We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just what i was looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhodes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #304 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Alamos
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just what i was looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

I was looking for an inexpensive and comfortable to spend the night after an all night flight from the USA...something that was walking distance and easy to find from Paddington. I looked at a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor and this hotel got the highest rating for a less expensive hotel. It was just what I was looking for. The people working there were friendly. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was absolutely tiny but that was fine. Breakfast was basic but just fine. I was pleased with my stay here. Nothing fancy, but very nice and a good value.

  • Liked — price, close to paddington, good value
  • Disliked — tiny bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    621
    184
    53
    31
See reviews for
485
326
166
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

This was our first hotel of a 3 week stay in Europe and we stayed for 4 nights. The location was so convenient, just getting off the Heathrow Express at Paddington and walking a few blocks to the hotel. The room was more than what we expected for this hotel class and the bathroom had been recently remodeled. The owner provided good tips for sightseeing and the surrounding area. The breakfast was good and met our expectations. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Liked — Location, clean and quiet
  • Disliked — No lift but expected for a bed and breakfast type accomdation
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tp1rrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

Rhodes Hotel is excellent value in London hotels, with ready access to buses, underground, Heathrow, etc., as well as to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. Chris (the owner/proprietor) also has a wealth of information to share on London attractions and such.

Rooms are somewhat small but typical for this type of hotel (brownstone walk up). More importantly, they are clean (excellent bathroom in our room) with internet access and a good breakfast every morning.

  • Liked — Excellent value in a good location
  • Disliked — Lack of great nearby restaurants
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

I stayed with my family for three nights at the end of October in a quadroom. The room wasn´t all too small, just perfect to relax in after some heavy shopping at Oxford Street. The beds were comfortable and there was a big LCD TV on the wall. The bathroom was small but newly made and felt a bit luxurious. Breakfast was just ok and the service was very good. The host family was just as nice and friendly as other writers has posted before. Been to other big hotels in London before but they cannot measure up with this one. When ever we get back to London, the Rhodes Hotel will be our natural choise.
Magnus, Gothenburg Sweden

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank enzian58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

We stayed at the Rhodes Hotel for three nights during a cold spell in the beginning of October. Our room, with a balcony and a jacuzzi, was small but very cozy. The room and bath were very clean, pleasantly decorated and even though we faced the street, there was no noise whatsoever. The room also had a small fridge, a small flat-screen TV with basic cable and amenities for making tea/coffee. The balcony was very cute and the geraniums well tended, in warmer weather it would have been well-used by us. Outside our room there was a library nook and more reading material in the lobby. There is free internet access from a computer (heavily used, so we used it to confirm our flight in the middle of the night) near the breakfast room. The hotel is in a wonderful, though mostly residential neighborhood, a hop and a skip from beautiful Hyde Park and less than a 5 minute walk to 2 different underground lines. The proximity to Paddington station is especially useful, as the Heathrow express and connect trains come in through here.
One of the most positive traits about this small hotel is the constant presence of the owner, Mr Chrias, and it is obvious that he is deeply interested in keeping his guests happy and gladly offers tips when asked. His other staff members are just as accomodating, though perhaps less knowledgeable. On our last day in London, it started to rain heavily and the umbrella we had already purchased just didn't cut it. When we mentioned that we were planning to take a stroll in the park, we were immediately offered one of the huge umbrellas in the lobby, there for the guests' use - little things like that can put a big smile on your face.
Although not terribly cheap, the Rhodes offers excellent value for the money (and come on, this is London) and there is no doubt we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AnatOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We had a room on the 2nd floor, which had a queen bed, leather couch and a spa bath. This was in the dearest price category, but well worth the extra money. Although the hike up to our room was tiring after a hard day's sightseeing, we knew before we came that there was no lift and that we would be on the 2nd floor. We had a large flatscreen TV, small fridge and a/c, which we actually used some of the time. The bathroom was small, but not tiny, and very modern and new-looking. The couch gave us room to spread out a bit, and even had a footstool. We overlooked the street, but as there was double-glazing, noise was not an issue.

We really appreciated the free internet, having been away from home for 7 weeks, and this is our preferred mode of communication. Breakfast was plentiful, and every morning Chris made me a banana crepe. My husband occasionally had extras, like bacon or eggs, at no extra charge.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being close to Paddington station, which is on a number of tube lines. There were also plenty of buses. The hotel booked us a car pickup from Heathrow, which was not much dearer than a shuttle, and certainly quicker and more comfortable. With less luggage, we would even be tempted to use the Heathrow Express, and then walk to the hotel.

Chris and Maria, the proprietors, were both very helpful and friendly. All emails I sent prior to booking were answered promptly. This is our 5th visit to London and the hotel is by far the best value of places we have stayed, and will be our hotel of choice on any future visit.

  • Liked — Spa bath, queen bed, location, free internet, free breakfast, owners, price (for London)
  • Disliked — No lift, but I knew this before we booked
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dragonlady2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

We wanted a tidy place to stay in London that didn't cost a bomb and this fitted the bill. Its location is great - you can easily walk to the West End, Notting Hill, Westbourne Grove and Paddington but there is plenty of public transport nearby too. The owners are really friendly and helpful. We had a basement room which was tiny, with an even smaller en-suite but it was clean and everything worked.

  • Liked — Location and friendly welcome.
  • Disliked — Tiny en-suite.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank merched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#197 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#478 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#397 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#544 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Hotel

Property: Rhodes Hotel
Address: 195 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 5 mins walk from Hyde Park, this historic central London hotel is ideally located for business and leisure trips with reception open 24hrs. There is a range of rooms from standard to deluxe. Rhodes Hotel is also very family friendly with configurations for triple, quad, and 5-6 person rooms. Both Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations are minutes walk away, as are cafes, restaurants, pubs, shops, supermarkets. Very well connected for public transport with numerous different buses, tube lines & trains. Or for those who prefer the fresh air, from Rhodes Hotel you can easily walk to Oxford Street, Notting Hill, Kensington Palace, Madame Tussauds within 20mins and Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Victoria & Albert museum, Natural History museum, Science museum, & Royal Albert Hall are 35mins walk through beautiful Hyde Park. In addition to double-glazed windows, air-conditioning, WiFi and flat screen TVs, this hotel aims to offer the best comfort, with modern amenities, value for money and a warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing