We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOME OF THE EXHIBITION CENTRE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA London Earl's Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA London Earl's Court
Ranked #63 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Welling
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HOME OF THE EXHIBITION CENTRE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hostel is one of the older ones putting it in the cheaper price range catering the individual traveller, situated in the busy centre of Earls Court in the west of London near The London Exhibition Centre and handy for Heathrow Airport. A large underground station is based on Earls Court Road which carries you all over London, local buses operate along Earls Court Road together with National coaches making a stop, on street parking is available outside the hostel, certain hours of the day this is free.

Steps lead to the reception area meaning it is not wheelchair friendly. It does not have bar facilities, food and soft beverages can be purchased from reception. Most of the reception staff are helpful but this depends on who is working when you get to the hostel.

Dormatories consist of four to six bedded rooms with bunk beds, these are a good size do not have en-suite facilities. Bathrooms and toilets are situated along the corridors.. There is a large television room with table and chairs. The hostel does not have a lift so suitcases need to be carried up and down stairs. There is a free luggage room in the basement together with priced lockers in the basement. WiFi is available by purchasing Global Gossip cards between one to seven days purchased from Reception. They can also be used to make international calls from a red telephone situated in a large lounge at the rear of the building overlooking the garden. The garden has seats and tables so on a nice day you can sit outside.

Tickets to London attractions can be purchased at reception. Many restaurants and bars can be found in the area. Food can be purchased in the supermarkets, shops and banks are along Earls Court Road.

6-10 = Advantages - location/quiet/television

Disadvantages - no bar/older building/no en-suite in dormatories

Room Tip: As these rooms are in need of modernisation and suitcases have to be carried up and down stairs, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    165
    96
    26
    21
See reviews for
59
42
118
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Located amongst top west end housing just off main road. Very convenient location. Dorms basic, but clean, lockers and plenty of room. Toilets and showers modern and OK. Kitchen OK leads onto outdoor eating area. Friendly staff. All round great value and well worth staying at.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great experience, the hostel is not so far from Earl's Court subway station and there are two lines - District line and Piccadilly line. It's suggested to take Piccadilly line and take stairs, not to wait for group elevator. There is a good Nando's restaurant just outside the station. The hostel is situated in very nice and old district. The reception work 24/7. Very warm and welcoming staff. There is a great garden outside where you can have breakfast. Breakfast is very simple, for around 4gbp. But mind to take a LOCK with the key and ADAPTOR with you, because otherwise you end up spending extra 7 gdp for stuff. The rooms are small, but clean. Everybody has a locker. There is a sink in the room. I was in women room with double beds, very nice people around, though there was some snoring around ;) The rooms are open and closed by card system, very convenient. Though I had trouble with my card - had to change it two times, as it would not work. The showers are very simple, clean and convenient, there is paper towels, and wash soap there.

Room Tip: take a locker and adaptor to charge your devices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I was traveling solo. Easy to find from Heathrow. Rode Metro (Picadilly Line) from Heathrow got off at Earl's Court, rode lift to street level, came out of station, made a right and it was the 4th street on the left. Be careful crossing the street...crazy traffic.

Close to buses, metro, food, grocery and Boots (like Wal-Greens or CVS), travel shop, post office and nail salon. Quiet neighborhood at night. The staff is helpful, rooms clean, not for the party types. Laundry on site (basement), Full Kitchen, or you could buy food on site, pizza, salads, coffee, tea, soda, basic if you do not feel like going out. Price very good.

Down side are the bathrooms, showers....not awful but they have lights on a sensor and they go out mid shower you have to move around to get them to come back on. Locks not particularly good. Although clean....funky smell...bring small lysol or spray. Also no elevator so request first floor if possible. All this not a deal breaker....the premises are clean and well lit. Would stay again and fine for older travelers, I am 43 year old woman....would stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator....so be prepared to carry luggage up staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJones1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights. We arrived much earlier than check in but a very friendly staff let us store our luggage until we could get our room. Basement room was clean and had a big window for light. Very little storage for your things but it really doesn't matter since we only were there to shower and sleep. Great location to cafes, pubs, and grocery stores and a very quick walk to the Earls Court underground stop. We didn't try the breakfast at the hostel (had much better and cheaper options down the street) and sadly they also charge for wifi access. Only complaint would be that other people in adjacent rooms would come in and out of their rooms all night and let their doors slam shut which was very loud and obnoxious to deal with.

Overall a good place to stay and felt very safe at all times of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Me and my friend were in London for the first time. As soon as we arrived, we were received with a really friendly and helpful staff. No elevators, so we had to go up 3 floors with our luggage, but we stayed in the last floor, normally this wouldn't be a problem. Wifi and breakfast are paid, but this is London, after all. It's an expensive city, so this hostel is worth your money. We enjoyed it very much. Good location as well, supermarkets and Tube nearby. Great neighboorhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaMonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, wifi expensive, tea and coffee expensive, for £80/night twin shared bathroom, it was a bit much. Common room was nice, tv, lounge, lots of travel offers, not how many we're actually good deals. Got a bum steer on the bus stop to our next destination, we were almost 200 metres out, that's a lot for a buss top, redirected by a kind English gentleman. The central loCation meant we only paid zone 1 for all the places we visited. Highly recommend getting an Oyster card for travel, less hassle, less expense.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsweettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Thameside
#147 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#47 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Earl's Court

Property: YHA London Earl's Court
Address: 38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great backpackers hostel, the modern facilities in this lovely Victorian building make a convenient base for a cheap city break. Whether you’re in London to explore the attractions or just attending a gig at the nearby Olympia or Earls Court exhibition centres, the location is perfect. This west London Youth Hostel offers cheap accommodation near to the vibrant city centre. The area has a cosmopolitan feel and is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall - great for a weekend break ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your YHA London Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Earl`s Court Yha Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing