We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #586 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was first given a room in the front of the hotel, on a sunny warm day. The room was large (by European standards) but stifling, and opening the windows (no AC) admitted lots of noise, more heat, and diesel exhaust.

The staff graciously allowed me to change to a room on the garden side, which was much smaller but quiet and cool, with an attractive garden outside the window.

The breakfast was average.

The bed (which was okay) had six decorative pillows on it, as well as two sleeping pillows. Clearing them off used up almost all of the empty space in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the garden side in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHLRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    248
    140
    65
    40
See reviews for
72
244
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked 5 rooms for two nights for a celebration of my birthday, we had a fabulous stay. All the rooms were great, 3 doubles, 1 twin and 1 single. Had a good deal as booked early online. We had breakfast included for the first night, as we were a party of nine they laid us up a table in the garden, the service was excellent and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. My Mum had arranged a surprise cake and champagne to be brought out to the garden in the afternoon, which was fab, the hotel organised it very well. Overall we had a great time, the Hotel is very central, we were able to walk to most places we wanted to go, Covent garden, Shaftesbury Avenue etc.
Would recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melap00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location is fantastic but that is the only good thing about this hotel. Starting with tiny room, no air conditioning (not great for summer in the UK - yes I am surprised as well but it does exist) and generally crappy service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is adjacent to the British Museum, on a quiet street, with nearby access to the Underground, and also easy walking to the theater districts (West End, Soho). The rooms are small, but that is not unusual for London. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If not included in your room cost, the breakfasts are rather overpriced, as you can eat for about half price in cafes about 5 minutes walk. The charge for WiFi is somewhat exorbitant, but many hotels, including in the U.S., seem to view it as a cash cow, much like in-room telephone access. We've stayed there before despite the minor downsides, and will probably stay there again because of its location & the friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back garden, as the rooms facing the street will be subject to street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently stayed here for the one night and enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed tea and biscuits in the garden while we waited for our room to be ready to check into. The room was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was a reasonable size. The shower was very good both morning and evening with plenty of hot water. It is in an ideal location in very pleasant surroundings with the underground being just 5 minutes away. We did not have breakfast so I can not comment on this. We were in the front and it was a little noisy when the refuge was collected on the Saturday morning although as we were already awake we were just more surprised than anything that this was happening on a Saturday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapphireseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times, each time is very pleasant. The staff are all very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, although some of the en suite bathrooms can be a little 'cosy'!! The British Museum is on the doorstep and at the other end of the road is Russell Square park where you can spend an enjoyable time either walking or watching the world go by at the cafe with the very friendly squirrels. Trafalgar Square is a ten minute stroll away, leading the way to the shops. The hotel also has a lovely garden to the rear; afternoon tea can be enjoyed after a strenuous shopping trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#575 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#462 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#286 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#562 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#580 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#674 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#350 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing