We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Ranked #195 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for a few nights at end of October and were really disappointed with this place. Besides being quite out of the way (unless you really want to stay in Greenwich) it was quite bad. First of all they tried to overcharge us when we made the payment - although it was obvious we booked online and already paid 10%, they tried to charge us the 10% again. Then, since check-in is not allowed until 2pm we wanted to leave our luggage there for a few hours and we discovered that the only luggage storage they have is paid!! You need to pay 2-3 pounds for a few hours if you want to use their lockers...
After we manage to check in and get our beds in the dorm, we found our beds un-cleaned. We needed to call them to clean the beds. And apparently that's the general case not the exception, as some other people that checked-in next days had same problem. Besides not cleaning the beds, they barely ever clean anything in the dorms or the shared bathrooms which get quite filthy. The showers work very bad - have to push a button and after that you get water for about 10-15 seconds, out of which 5 seconds is quite cold.
To top it all up, on our last day there a guy in our room lost his key lock and asked a staff member to break into the locker. The staff was really happy to do it without even asking anybody else if indeed that was that guy's locker!!! That says a lot about the safety of the place.
I would never stay there again! There are much cleaner, better places in central London which are just a little bit more expensive!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

would reccomend this as a party hostel, because of the bar downstairs and the music they were playing. Toilets could have been cleaner but not the worst we've seen. The lockers under the bed were spacey and accessable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emblasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nothing bad to report here I'm glad to say - the hostel is quite close to Greenwich DLR so is handy for getting around London and also out to London City Airport, which is why we chose to stay there. We arrived late and were checked in quickly once the group in front of us were sorted. We had one of the 8 bedded dorms, they are all numbered and you are allocated your bunk number at check in. As it was a Wednesday night and we had a super early start the next morning, we were grateful for sharing the room with considerate travellers. No-one came busting in making noise or turning lights on. There was 1 bin in the room and a few power outlets so a few of us were able to charge phones etc at the same time. The toilet area was a bit dirty and they don't seem to want to flush properly, but the showers worked fine and served their purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A pint of Sagres in the bar was like vinegar. Neither the barman nor his mate seemed to care much. Since this stuff lasts for a month in the keg, it must be down to filthy un-cleaned beer lines.And that's a pointer to rat poo and dead mice in the kitchen .... so I passed on the food. Avoid like the plague unless you're as broke as a 419 scammer with tourets.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MikeySELON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Originally I had rated this hostel a 3 because I thought it was just average. But after seeing some other hostels in Europe, I realized my standards had been too high and that St. Christopher's is really great for a hostel.

First off, it took me a while to find the place, because the bottom floor is literally just a bar called Belushi's, with a St. Christopher's sign hanging on the corner. You have to ask at the bar for reception. Then you get a free beer and someone is kind enough to carry your bag up for you since there is no elevator (it's an old building with thin, winding stairs). Don't worry though - at night when the bar is fuller, the door to the hostel is locked and can only be opened by key card, so you don't have to worry about drunk locals stumbling in.

I stayed in an 8-bed dorm (it was officially "mixed" but I didn't share the room with another girl except for one night of my 9-night stay) which was alright. The beds aren't attached to the walls so they're a bit wobbly when you climb to the top, and you can lose items down the side when you're sleeping - a bit of a pain since there is no shelf or anything to use as a bedside table. There were two outlets in the room but only one worked. Since it's an old building, the window didn't really close properly. It was enough to keep out the rain, but you could still clearly hear everything happening on the street. There are cages under the beds (though the bed in the corner didn't room have room for a second one) where you can lock your belongings up (bring your own padlock). However, if your bag doesn't fit in the cages, there is not really a good space to leave it lying around without inconveniencing someone.

Bathrooms and showers are mixed as well. And since this isn't a youth hostel, it can be a bit unsettling as a girl when you're suddenly standing at the bathroom sink next to a middle-aged man. But on the whole, the mixed factor wasn't too bad. Of the four toilets, one had no toilet seat and another seat broke during my time there, which was a bit inconvenient. I saw that people were cleaning the bathrooms every day, but it seemed like the garbage cans were always full and the mirrors are stained, making them a bit hard to use. I'm not sure if I was just stupidly using them incorrectly because they weren't shaped like regular British plug-ins, but there didn't appear to be any working outlets in the bathrooms. Showers were basic but the stalls are nice and big. The water was hot and strong enough to wash my long hair. There were only four stalls for about 50 people, yet I never had any problems with not having a free shower.

The staff were always super friendly and helpful, though it sounded like they were a bit understaffed and so you could tell when they were stressed from working too much. The atmosphere at Belushi's is not bad and the food was okay. It's not exactly the most hopping bar in London and they don't have much good beer. I tried most of the appetizers there (all under 6 pounds, so good if you're on a budget) and they were quite good. The bar does get really noisy (mostly just from the music) on weekends and holidays and you can feel and hear it in the rooms upstairs. I never had a problem sleeping through most of it, but I can understand if that would turn people off from wanting to stay here.

Location is excellent. It is literally right next to the train station and DLR tube line. Buy an Oyster card, it pays for itself in no time, and you can get to London Bridge station in 5-10 minutes. Some trains go farther to Cannon Street or Charing Cross where you can change to the District or Circle lines that bring you to most of the touristy places in London. Be warned though, the description on the site says the hostel is "a stone's throw" from the O2 Arena (one of the reasons I stayed there, since I was going to a show at the O2) but it's actually quite complicated and rather long to get there, since you have to switch to the Jubilee tube line. Maybe it would have been easier taking the bus.

All in all, I survived 10 days in London while staying at this hostel. Not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have arrived for with our group for 2 week stay at 12 am and our room was not ready. The receptionist advised us to put the luggage to the safe place with a camera where only the people with authorisation can enter. However two hours later when we came back, three of our luggage’s disappeared. I have spent all the rest of day on the police station, a great start of the stay. And hostel never felt responsible for what happened and never gave me any compensation. So please be careful at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauricioMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Let's be clear. This is a hostel, it is not a hotel and as such it seems unfair to judge iton those standards. It is cheap but as such you lose a lot of the creature comforts you become used to. The staff were all lovely (even if the security on the door of an evening was a bit narky) and willing to help any way possible.

The showers were basic as were the toilets but were reasonably clean. The twin room we'd booked was basic only one power socket thats not near the mirror.

The one aspect of this place that makes it not for me is the noise. The bar downstairs has music till 2am on both a Fri and a Sat. Forget earplugs, they'll not help when the whole bunk is reverberating with the excessive bass from the speakers below. The place is never quiet and there are always people coming and going. If you're planning to be out all night or you're a very heavy sleeper then you won't mind all of this.

Breakfast was basic but enough to get you going until you founds somewhere decent for a mid morning drink and snack.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top, it seems to be a bit quieter there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaraHopscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#157 of 923 in London
291 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 923 in London
2,142 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#31 of 923 in London
1,225 reviews
Home London
#508 of 923 in London
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Greenwich

Address: St. Christophers Inn 189 Greenwich High Road, London SE10 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £11 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Greenwich 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel is located in South East London - just ten-minutes away from London Bridge on the over-ground train service - this is a great chill out location with plenty to see and do. Top local attractions include the Royal Observatory - the home of the Prime Meridian Line where time is set and where you can actually straddle the east and west hemispheres! You'll find the observatory on the mound in the lush surrounds of Greenwich Park, offering stunning views over the skyscrapers of the financial district, the historic Cutty Sark tea clipper ship, the National Maritime Museum and much more - all within easy reach of this top London hostel. You'll find St Christopher's Inn Youth Hostel, Greenwich conveniently located in the forecourt of Greenwich station, connected to both the London over-ground train network and the Docklands Light Railway. The hostel is just above the Belushi's bar and restaurant, which offers all guests a great selection of food and drinks. On top of all this you can explore the Greenwich foot tunnel under the River Thames, see a big gig at the O2 Arena in North Greenwich and take a ride on the Emirates Airline Cable Car - London's first ever funicular, all from from this top youth hostel in London! With friendly staff, comfy beds and the best attractions in the city on your doorstep, you can't go wrong with St Christopher's Inn, Greenwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing