We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Amiss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #580 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Vernon BC Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something Amiss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Looking at the Grange White Hall website it is advertised as a 4-star boutique hotel with Spacious guest rooms either Superior or Executive with Concierge services that include sightseeing requests.

First the Good:
- great location in Bloomsbury directly behind the British Museum
- good breakfast (if it is included in the room rate, otherwise it is very expensive)
- nice garden views (from some rooms)

Bad:
- Superior rooms are grossly mislabeled, these are Standard rooms at best. Also, "superior" rooms are located on all levels, including the basement below grade. Requests for a Garden View room even though booked well in advance and paid for prior will not be given more than a passing glance. We only got a Garden View room after 3 attempts and finally involving the Manager.
- Executive Rooms after viewing are not much bigger than their "superior" rooms and at 30 GBP, not worth the upgrade in my opinion
- Staff are not given adequate training on handling requests for sightseeing tours. Although they have a Concierge service, not once were we transferred to speak with the Concierge when we made inquiries about a sightseeing tour. We were dismissed by the front desk staff and forced to handle matters on our own.
- were given keys to our room only to enter and find the room turned upside down, beds not made, linens and pillows thrown about. Asked to be moved to a room that was ready.
- Upon being told to return at a certain time were told to wait while room was being prepared only to find out from a returning front desk clerk that the room had been ready for some time and wondered why we had been told to wait.
- that being said this is not a 4-star quality hotel and should not be marketed as such

My recommendation if you are set on staying at this hotel, make sure you phone ahead and specifically ensure you are getting the room and services you requested prior to your arrival.

Room Tip: Room 110 has a nice garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    248
    141
    65
    40
See reviews for
72
244
28
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just back from a long weekend in London. Nice room, nice beds and bathroom at the Grange White Hall Hotel, but several minor things that pull down the general impression. After checing in (friendly staff) we went to the nice little bar for a drink. Nice TV Screen on the wall "entertaining" us with BBC full mumbeling coverage of the stirling architecture prize 2013 - interesting? Not! Could not put the drinks on my room since I had prepaid for the room and I therefore might leave without settling the bill - a possible thief amongst the guests.... Left for a pub. Nice day in London the following day, returned to hotel - room was not made up (at 6PM). Forget the breakfast - bloody expensive. Want to check mail? 5 pounds for an hour on the internet is close to fraud - wake up management - it is 2013!! Go to any pub near Holborn and have a nice beer and free wifi access!

Room Tip: In the back against gardens - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaaleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked for two rooms for three nights. The hotel looked lovely from the street and the reception/bar area was appealing but when we got to the corridors and the rooms we were disappointed. Luckily we weren't in London during a very hot spell as the corridors were quite warm and muggy and the rooms were also quite hot - despite the open window. Our room faced the street and was extremely noisy with delivery and garbage trucks attending to the row of accommodation houses lining the street. Our friend's room was overlooking the garden and was certainly quieter than ours, but, the floor in this room was no level and this caused some concern when putting glasses on bedside tables, etc. The hotel is well situated and we walked everywhere from here (somehow). The beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozy-Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a nice hotel, very close to the British museum. My room, however, was not nice, so much so I complained about it in writing the next morning - I also told the receptionist, but I have had no contact whatsoever from the hotel.
My room was in the basement, almost no light and I discovered at 6am that it was also situated right near to the kitchen - you can imagine the noise !
The breakfast was very good, but I would never stay in this room again.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had 3 double bed rooms for 4 nights and spent another night when we returned from our Europe trip. We booked the hotel through internet. The hotel is located just behind the British Museum, in fact they share a common back. It is about 5 minutes walk to either Holborn or Russell Square Tube Stations.
The room my wife and I had was on the first floor facing the main street. Since it was August the windows needed to be kept opened all the time, as there is no air conditioning. The room is so small that it does have enought space to accomondate a spare bed or a single chair, not that we need them. The matress was too soft and had a depression at the centre making it difficult for both my wife and I to have a good sleep.
Because we have to keep the window opened all the time to prevent the room being hot and stuffy, the noise from the street was very audible. At about 6 am the garbage truck will comes around to collect the gabbage and that is a guarantee to be more effective than an alarm clock.
Breakfast was good, we were served English breakfast for 2 out of the 5 breakfasts, the other 3 were continental.
We had problem leaving our luggages with the hotel when we checked out to visit Europe despite having a booking with the hotel for another night on our return. We were earlier told we could leave our luggages if we are were returning to stay at the hotel. When we were about to leave for theEuro Star Train Station, we were told by the Supervisor that we could not leave our luggages overnight at the hotel. What an unpleasant experience! After much insistence,we were allowed to and had to signed an indemnity letter. This was done in a way as if the hotel was doing us a great favour.
We visited Brussels for three nights, the hotel rooms we stayed in were at least twice the size and cost about a third as compared to this London hotel. Of course I am awared of the differences in hotels in this two cities but the differences are just too glaring.
Overall we were disappointed with this hotel, having paid for a 4 stars hotel that could not live up to its status

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoong_HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel, the room was hot during the night but we had a fan to cool things down, The location is great for getting in and out of the Central London and away from the midnight crowd! I had a nice stay and the staff were attentive and very helpful in making our stay comfortable - thanks !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view for peace and quiet while staying here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miinnie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#585 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#563 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#572 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing