We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thanet Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$303
US$277
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$288
US$256
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$387
US$333
Marylebone Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
US$596
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
131
153
41
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
153
41
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squarebritish museumbedford placeb bquiet streetfamily run hotelfull english breakfastno lifttop floorcovent gardenwest endfirst floorsmall hotelyogurtsingle roomwithin walking distanceminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This family-run hotel in the Duke of Bedford's block of hotels and residences near the British Museum was a very pleasant surprise. Yes, the rooms have character, smallish but our room was perfectly adequate for two friends sharing a room. The quiet atmosphere was enhanced by being on the top floor with no overhead noise. There is no lift but we were given cheerful assistance with our luggage. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold items.

I like the location in a quiet corner of London, near the British Museum and only a fifteen minute walk from Covent Garden and Picadilly. One can take the Picadilly Line from Heathrow and be only a five minute walk to the hotel from the nearest tube station, Holborn.

I thought the hotel was good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyGoldfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I know London is expensive but I expected a bit more for my 120 pounds a night than the bedsit experience I had in the 1980s. The rooms were clean though dated, with old carpeting and furniture. Bathroom was clean but I wouldn't want to be large and trying to navigate the shower. Breakfast included a hot choice and was good. No lift if that is an issue for you but only a couple of floors anyway - we were on the first floor with a room facing the road - narrow but long room. Window opened a bit too. Wifi included. The absolute best thing about Thanet is the location - on a quiet street between two great parks with very easy access to buses and two tube stations. Close enough to walk to St Pancras (15 min) if you are arriving or leaving on the Eurostar. Check in/out was efficient but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This private hotel was a real find, just a short walk from Russell square. The room on the first floor was small yet very clean. As with all styles of this hotel in London the bathroom was compact yet very clean with a great shower.

Wifi was great and breakfast even better. Will be back

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Kenneth1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My daughter and I just spent three nights at this hotel. It is situated on a quiet road just around the corner from the British Museum and a block from Russell Square and pretty much equidistant from the Russell Square, Euston, and Goodge Street Tube stops. The location can't be beat. The first night we were in a family room on the basement level, which looked out into the garden and had four beds to choose from. The next two nights we were in single rooms. Mine was small, but very cozy, looking out over the garden and with a tiny fireplace. The staff was great and the breakfast was ample: a choice of a full English breakfast, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, or porridge with brown sugar. The hotel is quaint and comfortable, not fancy, but it really served us well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morsbergerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed on this hotel three times. The rooms and bathrooms are a good size. The staff has always been friendly and very helpful. Their breakfasts get a traveler off to a good start. I heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hospitalnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews