We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK hostel in an overrated city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Astor Victoria Hostel
Ranked #61 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An OK hostel in an overrated city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Astor Victoria Hostel is in a good location; being close to Victoria Station and attractions such as Buckingham Palace and Parliament Square. The 24 hour check in was greatly appreciated, given my flight in to London from Lisbon was delayed and couldn't arrive until 1:30 AM. So was the luggage room, which allowed for sightseeing the day of my departure for Amsterdam. While the hostel itself was OK with resourceful staff and good breakfast, I found the city of London to be overrated (very expensive and attractions aren't that great) and wouldn't recommend visiting that city more than once.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    153
    136
    51
    33
See reviews for
8
49
157
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

When you decide to stay at one of the cheapest Hostels you can find your expectations are already set at an all time low, however, the Hostel was social (in design and size) with an appetizing breakfast, located just a few minutes away from the underground and Buckingham Palace but that's being positive.

The biggest drawbacks to this Hostel lay with the staff. They clearly just don't care and want to get by on the bare minimum. In my short stay there two of the toilets became blocked and remained blocked for the rest of the day and the toilet roll was often on the floor, despite having an unused lockable toilet roll holder. This is just pure laziness and might explain why the showers were just left on for hours while not in use.

Besides the staff the only other problem is the positioning of the plug socks. All the plug socks are right next to the door where someone could open the door and steal them? "No thanks." I'm lucky the Hostel's Wifi was weak at best or I would have slept on the floor because there was no way i'd leave my phone there.

At least this wasn't a big issue for me as I spent most of my time at the Hostel downstairs, browsing Netflix in their cinema room (so cool!) with a charger a few cms away and no need for wifi. Plus it's cooler down there as my room got hot in the summer.

Overall, still good for the money, the basics are there such as clean sheets, a comfy bed and breakfast but don't expect anything more.

Room Tip: Rooms are hot in the summer so ask to be near the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The first impression of this hostel was wonderful; the friendly staff greeted us, set us up with our room and gave us a brief explanation of everything we needed to know. The lobby was full of tourist information and was helpful in letting you know how long of a walk it was from each attraction such as the London Eye, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben etc. Now, onto the more important part of the hostel: the rooms. If you are truly going to spend your entire day and plan on only sleeping in the rooms for no more than 8 hours, then the Astor Victoria Hostel is good for your buck, however, I would not say it is the most comfortable or inviting. We stayed in a 6 person room and it was definitely one bunk (two beds) too many causing the room to be extremely cramped and hot. Beds were comfortable and clean so I can't complain too much about it. There are two showers and two toilets per floor that you would share with approx 20 other people. The toilets were always clean and bathroom smelled fresh but the showers could have used a shelf or two to put your toiletries. Breakfast was standard and included, no complaints.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a four person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I found my stay at the Astor Victoria a pleasant one overall, but It's difficult to give it more than 3.

Upon arrival, staff were quick to welcome us and set us up with a room. They were really friendly and always willing to answer questions and help us out. Also, the hostel was really easy to find and is only a short walk to Pimlico station.

The rooms however weren't the greatest. There was a massive yellow stain on the wall next to my bed and the lockers were some of the worst we've used on our trip. The beds were relatively comfortable and clean by hostel standards, no complaints there. Bathrooms were also standard, but on the second night of our stay, a hairball appeared in one of the showers and there it remained for the duration of our stay (4 nights) leading me to believe that the showers aren't cleaned regularly. Breakfast was a standard hostel breakfast and was free.

In conclusion, I wouldn't mind staying at this hostel again, but there are better options elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikola_Tanaskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good location since near main tourist spots and Victoria Station.
Staff members are generally nice and helpful. But lack of communication among them.
Room we stayed is fine.
With plenty of bathrooms and shower rooms. Bathrooms are generally clean during our stay. But the shower rooms we used are quite small and not so clean( not sure the condition is the same for the big common shower room.)
Overall, still satisfactory

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoek1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was pleasant when they decided they wanted to help but getting help was difficult sometimes. My husband and I stay here for 3 nights and on our last 2 nights had an odd situation to deal with. We booked a 4 bed mixed dorm and due to a mix up with a different group we ended up with 5 people in our dorm. They didn't provide an extra bed or roll away cot for the extra person so she ended having to share a bed with one of her friends. It was a little awkward but not the end of the world. I went to take a shower at one point and ended up having shut the lights off while I was in there because the switch is in the hall across from the shower. The fridges in the kitchen for guests to use were really small and packed full all the time. Overall just an ok experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megannwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent a weekend with a friend in Astor Victoria in London. A mistake was done by staff, they thought we forgot to check out even though we had booked a bed until the following day. They've thrown everything in a suitcase and put it in a wardrobe at reception. When we got our stuff back we realized that the most expensive shoppings from the day before were gone, among what we bought at Victoria's secret and newly bought shoes. Since all the roommates had already checked out the only people entering the room was staff.
There was no understanding when we tried to talk to the staff even though the situation was clear.
Short: Huge invasion in privacy, personal belongings stolen, and no way to talk to anyone.
Worst hostel ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Franziska G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#520 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#531 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#257 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Corona
BEST WESTERN Corona
#553 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#37 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Victoria Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Victoria Hostel

Property: Astor Victoria Hostel
Address: 71 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Astor Victoria Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Victoria is the largest of our budget accommodations, split across two adjoining building. The atmosphere can be described as laid back and an ideal place to meet new friends. We have been operating here for close to 15 years, with the Victoria hosting the after party for Astor’s roaring 30th Anniversary at Pacha. This hostel is one of the best London Hotels near Victoria Station, and is a just a short walk to the River Thames, and many art galleries.Stay at the Astor Victoria and you will be sure to have a thrilling time! With two large kitchens in the basement, this young hostel has plenty of space to meet other like-minded travellers. You'll find Free Fast Wi-Fi, Reception is open 24-hours for late check-ins and we provide everything else including free safes, towels for hire and padlocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Astor Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Victoria Hotel London
Astors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing