We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sanctuary House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$232
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
746
581
103
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
581
103
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestminster abbeybig benjames parkpub downstairsfullers pubgreat locationjames tube stationlondon eyefresh milkthe ground floorfirst floorsmall hotelcharming hotelquiet at nightfull english breakfastturn down servicea stones throw
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sanctuary Hotel in London was a terrific find. It's location is super; 5 minute walk to Westminster Cathedral, Parliament, the Thames and St. James Park. It's on such a quiet street that it's hard to believe that it is so close to everything. Not only that, the Big Bus stops almost at the front door, so sightseeing from the hotel couldn't be easier. Our room was large and had everything in it we could want, including bottles of water left for us daily, great toiletries, robes and slippers, comfortable furnishings.

The staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly. We were leaving London on the morning of the London Marathon and roads all through the area were closed. The staff at the hotel were so concerned that we get out of the city in time to meet our next train that they arranged for a cab to pick us up in spite of the street closures and we got to our destination in plenty of time.

The pub at the street level had great food and we stopped there almost every evening for dinner or a glass of wine and a snack.

It would be impossible to single out any one staff member because all were equally terrific. We would not hesitate to recommend The Sanctuary House to anyone coming to London and we will definitely stay there when we return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Diane V.,

Thank you very much for leaving such a fantastic review. My Reservations Manager was with me when reading this review and she lit up with happiness.
It makes me so happy to hear from you that everything from our location, food, rooms and service were all outstanding.
We can not wait to see you again and we hope that your next visit will be even better than your last, if that is possible of course.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Sanctuary House is an older hotel conveniently located within blocks of Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the St. Jame's tube station, Westminster bus stops, and the Westminster Pier. It is a small hotel that is located above a great little pub that provides excellent dining options and a great London pub experience. It's only a short walk to Buckingham Palace via Birdcage Walk to see the Changing of the Guard or enjoy a walk on The Mall in St. Jame's Park. Rooms are not large but are quiet, air-conditioned, and quite comfortable, with all the amenities of a four-star hotel. The staff is outstanding and provided great recommendations for seeing all the sites in the area and advice on transportation and tours available nearby. A great value in London.

Room Tip: A double room has a little more space than a twin room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear hotel guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is always great when our customers appreciate the premium location we are situated in. I am glad that you were able to explore London with such ease and then return to a fully air-condition relaxing room with our helpful reception team only a phone call away.
We will be looking forward to seeing you again and if possible that your next stay will be even more rewarding.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our family had three rooms at this hotel. One of the rooms was a bit dark, but not a major problem. The twin room seemed smaller and had a totally different layout than the room with one bed. The front desk staff was terrific and very helpful. It was a bit on the expensive side, but it buys you the little extras. The rooms were clean and every night they lay out a terrycloth robe and chocolate on your pillow. The rooms, hallway, and lift/elevator are smaller, as you may expect for an older building. WiFi is free, BUT unsecured and also available in the pub. So, I would not recommend using it for things like banking, credit card accounts, etc.

It is convenient to both the tube and Big Bus stops. Within walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament, St James Park, and the Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street if you want a room with more light.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Katherine M.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. It makes us proud every time we hear how helpful our reception team is and continue to be. We are fortunate to be a popular hotel in the area and we strive to thank our customers by offering little extras to make their stay much more comfortable and it is great when we get positive feedback.
All in all I am happy you had a wonderful stay and took full advantage of our location and free Wi-Fi.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Sanctuary House Hotel is a small hotel with small rooms, but is very well appointed, spotlessly clean and well maintained, in a convenient central location. The ground floor of the establishment is a popular and decent pub, that serves unspectacular, though quite tasty pub-style food. The hotel's staff are pleasant and unobtrusive. Our only criticism was the very limited wardrobe space in our bedroom - inadequate for a couple staying multiple days.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto Dean Farrar St, which we presume was less noisy than those looking onto Tothill Road
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IkariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for leaving your nice review.
I am extremely pleased that you found most aspects of your stay appealing. It is always nice to hear that all of our hard work is paying off when it comes to maintaining the rooms and amenities, ensuring that all guests who stay with us are comfortable throughout. I am sorry that you feel that there is not enough wardrobe space within the room that you stayed in and I will certainly be taking your comments on board.
Despite this, I do hope that our unbeatable location and tasty food will ensure that we are your hotel of choice should you venture back to London again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. First of all, it is one block from the St. James tube stop, it has a great pub on the street level, we had a very quiet room on the top floor (#505) and a lot of sights are in the area. You literally walk out the front door, look right and there is Westminster Abbey about 2 blocks down the street. Our room was spacious with a rather large bathroom for Europe. We had a big window that we were able to close the blinds at night. It was warm in May when we were there and the air conditioning worked better than mine in Texas! You must remember when staying here that the lobby is one flight up (elevator or stairs). The staff was efficient, helpful and eager to please. Our rate included a full English breakfast for 2 and you could not eat all of the food (we did not eat again until dinner time). I have stayed in London more than 10 times and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPAscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. It is lovely that your room met and exceeded your expectations that you had from previous holiday trips in different accommodations around London.
We certainly do not hold back when it comes to quality and quantity for our traditional Full English Breakfast with all the trimmings and our chefs were pleased when I showed them your thoughts. We hope you return from Texas soon for more of our spacious rooms, delicious food and engaging service.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews