We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't recommend enough! :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's Inn Greenwich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Ranked #176 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't recommend enough! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Had an absolutely fantastic trip. Rang the hostel the morning of my arrival in London to make sure all was ok. Arrived just over an hour later to check-in and the barman actually recognised me from my phone call and called me by my name! Very friendly and helpful service. Had lunch and then was given extremely helpful and accurate directions to the nearest bank before checking in. Room was VERY clean, sheets felt and looked clean. Room had 6 beds and a full-length mirror, a bin, some chairs, a notice board with tourist info and vouchers and also lockable cages under the beds for valuables. Also the rooms are key-card operated which is an extra comfort. There is also a separate post-2am entry gate at the side of the building - very handy. They offer a free breakfast of cereal and toast from 7am until about 10am I think. I never availed of it as i was always up too late, but they had a Full English Breakfast for £3!!! And they also give 10% off everything else on the menu with your "beds and bars card." Also, when you leave, they let you keep the beds ad bars card and you can then get 10% off the next time you book accommodation with them. :) All in all, a fantastic trip - staff were excellent, facilities while basic were absolutely spotless and could not be faulted - often walked about in my bare feet! Food was really good, and prices also very reasonable. Would recommend to anyone! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    28
    14
    18
See reviews for
5
12
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Firstly a hostel should be a cheap place to stay overnight – and that it is. The Rooms are small, but beds were quite okay. The feeling to sleep above a pub and going down and to be right inside is great, the food downstairs is excellent as well. But the free breakfast was a bit lets say "simple". When I stayed there it was noisy till the middle of the night, cause there was a party going on. But I expected that, since it was Friday. The area, Greenwich, is super nice, with a quick connection to the City through the DLR. I would definitely stay there again when I'm looking for a nice and cheap place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

they do lots of annoying things Throbbing Disco Sat night Everything scarce no proper utensils lots of things broken to where womeone has a laptop stolen because security door broken.

Nice location peaceful staff less thatn friendly at times and do not seem to like the work. Foreign staff not entirely nice.

Seem to be trying to do stuff on the cheap to the guests' detriment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaulicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This place has rats, stinks, and is extremely dirty. The bar is very noisy at night and you can't get any sleep because even the beds vibrate and the staff couldn't care less. There is no kitchen and the lockers are EXTREMELY expensive. There is NO security for your valuables here without paying almost more than you do for the room! This place was just AWFUL, and I couldn't stay longer than two days without having to just leave and find someone else. Do NOT go here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

I stayed here for a night and I have to say that I'm quite satisfied considering that this is my first time staying in hostel anywhere. I was skeptical about it at first because the ratings, but it was opposite of what I read. The staff who work at Belushi's are wonderful people and they take care of you and make you feel at home. The hostel itself is standard and don't expect luxury of course. It's worth it for the price you pay. Though it's not in Central London, you can easily access it by rail and tube. Greenwich the town is quaint and nice, so taking a stroll through here isn't a bad alternative. I highly suggest staying here and I enjoyed the other people in my dorm room. This is all subjective of course, but be advised that you make your experience what it is. So come with an open mind and willingness to learn. Free breakfast is a plus too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaysonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Were to start? The staff seemed uninterested when we first arrived eventually giving us our rooms. The rooms themselves were bog standard but are not the same as the pictures on google so don't be fooled. The best bit was when at 10 in the evening the bar downstairs decided to start playing incredibly loud music so loud that I could hear all the words to Lady Gaga's poker face perfectly. At which point one of the other people in the room came in and informed me that this happened the night before and he didn't get to sleep until 2:30am when the music went off. The chap that had come up had asked at the bar if the music could be turned down and he was informed that they made more money from the bar than from the hostel so it wasn't really important.

So don't go hear if you want to sleep. But I would recommend the Novotel across the road; excellent staff, amazing rooms but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marathonbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

Friendly and inexpensive. Did I say friendly! What I meant to say St. Christopher's was friendly!!! Hostels are a great value. Greenwich is a very beautiful town capturing the very essence of England with a great view of London! After Edinburgh, Greenwich would be my next choice to live in the UK. The bag pipes are a callin'! Greenwich is the place for geographers! Sorry for the pun.

Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChiefDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#407 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#397 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
St. Alfeges
St. Alfeges
#152 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Greenwich
The King William Hotel
The King William Hotel
#245 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Greenwich

Property: St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Address: St. Christophers Inn 189 Greenwich High Road, London SE10 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Greenwich 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel is located in South East London - just ten-minutes away from London Bridge on the over-ground train service - this is a great chill out location with plenty to see and do. Top local attractions include the Royal Observatory - the home of the Prime Meridian Line where time is set and where you can actually straddle the east and west hemispheres! You'll find the observatory on the mound in the lush surrounds of Greenwich Park, offering stunning views over the skyscrapers of the financial district, the historic Cutty Sark tea clipper ship, the National Maritime Museum and much more - all within easy reach of this top London hostel. You'll find St Christopher's Inn Youth Hostel, Greenwich conveniently located in the forecourt of Greenwich station, connected to both the London over-ground train network and the Docklands Light Railway. The hostel is just above the Belushi's bar and restaurant, which offers all guests a great selection of food and drinks. On top of all this you can explore the Greenwich foot tunnel under the River Thames, see a big gig at the O2 Arena in North Greenwich and take a ride on the Emirates Airline Cable Car - London's first ever funicular, all from from this top youth hostel in London! With friendly staff, comfy beds and the best attractions in the city on your doorstep, you can't go wrong with St Christopher's Inn, Greenwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing