We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Ranked #190 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very classy hotel in great location. Easy walk to theaters and to Parliament and all the Westminister attractions. The room was very clean and fairly large, we had ordered flowers and they were absolutely beautiful. Staff was helpful and friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P_W_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Mr Nelson,

Thank you for your nice review. I am delighted that you liked the flowers that we selected for you, and that you appreciated the hard work we have put in to the aesthetics of our hotel to give it a warm, comfortable classy atmosphere. It is wonderful that our central location helped you to make the most of your stay which was made more enjoyable by our lovely team here at the Sanctuary House.
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    494
    74
    32
    15
See reviews for
211
491
54
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at the Sanctuary House Hotel and we absolutely love it! It is in a great location right near Westminster Abbey and walking distance to Big Ben, The London Eye and lots more. The rooms are lovely and the whole hotel as a real homely feel. The pub downstairs is great and perfect to come back to after a long day exploring. We ate here for dinner a couple of nights and breakfast is also served here where you get an excellent choice of yummy food! Hope to return here again some time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Dear Kathryn T.,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is wonderful to hear that your second visit was just as pleasant as your first one. We are fortunate to be located in the heart of London, and I am pleased that this helped make your days out more convenient and that our wonderful pub on the ground floor served you our delicious breakfast to give you energy for the long days out and fabulous dinners for a nice retreat before heading back to your homely room.

We hope to see you for a third visit.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gargunnock
Level Contributor
227 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place is in a great location in Westminster. We had a casual late dinner with London-brewed real ales. It's a classic London pub with lots of mirrors and high ceilings. Friendly enough though nothing to write home about

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear David F.,

I am very happy that you enjoyed some of our award winning real ales in our traditional pub and even more so that you took the time to write a review about it.
We hope to see you again soon for some more delicious food and great beer.


Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Sanctuary House Hotel. Rooms were very nice and clean, the bathroom was modern, and I wish we had instructions how to use the showerhead (but on the second day we figured it out). Breakfast was good, it was in the pub restaurant. My daughter said she really liked the Breakfast layout. Be prepared though some nights service is slow in the pub. We got used to it. We had dinner in the pub a few nights, and the food was good. Its location is perfect, a few mins. away from St. James Tube station. We used Viator transportation from Heathrow to our hotel for the 4 of us, it was cheaper for us that way than take the Heathrow Express. The only reason I can't give a 5 rating, is because I was not notified that Scaffolding was around the hotel, our view was the scaffolding, and we didn't get the floor I was confirmed for.
But at the end, we were gone all day, so the view didn't matter than. The reception was very helpful. We got our little chocolates at night on our beds, loved that. Wifi was good. They had tea/coffee in the room, which I loved to have my afternoon tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your pleasant and informative review.
I am really happy that your stay with us was satisfying overall and that the majority of the services that we offer were more than pleasing to you. It is certainly those little touches, such as complimentary Wi-Fi, a great selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate and biscuits and the delicious nightly mint chocolates, which make all the difference. I am saddened to hear, however, that not all aspects of your stay were quite as satisfactory. With regards to the scaffolding around the hotel, I am deeply apologetic that you were not informed prior to your arrival. Unfortunately, requests made for certain floors cannot always be guaranteed due to unforeseen instances that may occur. As the reception staff are available 24 hours a day, they are always at hand to answer any queries that you may have so should anyone struggle with any of the amenities in the rooms, our staff are always happy to advise accordingly. I know that our restaurant staff will also be disappointed to hear that their service was not quite up to their usual speedy and efficient standard. Despite these niggles, I am glad that you still had an enjoyable stay with us and that you got to sample our delicious breakfasts and traditional menu.
I hope that you choose to stay with us again should you decide to revisit London.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went looking for a pub to eat in and ended up here after most others seemed too crowded. This place seemed to be filled with locals. Found a table right away. My wife and I had pies and our daughter had a burger. Food was great! Service a little slow but not terrible. Also, prices are very reasonable. Great find and we'll probably go back while we are here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed some of our delicious hand crafted pies and a meaty burger.
I look forward to your next visit for more delicious food, great wine and outstanding cask conditioned ales.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

only 3mins walk from St James tube station, 10mins walk to Westminster Abbey & further 5mins plus you can reach big ben & river thames. an excellent location & nice little hotel right in the city central with comfy & modern deco room, large bed & fluffy bath towels which is a big plus. Room is comfortable & large enough for two to move around & the coffee/tea making facility in room is really good too with a selection of teas & filter coffee.

The pub downstairs was nice, cosy with good selection of british beers & ciders. We didnt eat there but have breakfast next morning, it was delicious cooked full English breakfast with selection of continental breakfast to choice from the bar too. also have free wifi.

Staff are all very friendly & attentive service, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back away from the main street as it can be a bit noisy at time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Dear hotel guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.
It is wonderful to hear that you had a delicious breakfast, also that you took notice of our wide variety of cask conditioned ales, ciders and lagers. I am very happy that you noticed the good quality linen and towels that we use for our rooms as one of the most important aspects of a hotel is a good combatable nights sleep.

We hope to see you again soon for some more great service and peaceful nights in.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal location for seeing the sights in London. Steps away from Tube station (which for us was key). Short walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, London Eye, Parliament Square. A nice easy stroll past 10 Downing Street to Trafalgar Square. Walkable to Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly Circus, and Theatre District. Normal size rooms by European standards (i.e., smallish) but well appointed and comfortable. This is a tiny hotel situated above a wonderful pub that was clearly popular with the locals. Well-priced compared to other hotels in central London. We would definitely return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank WildcatCruzrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. One of the most talked about assets of our hotel is our unbeatable location, as Westminster is truly connected to the whole of London making travel arrangements simple and convenient.
I am grateful that you noticed the hard work that has gone into the layout of our rooms making sure that we offer everything that our guests would require for their travels and of course our vibrant pub on the ground floor which serves great beer and food to our local office workers and anyone who choses to stop by for a peaceful retreat.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Sol Yepes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#230 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Property: The Sanctuary House Hotel
Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing