We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and good breakfast but needs some updates”
Review of Thanet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanet Hotel
Ranked #523 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a double room on the top floor in June and as much as I liked the location and the breakfasts, I would definitely not stay in that room again. The ceiling had a crack held together with scotch tape. The third staircase is very narrow and treacherous. The staff was friendly and helpful. The wifi was fine although somewhat spotty on the top floor. Maybe the price is low for london but I still think it needs to be brought up to standard.

Room Tip: Ask for room on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveling_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Thanet for 3 days in May for our daughter's wedding in London. Other members of our party also occupied two other rooms. We were all delighted: the family rooms are extremely convenient and althought the en suites are small, they are perfectly adequate. The breakfasts were excellent and the location central. However, what made our busy and potentially stressful stay superb was the helpfulness of the staff. As we and a host of other people (not even staying at the hotel) rushed around completing favours, arranging flowers, having manicures etc! the staff provided scissors, tape, took messages, photocopied table plans and generally coped with the chaos we left in our wake! THANK YOU SO MUCH EVERYONE! We intend to return when we can actually enjoy relaxing in your super hotel!

Room Tip: My husband is disabled and the ground floor room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel is fine. The rooms are basic; bed, desk, very small tv and bathroom. But they are clean and the beds are comfortable. there is no A/C but the wifi was included and worked well. This hotel has a room that sleeps 4; one double bed and two singles. It is difficult to find these types of rooms in London. The bathroom was very small but everything worked so it served its function. You can't beat the location. A filling breakfast is included with the room. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank CTgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This family-run hotel in the Duke of Bedford's block of hotels and residences near the British Museum was a very pleasant surprise. Yes, the rooms have character, smallish but our room was perfectly adequate for two friends sharing a room. The quiet atmosphere was enhanced by being on the top floor with no overhead noise. There is no lift but we were given cheerful assistance with our luggage. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold items.

I like the location in a quiet corner of London, near the British Museum and only a fifteen minute walk from Covent Garden and Picadilly. One can take the Picadilly Line from Heathrow and be only a five minute walk to the hotel from the nearest tube station, Holborn.

I thought the hotel was good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyGoldfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I know London is expensive but I expected a bit more for my 120 pounds a night than the bedsit experience I had in the 1980s. The rooms were clean though dated, with old carpeting and furniture. Bathroom was clean but I wouldn't want to be large and trying to navigate the shower. Breakfast included a hot choice and was good. No lift if that is an issue for you but only a couple of floors anyway - we were on the first floor with a room facing the road - narrow but long room. Window opened a bit too. Wifi included. The absolute best thing about Thanet is the location - on a quiet street between two great parks with very easy access to buses and two tube stations. Close enough to walk to St Pancras (15 min) if you are arriving or leaving on the Eurostar. Check in/out was efficient but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This private hotel was a real find, just a short walk from Russell square. The room on the first floor was small yet very clean. As with all styles of this hotel in London the bathroom was compact yet very clean with a great shower.

Wifi was great and breakfast even better. Will be back

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Kenneth1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My daughter and I just spent three nights at this hotel. It is situated on a quiet road just around the corner from the British Museum and a block from Russell Square and pretty much equidistant from the Russell Square, Euston, and Goodge Street Tube stops. The location can't be beat. The first night we were in a family room on the basement level, which looked out into the garden and had four beds to choose from. The next two nights we were in single rooms. Mine was small, but very cozy, looking out over the garden and with a tiny fireplace. The staff was great and the breakfast was ample: a choice of a full English breakfast, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, or porridge with brown sugar. The hotel is quaint and comfortable, not fancy, but it really served us well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morsbergerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#517 of 1,076 in London
550 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#320 of 1,076 in London
823 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Penn Club
The Penn Club
#491 of 1,076 in London
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#455 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#548 of 1,076 in London
452 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#535 of 1,076 in London
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanet Hotel

Address: 8 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#296 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £126 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thanet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing