We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable, Average Hotel”
Review of The Kingsway Hotel

The Kingsway Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #727 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suitable, Average Hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Luckily was able to find a hotel last minute for an event in London, otherwise I would not have booked this particular hotel.
Its location is very good, 5 minutes from Paddington station and Hyde Park, so easily accessible to the tube and other national rail services.
On arrival to the hotel, the reception desk was unmanned and we were waiting quite a while with no way of getting any attention (bell etc.). The staff however were very pleasant and helpful. Booking last minute we were not put in the rooms of the Kingsway but of the next door hotel rooms - the Admiral. We were the top floor, There are a huge amount of stairs and they are steep. The rooms are okay, nothing special and reasonably small. This is average for a 3 star and the quality of the beds/sheets are not good, particularly uncomfortable. The bathroom was okay, very small, the washing basin leaked and the shower pressure was not great. However the stuff in the room was good, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi and flat screen TV. Thank god for the standing fan placed in the room, because it was so warm and would have been unbearable.
Breakfast was nice - not much option and the cooked breakfast was acceptable. Most of it is served yourself but you do not have an option for the cooked breakfast regarding what you would like.
Overall my stay was average, reasonably cheap for what we got and the fact we booked so last minute, but had I planned this stay I would have chosen somewhere else.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie_rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed overnight to attend a concert. Location is great by all means! Short walk to Paddington Station, Hyde Park, Lancaster Gate Tube Station, among other places. Check in was rough. The guy seemed like he had better stuff he would rather be doing. We got issued a key to someone else's room. We walked in and realized someone had been in there, on our way out we were stopped to advise we were given the wrong room. Uncomforting to know that the room was already in use and we were just given a key. The staircase is extremely narrow, there are no elevators, and we were on the fourth floor. The en suite bathroom is really tiny! I think the commuter trains have bigger toilets. The room itself wasn't bad. I have a thing for checking the bedsheets upon arrivel for cleanliness, they def passed! Ferrero Rocher chocolates were left in the room. Nice touch! Except, they came in after we left to place them in the room. Overall, not a terrible place, but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The location of this Hotel is the biggest selling point. Good English Breakfast with great staff, We were on the 4th (3rd in Brittan) floor. Stairs were narrow and difficult to negotiate with luggage. The 4 person room we were in was tiny, with no space for suitcases - had to use precious floor space. The Bathroom was even smaller. The ventilation was poor and resulted in an uncomfortably warm room with 4 people in it. We were, when another room became available, moved to a basement room in an associated hotel which was slightly large in both room and the bathroom was much more appropriate for adults. WIFI was not available in the 4th floor room. Looking at some of the other reviews, the one mentioning 6th floor and the one mentioning big rooms may be review of the wrong hotel - only 4 floors here and rooms were not big at all in our experience.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor or 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil111455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Its location by far outweighs other negative points. Its located 2 minutes walking distance from Paddington station (underground and railway services). The staff were not as friendly and helpful as I expected from Londoners. Price is a big issue.
Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalidtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Well placed hotel, with good breakfast facility but expensive @40.00 a head
The air con was hopeless in the room and it was an executive room, so it was an uncomfortable stay,
I don't think we would use it again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harleyfatboy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Whilst this was a nice hotel in a good area, Please be warned that there are a few night clubs/lap dancing clubs, directly arcoss the road at the front of the hotel. Whilst we were on the 6th FLoor, with all windows shut, we could not sleep for the roudy noise from midnight to 3.30 am in the morning which happened on both nights we stayed there. Whilst i complained to the hotel they just tolds me that, i should next time request a room at the back of the hotel. They did offer me a room upgrade on my next stay which i declined- EVEN PREMIER INNS give you a full refund if you do not get a good nights sleep- VERY POOR I THOUGHT

Room Tip: Coose a room at the back of hotel to see you sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

This is not a 3 star hotel. The general level of cleanliness in this establishment is not very high. The bedspread was quite grubby and for the entire length of our stay -3 nights- there was a bathroom towel on the floor just outside our room.

The reception staff were polite enough, in their own way, but a request to change our double bed to 2 twins - as requested when we had booked - was met with inaction. Actually we had booked to stay at the Admiral, a few doors down, but apparently the 2 hotels are run by the same people. Another guest informed me that the Admiral was just as bad as this hotel.

The breakfast was adequate and the location was fine. It would be a reasonable hotel - for London - if the proprietors just cleaned it more thoroughly!

  • Liked — proximity to public transport
  • Disliked — general uncleanliness of hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#663 of 1,067 in London
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#644 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#594 of 1,067 in London
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#561 of 1,067 in London
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#649 of 1,067 in London
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsway Hotel

Property: The Kingsway Hotel
Address: 27 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, London W2 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #727 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing