We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different London”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fleet Street

Fleet Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.89*
and up
Jack the Ripper Tour and London Ghost Walk
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Different London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are tired of typical London's attractions you should visit this place. It's near St Paul's cathedral but you will not find there crowds. This play has a great history. It's actually a birthplace of most of British world famous newspapers as more for a century offices of media has been located there. Somewhere you can find plaque incorporated in ground.
Also there are few beautiful churches which are less popular among tourists but not less beautiful, i. e. St Bride's Church.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vitaly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    40
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
376 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Nostalgic trip to Fleet Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

A visit to Fleet Street was a must as it was literally around the corner from our hotel. Fascinated by print media, I enjoyed spotting the remaining evidence that all print media was once based here. Many of the buildings are stunning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larsonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Wyoming
Level Contributor
161 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Tales of Fleet Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Well. Fleet Street is a nice historical stroll . If u just view the outside it's a little boring but if you start asking questions there is a darker very interesting mind tour. I started asking about the underground there and several shops acted like I was crazy but, then a lilies shop let in into their back room and opened a trap door and I viewed into a whole underground city. And he told me of stories. I then went to a different shop and he showed me his trap door and added some stories. In all I viewed 9 trap doors and listened to hundreds of stories . So did the barber of Fleet Street really exist ? I don't know but it surely is amazing of the the similar stories and why is there a complete underworld city there that existed years ago ?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank imc410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
417 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Famous street and Sweeney Todd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Take a walk in London's historical street. Home to the Temple Bar and Somerset House, connecting with The Strand, this is a nice street to stroll on your way from Covent Garden to St. Paul's. Sweeney Todd (from the play, or the Johnny Depp movie from 2007 if you prefer) lived in Fleet Street and indeed you can find a barbershop on number 61 that has some references to the demonic character.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GameServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,413 reviews
3,459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,766 helpful votes
“Lovely Temple Bar Memorial on the Fleet St. / Strand boundary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

One of the things we like to see in this area of London is the Temple Bar Memorial, which stands in the middle of the street, making the boundary of Westminster and The City as well as the boundary between Fleet Street and The Strand. This is a historically important landmark and an attractive monument to have a look at if you are visiting area attractions. The Temple Bar takes its name from the nearby Temple Church.

Historically, there are records of a bar being in place here as early as 1293. Arched structures often occupied this spot over the centuries. During the Peasant's revolt of 1381 the bar was destroyed. Later, during the middle ages, a long standing wooden structure was in place until after the Great Fire of 1666. While it escaped damage from this tragedy, it was determined by King Charles to rebuild the structure as part of the city rebuilding that followed the Great Fire.

Commissioned by the king, Sir Christopher Wren then build an arched passageway between 1669-1672 that was known as Wren's Temple Bar Gate. This attractive structure remained until 1878, when it was dismantled and removed due to the need to widen the street.

The current Temple Bar marker was then built in 1880. It is a Neo-Renaissance style base supporting a pedestal, which features statues of Queen Victoria and the Prince of Wales on either side. The pedestal is also surrounded by reliefs depicting the Royals last entry through the old Wren Gate. Perched upon the pedestal is a dragon, the symbol of the city of London.

In the end, we very much like the Temple Bar Memorial and the City of London dragon which sits steadfast in the middle of Fleet Street (The Stand). It makes a nice attraction to see when visiting this part of London.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fleet Street also viewed

 

Been to Fleet Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing