We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The rooms are small, but completely updated. A/C is a bit confusing at first. Amenities are very good and thoughtful, lots of coffee, teas, and hot chocolate. Some rooms have housecoats, fridge and safe. Bottled water provided daily. At 6pm, amenities/towels top up. Staff responsive and helpful. After trapesing around all day, it was lovely to come back for a tea and biscuts in the room, shower and then slip downstairs to the Fullers Pie & Ale house for dinner. The "pies" are fabulous.. the best pastery EVER! Light flaky excellent. A terrific convenient location and worth the money. Thanks Francesca, happy travels, perhaps we will meet again.

Room Tip: It is noisey during the day, but the area becomes quiet later in evening. Spending extra money will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheShoeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. I really appreciate your comment on the fantastic service our housekeeping team provides making sure that all our guests rooms are fully stocked with all the little extras all the way from hot beverages to cookies and bottled water.
Our head chef will be happy to hear your feedback on his pies as he works tirelessly to make sure him and his team cook their food to perfection.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The only reason the rating is not higher is due to some carelessness of the staff regarding "wake-up calls." We stayed here (2nd week of June, 2014) for five nights, and three of the mornings the staff failed to provide the wake-up calls we'd requested the night before. This did not result in our missing anything in particular (in terms of getting to sights early enough or to our plane our last morning out of Luton Airport), but still I think travelers should be able to rely on this service. In terms of room/bathroom, the Sanctuary House was fine. The breakfast was very good. And the location (in Westminster) was superb. Very close to the St. James Park tube stop.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnoxvilleCouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for leaving your review. It saddens me to hear that you did not receive all of your wake up calls. I know how important wake up calls are to our guests and I sincerely apologise for this.
It is lovely to hear that despite this, you still enjoyed one of our hearty breakfasts everyday and travelled around London’s must see sites with ease from our convenient location.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here only one night, but we're very pleased. Clean, comfortable, updated and nice bathroom. The location was killer...right next to St. James underground station and a block from Westminster! Restaurant attached was good, and prices for London were decent. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear Jillian W.,

Thank you for your nice review. I am happy that you took the time and enjoyed our traditional restaurant on the ground floor. It is also lovely that our fantastic location helped you with your journey and on top of all that, you had a peaceful nights rest in your room.
I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Needless to say, location is everything. Pop your head out the window and look left and you'll see St. James tube station. Look toward the right and you'll see Westminster Abbey. If you decide to take a stroll by Westminster Abbey, you'll see Big Ben. From Big Ben, you can see the London Eye. Who needs a map, right? I didn't even bother using one and instead just walked from landmark to landmark. The staff is friendly (they had a good laugh when I couldn't figure out the kettle) and the rooms are clean. Anyone who's been to the UK knows the food isn't that great overall (they prefer a blander palette) but the breakfast is okay. Having a pub downstairs is quite nice though and the small charm of the place makes up for the slightly stuffy hallways. The pillows aren't too fluffy so if you're more of a firm pillow kind of person, you'll be in hotel heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanie_suh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jeanie Suh,

Thank you very much for leaving your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the charm of our Victorian style hotel and bar. It is true that we are one of the few hotels privileged enough to be located in the heart of London where you can easily use this great city’s Landmarks to navigate around.
We hope to see you again soon and that your next visit will be as fulfilling as this one.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow location was fantastic, staff were wonderful always happy to assist with tour information. Would recommend to anyone staying in London and wanting to be close to everything. Well done to Sanctuary house and the staff on offering a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Kim T.,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Every time I hear how great and helpful our reception team are it brings a smile to my face and in my opinion a great location has no foundation without a solid, committed and friendly team to welcome you in.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sanctuary Hotel in London was a terrific find. It's location is super; 5 minute walk to Westminster Cathedral, Parliament, the Thames and St. James Park. It's on such a quiet street that it's hard to believe that it is so close to everything. Not only that, the Big Bus stops almost at the front door, so sightseeing from the hotel couldn't be easier. Our room was large and had everything in it we could want, including bottles of water left for us daily, great toiletries, robes and slippers, comfortable furnishings.

The staff is unbelievably helpful and friendly. We were leaving London on the morning of the London Marathon and roads all through the area were closed. The staff at the hotel were so concerned that we get out of the city in time to meet our next train that they arranged for a cab to pick us up in spite of the street closures and we got to our destination in plenty of time.

The pub at the street level had great food and we stopped there almost every evening for dinner or a glass of wine and a snack.

It would be impossible to single out any one staff member because all were equally terrific. We would not hesitate to recommend The Sanctuary House to anyone coming to London and we will definitely stay there when we return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Diane V.,

Thank you very much for leaving such a fantastic review. My Reservations Manager was with me when reading this review and she lit up with happiness.
It makes me so happy to hear from you that everything from our location, food, rooms and service were all outstanding.
We can not wait to see you again and we hope that your next visit will be even better than your last, if that is possible of course.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Sanctuary House is an older hotel conveniently located within blocks of Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, the St. Jame's tube station, Westminster bus stops, and the Westminster Pier. It is a small hotel that is located above a great little pub that provides excellent dining options and a great London pub experience. It's only a short walk to Buckingham Palace via Birdcage Walk to see the Changing of the Guard or enjoy a walk on The Mall in St. Jame's Park. Rooms are not large but are quiet, air-conditioned, and quite comfortable, with all the amenities of a four-star hotel. The staff is outstanding and provided great recommendations for seeing all the sites in the area and advice on transportation and tours available nearby. A great value in London.

Room Tip: A double room has a little more space than a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear hotel guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is always great when our customers appreciate the premium location we are situated in. I am glad that you were able to explore London with such ease and then return to a fully air-condition relaxing room with our helpful reception team only a phone call away.
We will be looking forward to seeing you again and if possible that your next stay will be even more rewarding.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,077 in London
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,077 in London
1,081 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,296 reviews
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#490 of 1,077 in London
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £133 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Westminster stands the Sanctuary House - our grand hotel and Ale & Pie pub that offers fine food, warm hospitality and top class accommodation. You’ll find all the comforts of home, from our beautifully-appointed bedrooms to Fuller’s proper pies and pints. All our stylish bedrooms are available with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing