We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont believe the Booking you make!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel - Bayswater
Ranked #1,020 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Negombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont believe the Booking you make!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Having booked and paid for a twin room in Bayswater at the Apollo, we were shocked and dismayed to be told on arrival that there was no room!! We were given a printed page of directions to another Hotel near S Kensington! No explanation given, no offer of help to pay the GBP10 taxi fare to get to the next hotel, just an apology and a request to leave!!! Judging by the speedy production of the directions I guess this change of location must happen regularly. We never saw the rooms at Apollo- the alternative was clean and adequate BUT, it was not in Bayswater where we had chosen to stay!! Friends are located nearby and that`s why we chose Bayswater and the Apollo. To arrive and be told to move 3 miles away is totally unacceptable. Other families and small groups were also having the same trouble and expensive re-location. This was all booked through `The Olotels team`- which in my opinion should be regarded as the O no lotels as they have ON0location consideration for their guests and an Offyougolo attitude to the difficult situation guests find themselves in when they sell rooms that are not available! Avoid this group at all costs- provided by trivago

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    49
    142
    145
    490
See reviews for
195
251
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After reading all the reviews I really thought I had made a big mistake. On arrival, the receptionist was one of the friendliest people I have met. We went to our rooms and they weren't The Ritz, but (come on) we hadn't paid Ritz prices! The beds were clean, the bathroom spotless and the towels were fine. We had enough hot water (we were a group of 9 with 3 rooms) and we didn't intend to go all the way to London to spend all our time in a hotel room! The breakfast was plentiful, you really could eat as much as you liked- the coffee, especially, was good. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again for a budget break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesseneck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the Apollo Hotel in London (Bayswater) from the 16.08.2013 – 22.08.2013 (6 nights).
We arrived in the morning at 10am and had to wait till 15am although the travel agency said check in is at 11am. A nuisance thing. Our room was care-lesly furnished but very clean. We had no hair dryer although the hotel promised one. The breakfast was ok, croissants and milk rolls with salty butter and marmalade in addition with water and orange juice. The London city was quickly reached. The service cleaned the room every day, we got fresh towels and new sheets. Also positive were the elevator and the balcony we had. Negative things at this hotel were the very high price for the Wifi and the employees which were not interested in our questions and problems. The manager of the hotel was very committed to ensure the comfort and welfare for us. This was very nice.
All in all the Apollo Hotel is ok. We would recommend the hotel for students with low claims – P.S should it burn in this hotel you are in good hands ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

As we were only staying for one night, we weren't overly fussed as to the quality of the hotel. All we needed was somewhere to sleep and have a shower, and in fairness it did provide that, but nothing else. The receptionist was hardly ever there and when we waited at the desk, we waited for nearly 5 minutes before being served each time. No bell meant we couldn't get his attention as he often wasn't anywhere near the desk. Although he was friendly and reasonably polite, it did feel as though we were taking up his valuable time. The room was not impressive by any means. All that was good was that it had an (only just) clean bed and a working shower. The TV didn't work and we had to move the kettle for it to be plugged in to work. The cupboards and wardrobe were in a poor condition, with the veneer peeling away in several areas. The windows did little to keep the outside noise to a minimum, and struggled to shut properly. There was mould and mildew in the bathroom, and the skirtingboards were peeling away, and the bathroom door was being propped open by a chair as it shut itself without it. Breakfast was quite poor, only having cornflakes or a croissant for choice. No toast or anything cooked. Although the eating area was acceptable (despite being in the basement), the person managing the area was far from friendly. No greeting when we walked in, and when I accidentally nudged him trying to get past, I apologised and got a cold stare of disgust and annoyance back. Hardly hospitable. Overall, we were not impressed with the service and experience in general, but it was (just) acceptable for our needs. We certainly would not consider returning however.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were only staying one night, so my expectations were a clean bed, good sleep. We had neither. Bed didn't feel or smell clean; people out in the streets remained drinking and talking into the early hours. Couldn't close window because there was no air conditioning. I thought the front desk staff was helpful when they arranged for transportation from airport, I later learned that I was overcharged about 15 euros. I should've known when I was paying the front desk clerk instead of the taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Overall, it is a place to fall into a bed after having a hard day. If you're not so tired you start feeling a bad mattress with springs coming out here and there. We were 5 and the room had 6 beds to sleep but no space to go between your bags an beds. Drawer without shelves, so you have to keep all your things in your bags.
What is good: towels are changed every day, beds are arranged every day, quite clean. Guys on reception were affable: despite they were our brothers, they communicated with us very good knowing that we are from Israel. Location is very convenient to come to Hyde park and underground.
Breakfast is acceptable for this level of hotel.
What I learned - if you do not have to be close to the city center, it's preferable to get apartments or hotel for less money taking 20-30 minute to arrive to central London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I totally agreed with the other reviews pointing out the problems of the door and it's lock, the TV and the cleanness of the hotel. When I opened the door of the room, it's as hot as on fire. There's an awful smell coming out from the toilet, it didn't go away as you turn the exhaust fans on, and I couldn't imagine why it's so stinky until the third night.... I was staying on the 5th floor and the window couldn't be opened because there's a wall outside the window!!! When the sunlight came in the room, I can see dust floating in the air and couldn't get out of the room while the window blocked and no fresh air convect.
I finally realize why the toilet kept smelling stinky after I flushed the toilet on the third night, the toilet and bath sink are in the same pipe....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanau_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Hotel 65
#745 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#718 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#630 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#849 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Troy Hotel
#588 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel - Bayswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel - Bayswater

Property: Apollo Hotel - Bayswater
Address: 64 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,020 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollo Hotel - Bayswater 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel London Featuring affordable accommodations in the heart of central London, the Apollo Hotel located right on the border of London's magnificent Hyde Park. Guests at Apollo Hotel Bayswater could not ask for a better location, wit the tube stations at Queensway and Bayswater both close by, between them serving the Circle, District and Central Lines to destinations such as Westminster, the Tower of London, Notting Hill, St Paul's Cathedral and Kings Cross. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished, equipped with modern amenities such as private bathroom facilities, Colour TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi Internet Access (charges apply) and 24hr reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Apollo Hotel in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel - Bayswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bayswater
Apollo Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing