We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgraceful!!!! ***DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL***”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel - Bayswater
Ranked #1,020 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disgraceful!!!! ***DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL***”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This place is an absolute dump. Noisy. Smelly. Uncomfortable. Insects and rodents everywhere. In addition, the staff, managers and owners are all cheats. Be careful handing over your money to these people. I paid up front for a week in good faith, yet could not get to sleep, owing to noisy radiators, choking all night. Noise from the external ventilation keeping me awake, And the noise from rodents (probably rats) scurrying around. I checked out after the first night, as it was impossible to stay here. Impossible to sleep. The hotel refused point blank to refund my money, even though I had good cause. I will be seeking legal advise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    49
    142
    145
    489
See reviews for
194
251
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This 'hotel' almost ruined the whole weekend for us! The beds were so old, uncomfortable, torn and stained. The room was freezing even though we put the heat at maximum. The receptionist was completely useless and unserviceminded. They mixed up our reservation and then put the blame on us. If the room wouldnt have been pre-paid we would have left there and then. The other guests were really noisy and shady.. and the locks on the doors are just for show. Only good things: good location, clean surfaces.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 112swedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, 4 the most uncomfortable nights of my life. The mattress was poor and flat pillows even worse, my back has never been so sore and I'm an healthy young adult! Our room was located in the ground floor and we could hear every noise there was to hear: from water flushing in the pipes, the groaning of the boiler, noises from the upstairs and breakfast room- earplugs had to be worn if you wanted to sleep.
The staff was very rude- you had to pay for anything extra (hairdryer, for leaving your luggage after check-out) without telling it beforehand. Nobody greeted us and when checked-in they took our self-printed confirmation (the same document also had all my personal details and our e-tickets to flight...)
The cleanliness was ok but what was really astonishing that there were no soap in the bathroom and you had to buy it for yourself if you wanted to wash your hands (duh).
I know that the hotel was low quality one and it was cheap- but come on, soap and hospitality don't cost much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 15Tia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We made the mistake of paying in advance for several days in this very poor excuse for a hotel. This dump did not even provide soap other than tiny unwrapped bars handed over the counter at reception. Of course there was no hair dryer - there was no shampoo. There was only one towel in the room unless we requested a second. The sheets were not changed until we asked. The room door did not have a deadbolt lock. Cracked tiles, dust balls, a window with a sill 5 feet above the floor (i.e. no view).

Continental breakfast was the same collection of second rate buns and croissants and something like corn flakes everyday.

This is either the worst hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in or perhaps more accurately a youth hostel.

I blame Air Canada for booking us in this excuse for a hotel. It will never happen again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Having booked and paid for a twin room in Bayswater at the Apollo, we were shocked and dismayed to be told on arrival that there was no room!! We were given a printed page of directions to another Hotel near S Kensington! No explanation given, no offer of help to pay the GBP10 taxi fare to get to the next hotel, just an apology and a request to leave!!! Judging by the speedy production of the directions I guess this change of location must happen regularly. We never saw the rooms at Apollo- the alternative was clean and adequate BUT, it was not in Bayswater where we had chosen to stay!! Friends are located nearby and that`s why we chose Bayswater and the Apollo. To arrive and be told to move 3 miles away is totally unacceptable. Other families and small groups were also having the same trouble and expensive re-location. This was all booked through `The Olotels team`- which in my opinion should be regarded as the O no lotels as they have ON0location consideration for their guests and an Offyougolo attitude to the difficult situation guests find themselves in when they sell rooms that are not available! Avoid this group at all costs- provided by trivago

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After reading all the reviews I really thought I had made a big mistake. On arrival, the receptionist was one of the friendliest people I have met. We went to our rooms and they weren't The Ritz, but (come on) we hadn't paid Ritz prices! The beds were clean, the bathroom spotless and the towels were fine. We had enough hot water (we were a group of 9 with 3 rooms) and we didn't intend to go all the way to London to spend all our time in a hotel room! The breakfast was plentiful, you really could eat as much as you liked- the coffee, especially, was good. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again for a budget break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesseneck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the Apollo Hotel in London (Bayswater) from the 16.08.2013 – 22.08.2013 (6 nights).
We arrived in the morning at 10am and had to wait till 15am although the travel agency said check in is at 11am. A nuisance thing. Our room was care-lesly furnished but very clean. We had no hair dryer although the hotel promised one. The breakfast was ok, croissants and milk rolls with salty butter and marmalade in addition with water and orange juice. The London city was quickly reached. The service cleaned the room every day, we got fresh towels and new sheets. Also positive were the elevator and the balcony we had. Negative things at this hotel were the very high price for the Wifi and the employees which were not interested in our questions and problems. The manager of the hotel was very committed to ensure the comfort and welfare for us. This was very nice.
All in all the Apollo Hotel is ok. We would recommend the hotel for students with low claims – P.S should it burn in this hotel you are in good hands ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Hotel 65
#745 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#717 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#627 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#849 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Britannia Inn
#7 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Troy Hotel
#581 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel - Bayswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel - Bayswater

Property: Apollo Hotel - Bayswater
Address: 64 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,020 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollo Hotel - Bayswater 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel London Featuring affordable accommodations in the heart of central London, the Apollo Hotel located right on the border of London's magnificent Hyde Park. Guests at Apollo Hotel Bayswater could not ask for a better location, wit the tube stations at Queensway and Bayswater both close by, between them serving the Circle, District and Central Lines to destinations such as Westminster, the Tower of London, Notting Hill, St Paul's Cathedral and Kings Cross. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished, equipped with modern amenities such as private bathroom facilities, Colour TV, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi Internet Access (charges apply) and 24hr reception. We look forward to welcoming you to the Apollo Hotel in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel - Bayswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Bayswater
Apollo Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing