We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independent and Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Ranked #667 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Independent and Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Usually when travelling for business I stick with the larger hotel chains (e.g. Hilton, Westin etc.) however I wanted to give this place a shot - Was not disappointed at all. The staff was very friendly and explained in depth my room and breakfast ordering process. Yes the rooms are on the small side but this is Knightsbridge, London you are staying in. The elevator entrance is pretty neat and they still use standard keys to lock/unlock rooms. Overall would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 14 across from reception - Heard some voices here and there but not a bad room by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    42
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
33
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here for a night on business, during which I was upgraded to a larger room (always a good start...)
The building is unusual - you go straight into a lift from street level. I was met at the door, checked in, shown to the room, explained how to get in and out of the hotel and offered a drink of tea or coffee. I found the room very comfortable, its on a quiet street, so not too much noise considering it is central London.
A continental breakfast is served in room, I was very happy with the presentation and quality of the breakfast. I found this place very friendly and relaxed.
The only thing that let it down was the bathroom had a shower head, but it could not be attached to the wall and there was no shower curtain, so a bit awkward having a shower without getting water everywhere.
I'd stay here again if I was in Knightsbridge and the room rates are very reasonable when considering alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went here for a 4 day weekend with my partner and we booked a suite.Picked it as always find hotel rooms a little claustrophobic for more than 1 night and was recommended to us.
Thought it was a great location, really spacious, traditional, comfortable warm & clean- would use again & highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASM1NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Do not let the elevator ride to get to reception pout you off, this is a very hospitable place. They gave me coffee and pastries on the terrace while they got my room ready. Breakfast - you get to pick what you want and it arrives exactly at the time you specify. Rooms are small but functional. No bar of soap, just shower gel, which was a bit odd. Quiet, clean, convenient – good value. Definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeA202013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If your don't mind the pre-war alike elevator then this little tucked away hotel right behind Harrods should be prefect for a shopping holiday. It is only about 3 mins walk to Knightsbridge tube.

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times. Their single rooms are in general very compact. It is just enough for one person but sunny, clean and tidy. Water system may not be most effective as hot water take at least 5 mins to come after turning the tap on. Elevator has been accurately described by many others - somewhat outdated but I personally find it rather interesting.

Front desk is one of the friendliest teams I have come across in London recently. Great servicing mindset and I love the can do attitude. Admittedly, it is not one of those typical hotel setup. Reception is hidden away on 3d floor behind closed door. This, however, has not prevented them from offering the attentive service.

In room amenities are of very good quality ranging from towels, toiletries to drinking water. Do note there is no room dining service.

Thank you Searcy's roof for making my stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ancient elevator. The door slamming can be very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keeley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've stayed at this hotel off and on for several years. My stay there this year was very disappointing. We had booked a certain room and had a information as such but were quickly told we would not be staying in that room. Indeed, the messenger looked at us like we were crazy. Too bad we had left the email with the verification at home. Further, the hotel had reduced its rates for one of the nights we were there but when we asked for the same rate we were again treated as if we were insane. Also, elevator and front door were not working properly so it was extremely difficult to enter the building. Finally the breakfasts that are included in the stay have always been such a treat but not this time. I won't go into the details but my breakfast on the final morning was inedible. What a change from the charming establishment we used to love.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRGR, Manager at Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that your stay with us this year was disappointing.

My biggest concern was as to why you have not stayed in the bedroom which was promised, so therefore I have processed an internal investigation. Following up all the correspondence , - I believe you have decided to extend your stay arriving 1 night earlier from your initial date. Since your requested room was not available for the whole length of your stay, we have allocated you in a different room, which I can reassure you is the nicest and most demanded by our regular guest. It was also allocated on the top floor, overlooking peaceful side of roof top terrace.

I can also reassure you that the elevator is working as usual and I am afraid I am unable to locate the problem why you were not able to enter the building easily as all our guests have their entry keys and also reception team here is operating 24/7 for any kind of assistance.

I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast on your last morning and I wish you had have addressed it to us immediately so we could rectify this problem. It is very unfortunate that this was not address to my attention as I am not able to get any details of what was unsatisfactory. I can reassure you that my team and I are always open and welcoming to any guests suggestions and requests as it helps to constantly monitor and improve our services provided. I would also like to advise you that my reception team is not involved in accommodation price arrangements or discounts and I am sure they were doing their best to explain their position and field scope. Meanwhile, I can confirm that we have granted you the same accommodation deal as previous year and we were hoping this would be appreciated.

I am indeed saddened that most of those concerns were not address to me immediately so we could talk and resolve them avoiding any disappointment. Having said all I want to thank you for your continuous stay with us and I hoping of your return some time in the future.

With kindest regards,
Neringa Zutautaite

Roof Garden Bedrooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was in London for two nights on business, and wanted an affordable hotel in Central London. After a significant amount of time online, I found Searcy's, which got good reviews, was very reasonably priced, and extremely well located. I enjoyed my stay. I thought the hotel was comfortable, clean, and had very good staff. My room was a little small, but that is standard for London. One of the best parts about the hotel is that a free breakfast is included, and is delivered to your room every morning. The breakfast was very good, and it was a really nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#299 of 1,067 in London
431 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#286 of 1,067 in London
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#512 of 1,067 in London
51 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#40 of 1,067 in London
725 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
#260 of 1,067 in London
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms

Property: Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Address: 30 Pavilion Road, London SW1X 0HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#229 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roof Garden Rooms is situated in the heart of Knightsbridge. Originally an old pumping station, it has been transformed into a tasteful hotel with a rooftop garden. There is a relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff with a high level of personal and attentive service. It is perfect for people seeking an alternative to large hotel chains. There are 11 charming country house style bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Searcy`s Roof Garden Rooms Hotel London
Searcys Roof Garden Rooms London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing