We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showy, elegant queensgate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queen's Gate Hotel
Ranked #342 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Showy, elegant queensgate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. It is in a great position and within walking distance of V and A, space museum, natural history museum and kensington gardens. There are many cafés around the corner on Gloucester road. I found the staff to ce polite and professional and the standard of cleanliness is very high.

Room Tip: We stayed on 5floor so we had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokomo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    441
    155
    36
    20
See reviews for
256
313
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed with my two teenaged kids and the room for three was huge, clean and in a nice location. But the interior was quite cold and empty. The beds were not really comfortable and for me to soft. In the bath they were small things partly broken, like shower or water tap (maybe it is just the British way). But in all the hotel was good and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheQueensGateHotel, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Meybo,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay. We are thankful for your positive comments as well as your constructive feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We intend to provide our customers with the best service we can offer and I am thrilled to learn that our hard work has been noticed.

I would like to sincerely apologize for any faults that you encountered during your stay with us. We have taken your comments very seriously and I will address the issues with the relevant departments in order to implement positive changes.

We hope you had a save journey home and we would be glad to get another chance to convince you entirely of our service quality.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londrina, PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great location. Very close to the tube. The service was very good and they were always willing to help. Breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and neat. The wi-fi worked really well in the room, which is a plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedroca1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great location, just a few blocks from the tube. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and a grocery store within walking distance. The rooms were clean & comfortable. We had a triple room and felt that we had plenty of space. There was also a fridge in the room so that was a bonus. The wifi was a bit spotty. The only real negative was trying to get to the train station the morning of our departure. The front desk offered a car service that was going to charge us sixty pounds to go to Kings Cross. We decided to try our luck with a taxi who charged us only 18. So I would suggest if you are going to need car transportation to one of the train stations or airports it would be best not to go with the car service. Other than that, no complaints. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktdipaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

3 adults had triple room and very spacious. great terrace and bar on first floor. Windows open so when weather permits nice for fresh air. A/C was fine and internet free for 30 minutes daily. breakfast buffet pricy but quality fine. The location is what is tremendous. Four blocks to Gloucester tube. Very small tube station but so easy to navigate - unlike Victoria for example. This neighborhood is full of restaurants within a few blocks. One block to entrance of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. Modern furnishings. Walking distance to Sloane Square or Bond/Oxford for shopping.

Room Tip: tapas in bar area when restaurant closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avanti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had such a wonderful stay in this hotel, location is the best!! 5 mnt walk to south kensington tube station, 2 mnt walk to natural history museum, just right in the middle of the city but still quiet area and not much traffic around. The hotel is beautiful, service is great, room abit tiny though but beautifuly furnished, would love to stay here again next time we are in London

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirsAmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheQueensGateHotel, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear MissP_ams,

First of all, thank you very much for writing to us. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We intend to provide our customers with the best service we can offer and I am thrilled to learn that our hard work has gained a new customer in you.

I am equally thrilled to read that our location has been so convenient for you and that the short walk to the RAH added an extra touch to the memorable night out at the hall.

I will personally thank my colleagues from reception and restaurant on your behalf for all their work and customer service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future when you decide to visit us again and I will be more than happy to personally assure that your stay with us is a memorable on.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Came to this hotel for my mothers 80th birthday. We had room 1 which is a triple room (3 single beds - very rare in London). The room was spacious and extremely clean. Very high spec decor. Our kettle didnt work when we arrived but it was very swiftly fixed. Lovely clean bathroom if a little small but this did not matter as we didnt spend much time in it.
The linen on the beds was soft and very clean, comfy beds and very soft pillows - again rare in a lot of hotels.
The reception area floor shone so bright you could see your face in it. The reception staff were polite and very helpful.
Just a couple of grumbles - the towels were hard and scratchy which let down the rest of the standard in the room. Also , anticipate a longer walk than advertised from Gloucester Road Tube. Otherwise an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: There is a lift to all floors but there are also ground floor rooms. Our ground floor triple room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheQueensGateHotel, Front Office Manager at The Queen's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear YorkshireChrissy,

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Queens Gate Hotel. I am equally pleased that you found the hotel to be charming, beautifully decorated and that it made you feel at home. We believe that these are the cornerstones of hospitality along with high standards of customer service.

It is very satisfying to learn that you have noticed our high standards of cleanness and attentions to details as we aim to ensure our guests feel comfortable and have a memorable stay with us. It is very rewarding to hear that we did meet our goals during your recent stay.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit to London.

Once more thank you very much for sharing your experience with the online community and for your kind words.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#428 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Gate Hotel

Property: The Queen's Gate Hotel
Address: 31-34 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JA, England (Formerly Abba Queen's Gate Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#245 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
#308 Romantic Hotel in London
#322 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 19th-century town house hotel has a privileged upscale location in Kensington. Just 300 meters from The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens and the Natural History Museum. The Science Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum are 5 minutes away. Imperial College is directly across the street. Both the Royal College of Music and the Royal College of Art are just 300 meters. The Tube stations "South Kensington"and "Gloucester Road" are 800 meters away with fantastic direct connections to Heathrow Airport, Eurostar, Theatreland, the West End, the City and Victoria Station for Gatwick Airport. Olympia Exhibition and Conference Centre is just 18 m inutes by direct bus. Harrods, Harvey Nichols and the designer boutiques in Knightsbridge and Sloane Street are just a 10 minutes walk. The stylish and spacious bedrooms (90) have a chic boutique feel, are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom and shower. Features include fast and free WiFi, large windows, a mini-bar, large LCD TV and wooden floors. Facilities include the Q bar with an outdoor terrace, restaurant, room service, 2 meeting rooms for 25 persons each, an internet corner and a small fitness centre. A large variety of bars and restaurants, ATMs, grocery stores and pharmacies are in the neighbourhood. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queen's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Queens Gate London
Hotel Abba Queens Gate
Abba Hotel London
Abba Queens Gate Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing