We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, good value”
Review of Thanet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thanet Hotel
Ranked #492 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely location, good value”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This really is a lovely little hotel in the very pleasant Bloomsbury area of London and on a quiet street between two leafy squares. Close to two tube stations and good bus routes and within walking distance of Covent Garden. The area is full of places to eat and drink.
I was travelling alone and on business and just needed a bed for the night. I expected a small room and it was small but very well equipped with a very modern shower room and toilet. Cute little old fireplace in the room, though obviously not now used as there's good central heating. My view was to the back but onto leafy gardens and not overlooked. The room was way at the top of the house and so it was quite a climb (there is no lift). However, I managed it and I'm asthmatic. I particularly liked the information folder in the room that gave detail of the history of the house and information about London.
Breakfast was a very nice surprise with a selection of fruits, yogurts and juice, tea, coffee and hot dishes. Service at breakfast was lovely,very smiley staff and fast.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone and want space, be prepared to pay for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    146
    39
    18
    11
See reviews for
78
107
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We chose Thanet after recommendation from friends, and we weren't disappointed. It is very central, 5 min away from tube station, close to shops and sites. The room was basic, but spotless, staff friendly and accommodating, a good choice for breakfast- an excellent value for money we thought- we will be back and we would recommend it further...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Location was excellent, room was small but neat and tidy. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was spotless - for one night on business I couldn't have asked for more, especially for the price. Breakfast the next morning was lovely, with quick, friendly service. Lots of stairs though, so be warned if you have limited mobility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raisinchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

20 years ago we stayed at the Thanet. It was recommended by nurses staying in the Nurses home opposite the Thanet. They were traveling through NZ and we helped them out when their car broke down in the Catlins. .Returning to London last June we chose the Thanet as we so loved the place and have recommended it to many NZers when they have traveled to London.The Orchards are still there and their son who was a small baby then is now at university. The service is still great and we felt so at home. Nothing was any trouble. Bedsford Place is so central and Russell Underground station is just around the corner and on the Piccadilly line which is great for the London Airport. The stairs and no lift maybe not be to your liking but the climb is good for your health and after all its old London.

Room Tip: Breakfast was great 20 years ago and is still the best. Good security. Most helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I sometimes wondwer what it is that makes so many London hotels fall below the line of dissatisfaction. Having stayed at this hotel it seems to bee a number of small attentions to detail that place it firmly in the satisfactory category rather than any one big wow-factor thing.
It sits in a quiet yet very central location in a well-presented street. The welcome was good and the room, although compact was well maintained , light and clean (particularly the bathroom, Wifi was easy and free, and although I opted for a light breakfast the full monty looked marvelous. At £82 for central London this I will definately return

Room Tip: Some single rooms, as in most London hotels, are compact
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed over Christmas holiday, very friendly staff, great location, owner's awesome. Close to Russell Square, tube access, we were able to get everywhere for a three-block walk. English Breakfast is included, porridge is amazing! our room comfortably accommodated three people, with a great view of beautiful old restored row houses. overall, a really nice hotel. Loved it so much we're heading back this year for New Years Eve!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

just had a long weekend with my sister, neice and her friend. we shared a family room, downstairs, perfect for our needs, shower was on small side, but very powerful, clean towels everyday. kettle in room with decent sized mugs, and loads of tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate.
it was hot, but a huge picture window that we kept open, the room overlooked a small courtyard, so we were not overlooked at all.
10 mins walk to covent garden, 5 mins to british museum, and with a lovely park at either end of the street. breakfast cooked while you waited, plus fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast...... no need to go hungry!!!
would definately stay there again, very friendly helpful staff. and a bonus, a small room with the use of a computer and iron and ironing board.

Room Tip: we had room 1 ground floor, quiet family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#502 of 1,067 in London
526 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#666 of 1,067 in London
328 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#287 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Penn Club
The Penn Club
#522 of 1,067 in London
155 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#600 of 1,067 in London
174 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanet Hotel

Property: Thanet Hotel
Address: 8 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#296 Family Hotel in London
#313 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thanet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing