We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting family!”
Review of Thanet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanet Hotel
Ranked #523 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed over Christmas holiday, very friendly staff, great location, owner's awesome. Close to Russell Square, tube access, we were able to get everywhere for a three-block walk. English Breakfast is included, porridge is amazing! our room comfortably accommodated three people, with a great view of beautiful old restored row houses. overall, a really nice hotel. Loved it so much we're heading back this year for New Years Eve!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

just had a long weekend with my sister, neice and her friend. we shared a family room, downstairs, perfect for our needs, shower was on small side, but very powerful, clean towels everyday. kettle in room with decent sized mugs, and loads of tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate.
it was hot, but a huge picture window that we kept open, the room overlooked a small courtyard, so we were not overlooked at all.
10 mins walk to covent garden, 5 mins to british museum, and with a lovely park at either end of the street. breakfast cooked while you waited, plus fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast...... no need to go hungry!!!
would definately stay there again, very friendly helpful staff. and a bonus, a small room with the use of a computer and iron and ironing board.

Room Tip: we had room 1 ground floor, quiet family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in the quad room on the ground floor overlooking the garden (what a waste though - could make more of it by turning it into a patio that customers could use). It was ideal for the location of the event we were attending and only 5 mins walk to the tube to go any where in London. Breakfast was ok, the cereals and fruit etc were plentiful, but the cooked part was not that great and the toast cold. It was very strange having the surly cooking staff actually cooking in the tiny kitchenette which was very much part of the breakfast room. Also would be better to start earlier - 7.45am is too late to start breakfast. 2 of our party missed breakfast for 2 out of our 3 days stay because they had to be out early.
We had helpful service from the receptionists especially Rob who stored our luggage on the day we checked out, because our coach wasn't until the afternoon. Kettle with Tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits and plenty of milk were a welcome facility. I liked the locked door on entry, only had to knock when you first arrived, had a key after that. It made us feel more secure.
On the whole the location of this b and b (not hotel) made up for the small room size.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for a ground floor or 1st floor if you can't manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Not a fancy hotel by any means--small, basic rooms. But, it is clean, friendly, and perfect location for walking everywhere in Central London. Very easy to find and easy access by tube to London Heathrow. The breakfasts give you lots of food and lots of choice.
A very good value...we have stayed there many times.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I used to stay here regularly, years ago with work and chose to stay here on a personal trip to London, last week. The reason I love this hotel is that they get the basics right; clean and comfortable rooms, a very warm welcome, fantastic breakfast and wi-fi. On checking in the receptionist noticed we had brought our baby with us (which wasn't on our original booking) and changed our room to ensure we had more space and on a lower floor - you wouldn't get that in robotic, chain hotels. Location couldn't be better with Covent Garden and the West End just a short walk away with Tesco (a convenience store) and a late bar and restaurant (Denises) just around the corner. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I always preferred the rooms at the rear overlooking the communal gardens however the room we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davemaruia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Room: We stayed in room 15 (4 person room) which is at the top of the hotel (58 stairs). The room was spotless. Clean towels every day. Tea/coffee & biscuits provided. Beds very comfortable.Lovely duvets. With no air conditioning they provided an electric fan. We had to leave the window open all night (not hotel fault) due to the heat but weren't disturbed by outside noise (probably due to being so high up). Bathroom spotless. Shower powerful. Towels plentiful. Toiletries supplied and plenty of them. It's small but sufficient. Wish my shower at home was as good as this one.

Welcome: The receptionists were really friendly and carried our bags to our room. Ordered taxis for us as needed.

Breakfast: Breakfast can't be complained about. Continental buffet then hot option ordered and brought very quickly to the table. Very friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble.

Hotel: This place has to be the best I've stayed at. Room keys include outside door key just in case you arrive back after midnight and can let yourself in. They didn't ask for payment until last day when we paid on check-out.

Leaving: We checked out after breakfast but they stored our luggage and ordered a taxi for 5.30pm so that we could go out for the day.

All in all this place is spotless,friendly,well worth the money and we will definitely go back. You get exactly what it says on the hotel website.

Room Tip: Room 15 (4 person room) wouldn't be suitable for anyone who find a lot of stairs difficult or fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a hot weekend and had a basement room which was very cool. Lovely walk in shower and 2 good nights' sleep. Some street noise though. Lovely cooked breakfast and plenty else to go with that. Service for breakfast was good and so was checking in and out. A friendly small hotel - such a change from the bigger chains!

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#511 of 1,076 in London
550 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#321 of 1,076 in London
823 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Penn Club
The Penn Club
#470 of 1,076 in London
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#454 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#549 of 1,076 in London
452 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#533 of 1,076 in London
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanet Hotel

Address: 8 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#296 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thanet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing