We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throw in the Towel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #144 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Throw in the Towel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was fine, clean, modern and comfortable bed. The only exception being a redundant chaise longue which looked poor quality and had the same elastic qualities as a trampoline when you sat on it. Location is good, close to the Shard, Tower Bridge and just over the river from Tower of London. 10 minute walk from London Bridge, the nearest tube station.

There were two major flaws with our stay, one due to hotel group policy and one with poor service at the hotel. We both had a shower on our first morning and left our towels on the rail in the bathroom as indicated to demonstrate that we wanted to be eco-friendly and keep the same towels rather than have them replaced. It wasn't until the next morning when already showering that I noticed the towels on the rail had been replaced despite our indication to the contrary. And it was only when I picked up the towel to dry myself that I found it's proportions had shrunk somewhat and they had downsized us from bath towels to hand towels. A minor inconvenience but not good attention to detail from the hotel. When checking out we mentioned the towels to be told that they had a problem yesterday with a shortage of towels, this said with a perfunctory sorry and a shrug of the shoulders that suggested it wasn't of great importance to them. It doesn't say much for the management of the hotel if they run out of towels and why when they were running short of towels they would decide to replace ours despite not wanting them replaced.

The other issue is with breakfast, or rather the Premier Inn policy of cheekily trying to add on breakfasts to our bill without us noticing. We booked the room online and confirmed we didn't want breakfast. We then checked in online a couple of days before our stay and again had to confirm we didn't want breakfasts. On getting to our hotel and picking up our room key at the automated check in machine we were asked about breakfast once again, except this time we found that breakfast had automatically been added to our itinerary and we had to deselect it. I'm sure that Premier Inn would come out with some marketing speak about this giving the consumer the choice but really it just looks like they're trying to catch people out as we nearly didn't notice the breakfasts had been added and we had to deselect them. It's nice of them to be concerned about our wellbeing and being keen to ensure we get a good breakfast but we are adults and don't need to be asked three times if we want breakfast. Besides Borough Market is only 10 minutes away with a plethora of great breakfast options for less than Premier Inn charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jervis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    1,042
    231
    53
    35
See reviews for
1,363
767
73
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

this was a lovely hotel very clean and modern,the reception was very welcoming and helped me to book in as i had never done it before! the family room was a good size with kingsize bed and two single beds and air conditioning worked a treat! ideal for my families needs,it was very comfortable,the location was very easy to find only a short walk from the tower bridge, ideal location if you want to see the tower bridge and tower of london, nice area, would definitely go again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Receptionist at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review we really appreciate it. It is great to know that you liked the rooms and found them modern, any feedback we can get about the rooms is fantastic as we have recently been through a refurbishment. Also I am glad to know that the team on arrival welcomed you and made you feel comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nikita
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough for us. Rooms clean and comfortable, excellent couple of nights stay. Perfect location for tourists as only a 10 minute walk to Tower Bridge, and 15 from Tower of London. Most tourist attractions within easy reach of this hotel. Would definitely stay here again, probably the best Premier Inn I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Receptionist at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am delighted to know that you found the team here at Tower Bridge to be helpful and friendly towards you, as it is our aim to make sure the guest’s are provided with everything they may need to have a great stay. It is also great to know that you found that most of the attractions you wanted to see were in a good distance from the hotel.

Thank you for your review it is really appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nikita
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights from the 1st to the 5th August.. Check in went well, i pre paid and checked in on line as i travelled with my four children aged 10,8,6, and 4. We travelled with my parents also as being a larger family we couldnt all sleep in one room. We had room 401 over looking the road. Room was lovely and had enough room considering we had 3 beds. Road was noisy but it did not bother us as my girls will sleep through anything. On the Saturday morning we got up and went exploring and when we came back to the hotel later that evening i noticed that the bed side was hanging off the wall, so when we went down for dinner we mentioned it to the girls on reception and they ensured me it would be fixed the following morning or they would move us as it was dangerous with the children especially as my youngest is just 4. Sunday morning we got up had breakfast and went out again (We had lots planned to keep the kiddies entertained) Before leaving i mentioned to the reception staff that we were off out and the room would be empty so they could get it fixed.. We returned late afternoon went straight up to the room, walked in and i went straight into the bathroom to run the bath for the girls, whilst i was in the bathroom i noticed the soap dispenser was empty. I heard one of the girls say "that looks like glass" so i left the room and it was then i noticed that there was glass all over the floor in front of the door and shards went all through the room to the window.. I put the girls on the double bed and sent hubby down to reception where they then proceeded to tell him..It couldn't of been there when the cleaners "Cleaned" the room as three people check the rooms before they are handed back.. When i was told this i asked what did they mean? These 3 people failed not only to notice that there was glass all over my floor, but they also failed to notice that the bed side was still not fixed to the wall, that my soap dispensers were empty and that my beds hadn't been changed... I tried all that evening to speak to the duty manager but she was unavailable.. Very convenient.. The reception staff did send a member of staff up to re-vacuum the room and to re fill the soap dispensers. That evening after all the commotion we decided to have a few drinks in the bar.. The staff in the bar and dinner area were lovely and went out of their way to ensure we were catered for. I did feel sorry for the lady and gentleman on the bar as that evening they had no change.. It was a little busy, but the bar was short of change early in the evening so you can imagine what it was like by later that night. The card machines were also playing up at the same time.. Monday we popped in to Oxford Street for a few hours and when we returned the bed side had sort of been fixed.. By this i mean it was still wobbly but it had been siliconed back to the wall.. Tuesday when we checked out we spoke to Naomi on the reception and she did apologise for all the trouble we had but by then it was too little to late..

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for a room at the back of the hotel.. The road is very noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Team Leader at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
I would first and foremost like to apologise again on behalf of the entire team for the inconveniences experienced during your stay here with us at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge. It is our aim to always ensure our guests feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible so it is extremely disappointing to hear that we failed to do so on this occasion.

I can assure you that had the duty manager been available to deal with the issue she would have. Premier Inn as a brand treats the health and safety of our guests with the utmost importance and we would like to let you know that this complaint was not taken lightly. We have not only spoken to the housekeeping manager, but the entire housekeeping team and we can ensure you this will never happen again.

I would like to discuss the matter further with you. Please contact us at the following address:

groupspremierinnlondon.towerbridge@whitbread.com


Please accept our sincerest apologies once again. Despite this issue, I am happy to hear that you found our restaurant staff went the extra mile to make sure you were taken care of.

Warm regards,

Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location for Tower of London and walks along the Thames river. The hotel gives u great views of the Shad and other iconic buildings. About a 10 - 15 minute walk to tube station it's past the Tower of London - enjoy the views on the way. Plenty of places to eat if you do not want to eat at hotel.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Receptionist at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it. I am happy to know you were given a room with a nice view of the shard and you that you had an overall good stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nikita
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilton Marsh, Wilts, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our first stay with Premier Inn and we were delighted by the whole experience. Expected some city noise at night time but the room was very quiet and well ventilated, not hot at all considering it was a hot August. Breakfast great way to start the day and all had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Receptionist at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us and everything was up to your standards. As a team here at Tower Bridge we aim to make sure all guests are made to feel comfortable and we a delighted to know that we could do that for you to.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nikita
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We took a long weekend to London and stayed in the above hotel, I have read many reviews slating this type of hotel, so I was s bit worried, but the staff we're very friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and cool, the rooms were lovely, although we overlooked the car park I would of preferred to look over the street and watch the world go by, we slept soundly beds were extremely comfortable, not a bad word to say about this place.

Room Tip: Ask about views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairylisa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Receptionist at Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the team here to be friendly and helpful towards you. We aim to make sure our guest feel that they have had a great stay with us, I am more than happy to know that we could do that for you on this occasion. I am sorry about the view you had, next time you stay with us if you give us a call to let us know that you would like a room with a view and we will allocate you to one that will suit you.

We really hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nikita
Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,069 in London
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 159 Tower Bridge Road, London SE1 3LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Best Value Hotel in London
#87 Family Hotel in London
#95 Romantic Hotel in London
#150 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the historic Tower of London, the riverside Design Museum and arty Bermondsey Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel London
London Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing