it was more informal, much smaller, and slightly kitschy (not necessarily a bad thing). The young man working at reception was polite upon check-in, though I don't believe he so much as cracked a smile during the 10 minute interaction.

My parents and I were in room 217, at the very end of the hallway on the ground floor of the main building at 195 Sussex Gardens, which contained a double bed, a twin-sized bed, and a pull-out leather love seat (I was told in my confirmation e-mail that I would have a room in the annex building and was never made aware of a change in the booking. It didn't bother me in the least, though I would have preferred to receive some kind of notice about a change). The hardwood floors were nice, but the bathroom was itty-itty-bitty (I'm a size 8 and had to shuffle and spin to get ready for my shower. Both the faucet and the shower have the best water pressure I've experienced in London, though). All of the appliances were dated but functional, and the most modern thing about our room was the TV.

The room was clean, the mattresses and bedding seemed clean (after a traumatic experience elsewhere in the world, I always do thorough inspections upon arrival), and the bathroom was tidy as well. I did find an earring on the floor that did not belong to anyone in our party (it wound up gouged in the bottom of my bare foot--ouch!). There was a single window tucked into a nook by the bathroom, and the window opened into a very small inner courtyard, so sunlight was limited in the room. The visual appeal wasn't great--chipping lower wall paint, marks on the upper walls, horrible orange bedcovers, visible plumbing in the bathroom--but the room was functional and relatively clean.

Other than the rogue earring, the AC in our room made a creaking/wheezing sound every few seconds, which made it difficult to fall asleep (it was stuffy in the room, which meant the noisy AC was the better of two evils). I also found several bits of broken, black plastic in and around my bed, which was a little off-putting.

Breakfast was downstairs in a cute but very cramped room. It was sub-par at best. The pastries were stale, the yogurt was Tesco brand, and the coffee was blechhh. There was some fruit that my mother enjoyed, three cereal options, and the breakfast attendant made us toast. My dad--the least picky eater I know--said it was "edible but not enjoyable." It certainly won't hold you if you're planning a heavy day of sight seeing.

I do feel that the hotel builds itself up in the website descriptions. While the proprietors and website emphasize the"charm" and "elegance" of the building, I wouldn't necessarily describe it as "charming" or "elegant." There were smelly trash bags sitting in front of the hotel entrance upon arrival and throughout the day, and the rooms were very basic but functional. There's some cool carpeting in reception, but that's more "quirky" than "elegant." My mom said it was "dated" but "quaint." Alas, we agree to disagree where adjectives are concerned.

On a somewhat positive note, the staff was relatively friendly and accommodating from the moment I booked the hotel. When booking, my card was declined due to my bank's policies safe-guarding against fraud (all international purchases result in a block). Niaz was very understanding and re-ran the card after the block was lifted. Also, upon arrival, the man in reception arranged for an airport transfer for just £38, which was by far the lowest transfer quote I found. My dad commented that the on-site interactions with staff were "no-nonsense" and "quite terse." I preferred to call it"efficient," though, admittedly, it wasn't as warm and welcoming as we are used to.

As for interaction with customers following their stays, I was looking at some of the 2-3 star ratings on TripAdvisor before posting this, and I was appalled by the hotel personnels' responses to the lower-starred reviews. Whoever was responding to the reviews was aggressive and blatantly annoyed by the criticism. In response to that, I would like to note that the above observations are my honest opinions based off the services I received during my stay (I'm writing this the day of check-out). All information I've given has been accurate and all comparisons I've made have been between the Rhodes and comparable hotels (based on location and price range). I'm a paying customer and will not be berated or bullied for my opinions of a sub-par hotel experience. If the hotel can't take criticism, too bad. Don't tell guests that they could've paid more to stay somewhere better, because A) as a frequent London traveller, I know for a fact that travelers can also pay less for better, B) it shows bad customer service and C) it's just plain rude. I took a chance booking with Rhodes, hoping for a wonderful hotel. I was quite disappointed with my decision and it's not one that I will make again. If I had read the hotel's responses to reviews containing criticism before booking, I would have spent my hard-earned money elsewhere. Good customer service means taking criticism in stride and striving to make guests' experiences better, not getting offended and attacking honest opinions with snide comments about room dimensions and catty remarks regarding semantics.

Last, but not least, the "free wifi" in the room didn't work worth a damn during the entirety of our stay. When I asked at reception, the attendant tersely advised me to sign on to the "RhodesHotel" option instead of the "rhodeshotel" one. However, the former wifi network disappeared as soon as I left the lobby area. I ended up successfully signing into a different hotel's wifi with the same password that the Rhodes Hotel uses (tried it on a whim, it worked).

As for the price tag, I paid $313 USD (180 GBP) for a one-night stay in a triple occupancy room ("triple en-suite"). While the location is relatively convenient (a few-minutes' walk to both Lancaster Gate and Paddington tube stations), I was aghast when I saw how basic the room was, especially when comparing the hotel with our previous hotel just down the street, which was slightly cheaper and much more modern, well-equipped, and--to be honest--much more comfortable. My parents said that it would have been fine for something in the $150 price range, but $300+ dollars? No way.

In short, I think it's an acceptable hotel if you're looking for a convenient location and a basic, no-frills stay and are willing to pay a pretty penny for both and can't find anywhere else to stay. If you want bells-and-whistles and fair pricing, you will want to look at some different options. When I return to London next, I will definitely book with another one of my previous hotels.

Overall, a thoroughly average experience and rather disappointing for the price.

Room Tip: 217 has a single window tucked into a nook, which provides virtually no sunlight. It also has a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great location for a music event in Hyde park. We stayed in a twin in the annex. Couldn't fault it. For £99 the beds were very comfortable, the aircon brilliant, little fridge very handy, plenty of tea and coffee, shower worked perfectly. We didn't bother with the breakfast. Overall would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claudine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#209 of 1,067 in London
2,136 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,067 in London
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Columbus
#487 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#565 of 1,067 in London
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing