We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting,dirty,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA London Earl's Court
Ranked #68 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting,dirty,”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Terrible, dirty,stinks in the rooms corridors and wc and shower
laundry and kitchen worse me I did not cook or wash my clothes
after looking at it so imagine?
The duty manager was too proud about herself as anything asked she did not ans and was rude and the checkin was donein the worse way ever.


Room Tip: Absolutely no
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Manager at YHA London Earl's Court, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Edward, thanks for taking the time to post your review.
I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and wish you'd mentioned something to me on the day as this would have given me the opportunity to rectify any issues you'd experienced straight away. I'd like to assure you that standards are extremely important to us: the whole building (including all the areas you mention) is thoroughly cleaned every day and it's also extremely unusual for us to have complaints about staff. It would be very helpful to me if you could call or email me with the date and time of day you noticed these problems so that I can look into it further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    172
    97
    26
    22
See reviews for
61
42
122
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a good option if you want somewhere cheap just to rest your weary head in London! It's close to Earl's Court Underground station, but on a quiet side road. The beds (all bunks) were basic and comfortable, but our window (original sash) didn't close properly. There are few carpets in the building, which mean that any noise is amplified. The bedroom doors (on the third floor anyway) can't be closed quietly, which is a serious pain if numerous people in the room next to you are leaving at 3.30am and all want showers before they go. As Earl's Court is on the direct tube line to Heathrow, there are probably more of those guests here than in most YHAs.

The kitchen is very small, given the number of people the YHA can accommodate and is hidden away in the far corner of the basement. I guess most people try to eat out - if they didn't it would be a nightmare in there (especially when one fridge freezes food and one whole hob is out of action). There is a nice looking sizeable outside eating/socialising space outside though.

Left luggage lockers are useful if you want to drop off your bags early or leave them while you do some more sightseeing. There aren't very many though, so could be full at busy times. Reception are helpful and it's great that they're open 24 hours.

For a family of four (2 adults and 2 children, like us), a well-priced Premier Inn or similar might be a much more comfortable and pleasant option though, to be honest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thegreenkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

2 of my friends and I stayed at this hostel from a Friday to Sunday. The whole place smells of stale air and damp. The toilets stank and looked like they had not been cleaned for months. We tried to use them as little as possible. The room was ok, very basic. The toilets and shower were just outside our room so we kept waking up in the night by people using the toilet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

great place and friendly staff.
quiet area of London, but still central. 5 minutes walk to underground and interner cafe. big and well fournished kitchen. bed toilet and showers clean. Staff very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: 6 beds bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline H, Manager at YHA London Earl's Court, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Frederic, thanks for your great comments, especially about our staff (I'll make sure to pass this onto them). Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The sign outside here states that it's a 4* hostel...I'm not convinced it is. I've stayed in a lot of hostels, some of them better than expected and some just foul. This is in between but I would never have guessed it was a YHA. To me YHAs are that little bit more expensive but the standards are higher. Everything in here needs refurbishing. Downstairs was adequate but the bedrooms looked as though they hadn't been improved for 20 years and the bathrooms disgusting.

I wouldn't refuse to go here again but at £25 a night each for me and my partner, I'd prefer to spend £20 extra and get a travelodge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've spent a lot of nights in YHA places over the years, I'm glad this wasn't my first experience. They run a strange bed allocation system which seems to do nothing but cause distress and confusion. I was told to sleep in bed 1, there was someone in it. I slept in a different bed, came back to the hostel the next night to find someone in the bed I'd slept in the night before and someone in the bed I was supposed to be in. Reception didn't know what to do about this except to keep telling me I had to go and sleep in one of the occupied beds! Eventually got it sorted. The people waiting behind me had a similar issue and a new chap booking in was informed that while he would be in the same room for his four night stay he would have to move bed each night. Complete waste of everybody's time and must cost a fortune in uneccessary laundry. Staff not very friendly or helpful, particularly the manager. Room key card had to be recharged every other time I used it. Not enough electricity sockets. Corridors seriously need repainting.

The building is lovely and it has a garden, decent kitchen and two communal rooms. Shame about the management.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyNobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#133 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#44 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#26 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Earl's Court

Property: YHA London Earl's Court
Address: 38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Earl's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great backpackers hostel, the modern facilities in this lovely Victorian building make a convenient base for a cheap city break. Whether you’re in London to explore the attractions or just attending a gig at the nearby Olympia or Earls Court exhibition centres, the location is perfect. This west London Youth Hostel offers cheap accommodation near to the vibrant city centre. The area has a cosmopolitan feel and is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall - great for a weekend break ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA London Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Earl`s Court Yha Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing