We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for a Brief Stay in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA London Earl's Court
Ranked #49 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed here for one night. It took about an hour to get from Heathrow to the hostel. The hostel is located in a pleasant, seemingly safe, quiet area, and is about a five- to ten-minute walk from both the Earl’s Court tube station and the EasyJet bus that goes directly to Gatwick. The surrounding area has a variety of small shops, bars, and restaurants. Female only dorms are becoming more of a rarity these days, so the fact that this hostel offers this option was a plus for me. I was also pleased to see not only college students staying here, but also families and individuals of various ages. The hostel’s café serves a variety of drinks, sandwiches and snacks, and seemed to be open most of the time. My six-bed dorm room was a comfortable size and included a sink. The one drawback I found was that there was not an adequate number of bathrooms and showers for the number of people on my floor. The bathroom I used was not the cleanest I’ve seen, but this could easily have been attributable to the guests and not necessarily the cleaning staff. Overall, I found the hostel to be fine for a short and relatively inexpensive stay in London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Earl's Court YHA provides everything you expect from a typical hostel. You get plain but clean rooms with comfy beds (our 4-bed room also had a washbasin which was a welcome addition). Showers in the hallway are clean and there is always hot water. And the staff is friendly and ready to help you with anything. They also have quite big lockers where we could leave our luggage for the day after checking out (for a small fee). The hostel is in a quiet location in one of my favourite areas in London - near Kensington Gardens with underground station close by.

I would definitely stay again. There was only one issue during our stay. We got the room next to the toilet which seemed to be broken so there was a constant sound of rushing water. But we got used to it after a while.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed here with my 11 year old daughter and was pleasantly surprised what a great place this was! Doesn't seem to be the 'party place' as many hostels tend to be, but for our stay in London we were looking for a reasonably priced bed to sleep in, in a good location, and that's exactly what we got. Pity the underground had maintenance work so getting there was a pain... But generally the location is great and there are buses, supermarkets, all basic needs within reach. Top spot!

Room Tip: Our room was a private (2 person) room. Without a doubt the tiniest room I have ever stayed in in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorpe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hostel is one of the older ones putting it in the cheaper price range catering the individual traveller, situated in the busy centre of Earls Court in the west of London near The London Exhibition Centre and handy for Heathrow Airport. A large underground station is based on Earls Court Road which carries you all over London, local buses operate along Earls Court Road together with National coaches making a stop, on street parking is available outside the hostel, certain hours of the day this is free.

Steps lead to the reception area meaning it is not wheelchair friendly. It does not have bar facilities, food and soft beverages can be purchased from reception. Most of the reception staff are helpful but this depends on who is working when you get to the hostel.

Dormatories consist of four to six bedded rooms with bunk beds, these are a good size do not have en-suite facilities. Bathrooms and toilets are situated along the corridors.. There is a large television room with table and chairs. The hostel does not have a lift so suitcases need to be carried up and down stairs. There is a free luggage room in the basement together with priced lockers in the basement. WiFi is available by purchasing Global Gossip cards between one to seven days purchased from Reception. They can also be used to make international calls from a red telephone situated in a large lounge at the rear of the building overlooking the garden. The garden has seats and tables so on a nice day you can sit outside.

Tickets to London attractions can be purchased at reception. Many restaurants and bars can be found in the area. Food can be purchased in the supermarkets, shops and banks are along Earls Court Road.

6-10 = Advantages - location/quiet/television

Disadvantages - no bar/older building/no en-suite in dormatories

Room Tip: As these rooms are in need of modernisation and suitcases have to be carried up and down stairs, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Located amongst top west end housing just off main road. Very convenient location. Dorms basic, but clean, lockers and plenty of room. Toilets and showers modern and OK. Kitchen OK leads onto outdoor eating area. Friendly staff. All round great value and well worth staying at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great experience, the hostel is not so far from Earl's Court subway station and there are two lines - District line and Piccadilly line. It's suggested to take Piccadilly line and take stairs, not to wait for group elevator. There is a good Nando's restaurant just outside the station. The hostel is situated in very nice and old district. The reception work 24/7. Very warm and welcoming staff. There is a great garden outside where you can have breakfast. Breakfast is very simple, for around 4gbp. But mind to take a LOCK with the key and ADAPTOR with you, because otherwise you end up spending extra 7 gdp for stuff. The rooms are small, but clean. Everybody has a locker. There is a sink in the room. I was in women room with double beds, very nice people around, though there was some snoring around ;) The rooms are open and closed by card system, very convenient. Though I had trouble with my card - had to change it two times, as it would not work. The showers are very simple, clean and convenient, there is paper towels, and wash soap there.

Room Tip: take a locker and adaptor to charge your devices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yulcya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I was traveling solo. Easy to find from Heathrow. Rode Metro (Picadilly Line) from Heathrow got off at Earl's Court, rode lift to street level, came out of station, made a right and it was the 4th street on the left. Be careful crossing the street...crazy traffic.

Close to buses, metro, food, grocery and Boots (like Wal-Greens or CVS), travel shop, post office and nail salon. Quiet neighborhood at night. The staff is helpful, rooms clean, not for the party types. Laundry on site (basement), Full Kitchen, or you could buy food on site, pizza, salads, coffee, tea, soda, basic if you do not feel like going out. Price very good.

Down side are the bathrooms, showers....not awful but they have lights on a sensor and they go out mid shower you have to move around to get them to come back on. Locks not particularly good. Although clean....funky smell...bring small lysol or spray. Also no elevator so request first floor if possible. All this not a deal breaker....the premises are clean and well lit. Would stay again and fine for older travelers, I am 43 year old woman....would stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator....so be prepared to carry luggage up staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJones1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 928 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 928 in London
2,666 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Earl's Court

Address: 38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £28 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great backpackers hostel, the modern facilities in this lovely Victorian building make a convenient base for a cheap city break. Whether you’re in London to explore the attractions or just attending a gig at the nearby Olympia or Earls Court exhibition centres, the location is perfect. This west London Youth Hostel offers cheap accommodation near to the vibrant city centre. The area has a cosmopolitan feel and is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall - great for a weekend break ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your YHA London Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Earl`s Court Yha Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing