We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grange white hall hotel in july.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #584 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“grange white hall hotel in july.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

my friend and i stayed there for 8 nights and enjoyed our stay at the hotel in general. the beds were comfy, and the tub/shower was lovely. however, there was no wash cloth and the tub was hard to to get and out of due to to it's high placement. a towel rack would of been nice, but the bath towels were really big and nice. we were there in july and it was hot...no fan or air cond. in the room, so we had to leave the window's open, which let in flys(no screens)and noise at night from the street below(lots of partiers on their way home) . the location was nice as it's a short walk to the tubes and right around the corner from the British Museum(a must). the continental breakfast could be been better(no fresh fruit), but the room they served it in was lovely. plus they had a nice garden/yard you could eat in if you wished. the staff were also helpful and the bar was tiny but had everything you could want.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamaidsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    255
    149
    68
    41
See reviews for
73
251
29
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at a hotel 5 minutes from here a month before we stayed here, for the same price give or take a couple of pounds, so expected the same kind of standard. Sadly not...

I love the area - it's an easy walk from St Pancras or Euston Square, and is generally quiet and peaceful, but a 15 minute walk to Covent Garden and livelier areas.

Opened the door to our room and it was tiny - room enough for the double bed and not a whole lot else. Biggest disappointment was no aircon - the similarly priced hotel that we stayed in before had aircon, so wrongly assumed that this might be usual for the price bracket. But no - in our tiny room with the window wide open (thankfully overlooking the rear so it was quiet) we slowly roasted. Usual story of overpriced breakfast (just walk in any direction for 5-10 minutes and you'll find better offerings) and expensive wifi.

Overall probably would have enjoyed the stay more had it not been a rare hot weekend in England but the heat combined with the tiny room made trying to get dressed to go out etc. quite frustrating.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Attractive small hotel right beside the British Museum. Room on 1st floor, overlooked a lovely garden to rear with outdoor seating, which was very peaceful. The room was compact but nicely furnished with everything we needed. Ensuite was tiny but clean and the shower( which is set in bath is tall to climb into) was very powerful, although good tip - Close shower door before turning on taps.
My husband and I were amazed how quiet it was with both windows opened all night as there is no air con and it was the hottest day of the year! The only thing that woke us was the storm early that morning.

Only fault was the bedroom lock (when in room) did not work, the Ensuite had a few lose fittings.

Room Tip: Request room at rear of hotel, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great location for business and pleasure. Sadly room is very small, food is average and 50% staff didn't seem to be bothered, on the other hand the other 50% seemed great.

The hotel itself has quite a bit of character.

Breakfast wasn't much cop, luckily there is a massive variety of pubs and restaurants near by.

Typical London hotel - over priced mediocre hotel but fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESTN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Fabulous stay for 3 days! Great location, room overlooking the front of hotel which was great! Was able to change our breakfast day to fit in with us. Staff couldn't have been more helpful with the birthday surprises! Would definitely recommend and would stay again! Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was first given a room in the front of the hotel, on a sunny warm day. The room was large (by European standards) but stifling, and opening the windows (no AC) admitted lots of noise, more heat, and diesel exhaust.

The staff graciously allowed me to change to a room on the garden side, which was much smaller but quiet and cool, with an attractive garden outside the window.

The breakfast was average.

The bed (which was okay) had six decorative pillows on it, as well as two sleeping pillows. Clearing them off used up almost all of the empty space in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the garden side in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHLRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I booked 5 rooms for two nights for a celebration of my birthday, we had a fabulous stay. All the rooms were great, 3 doubles, 1 twin and 1 single. Had a good deal as booked early online. We had breakfast included for the first night, as we were a party of nine they laid us up a table in the garden, the service was excellent and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. My Mum had arranged a surprise cake and champagne to be brought out to the garden in the afternoon, which was fab, the hotel organised it very well. Overall we had a great time, the Hotel is very central, we were able to walk to most places we wanted to go, Covent garden, Shaftesbury Avenue etc.
Would recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melap00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#572 of 1,069 in London
315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#299 of 1,069 in London
809 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#491 of 1,069 in London
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#610 of 1,069 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#577 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#655 of 1,069 in London
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing