We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanctuary House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #208 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I took my partner here as a surprise birthday getaway, he loves fullers beers. We loved the hotel, it was gorgeous and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The pub downstairs was great. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Kirsty,

I am glad you and your partner enjoyed your stay here with us at The Sanctuary House Hotel. We hope to see you on a return visit for more of our outstanding cask conditioned Fullers Ales and friendly service.


Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    473
    71
    30
    14
See reviews for
197
464
50
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I chose the Sanctuary House Hotel for a business trip because I was fed up with the usual places that offer no value for a lot of money. I was not disappointed. While not exactly cheap for what is technically a 3-star hotel, it exceeded the standards of most 4-star hotels I have been to in London.

While centrally located, Tothill Street is actually fairly quiet; even better when you get a room facing to the side (like I did) and on the top floor. The room was generously proportioned, well-appointed with a modern bathroom. The beds might be a bit short for tall people, but are comfortable enough. The entire hotel is well maintained. The service is friendly - I was allowed to check in an hour earlier than the standard 1400 hrs. There is free WiFi through the hotel and pub and it is actually quite fast.

I had breakfast in Fullers Pub on the ground floor, which is where the hotel's breakfast is served. A full English breakfast includes the continental buffet and endless amounts of tea or coffee for GBP 12.95, which I found reasonable for London standards. The quality was, again, more than what I would have expected from a hotel of its class.

Room Tip: Rooms high up an facing Dean Farrar Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diver709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review. Here at The Sanctuary House Hotel we strive to meet and beat 4 star standards on a daily bases with the best rates possible and it is fantastic to see that our hard work is being noticed all the way from our modern rooms, to our friendly service and our delicious food. We hope you return for another great experience on your next trip to London.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Sanctuary House is situated above the Fullers Pie and Ale pub. It has a great location, just a couple of blocks from WESTMINSTER Abbey, a fifteen minute walk to Buckingham palace and a two minute walk to St. James Underground. It is a block from from St. James Park and a ten minute walk to the Churchill War Museum. In fact, it's within walking distance of many major sites in London. The Sanctuary House has a similar but better location than a few other hotels that are much more expensive. The area is safe. The rooms are average sized but comfortable, and the pub is open for a buffet or menu breakfast,which is usually included in your room rate. The food and pies are pretty good, and it's a popular place after work for Londoners who work in the area. The local flair is nice. Wifi is included. All in all, one can't beat the location, or price. If you don't care about amenities such as gyms etc. but want a nice, well-located place to see London, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: I'd try for a higher room, so you are not directly above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tennisrebel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for such a thorough and accurate review of our Hotel. I believe your review really hit the nail on the head, we do have some of the most competitive rates that our area provides and coupled with that the whole of London’s must see sights are within the walking distance. I am also happy that you enjoyed our chef’s delicious food on your stay and took full advantage of our free Wi-Fi. We hope to see you again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned after 3 nights stay and would highly recommend it, Lovely comfortable rooms and they certainly give attention to detail. Very friendly staff and as it is a Fuller's Hotel there is an ad.jacent pub where the food is good. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: At the moment there is scaffolding at the front of the building which makes the front rooms a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your nice review. In my opinion a good dinner is made special with great service and I am happy that our staffs friendliness and service was as always top quality. Our head housekeeper never lets anything past her eagles eye and she will be very happy to hear that her attention to detail was noticed. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of this hotel in London couldn't be more convenient! Just a few blocks from Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and St. James Park, we appreciated how close everything was to this hotel! We walked a bunch and were also able to get on the Tube quickly or grab a cab very easily in this location. The hotel was clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We had an evening meal (roast beef with potatoes) and a beer in the bar downstairs on the first night and it was very good. If we came back to London, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaliceANDchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Chalice and Chris,

It is so lovely to hear you had such a wonderful stay, it is true our location is second to non, Westminster is the heart of this great city and the whole of London is connected to it making it very easy to get to anywhere you would like to go.
We look forward to your return journey to our Sanctuary and do not forget our roasts are always served on Sundays. Wish you well.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and would have liked to stay longer. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was great. Lovely comfy bed with gorgeous bedding. 1st class breakfasts are served in the bar downstairs which is a great place. Had an evening meal in the bar which was delicious. Great atmosphere. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. All of us working here at The Sanctuary House Hotel strive to deliver 1st class standards all the way from the cleanliness of the rooms, to the highest quality furnishing/décor, our engaging service and delicious food. It means a great deal to me that you not only appreciate all these aspects but also shared it with everyone in your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future for another comfortable stay and some more of our delicious food.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for a week and overall have very positive things to say. Our room was spacious (we chose a Superior room) with a large bathroom. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable: firm but not hard. There were nice touches: a teakettle and cookies, nightly turndown service, a heated towel rack, and a mini-fridge with bottled water provided daily.

The reception staff were very courteous and friendly and were helpful with requests for local information, printing boarding passes, calling a taxi to the airport when we left, etc.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was quite good with many choices. We ate in the pub one evening, but it was not so good--mediocre food and inattentive service.

Regarding location, as others have noted, the hotel is quite central: a very short walk to many major attractions, beautiful St. James Park, and two tube stops. All in all, a terrific spot; our only small quibble is that there are not a lot of different kinds of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Our room was on the front of the hotel which was a bit noisy. We asked about switching, but there was no availability on our first night, and we did not ask again as we didn't want to bother moving after unpacking. Next time we'd request to be away from the front.

All in all, an excellent small hotel at a good value for a central London accommodation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rekMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your nice review. It is so lovely to hear how great our reception team was when it came to helping you enjoy your holiday to its full potential and it pleases me, how you appreciated every little detail of what we offer.
It is then very unfortunate that your dinner experience did not feel it was to the same standards as breakfast; however I am sure that on your next visit you will receive engaging service along with delicious food from our new summer menu.
We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#24 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#229 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing