We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another disappointing Grange hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #588 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another disappointing Grange hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We decided to give Grange yet another opportunity to impress us. Unfortunately they failed miserably yet again. The room was much smaller than we have hoped for we couldnt open the wardrobe door properly due to its closeness to the bedside table. We were there for 3 days and there was no where to put our jumpers, t-shirts etc. The paintwork in the room needed touching up. The TV control didnt work, the box on the wall which contained the tea and coffee was not suitable for making tea and coffee on as the cup kept sliding off and then there was the fact that everything was on a slope. So much so that when you walked into the bathroom it felt like you were at sea, The bed was on an angle to, which meant I had to fight to stop myself drifting to the middle of the bed and as a consequent I left the hotel with back ache. On day 2 we arrived back at the room at about 4pm to find that the room hadnt been serviced. The duty manager said this was because we didnt request it to be done earlier?????? The reception girls, although smiley were ineffective when dealing with our complaint about the room and the duty manager also seemed to lack any power at all to resolve our problems. Sorry Grange we have given you several opportunities to raise your game but you havent. Dont stay here....p.s. the wine they offer is the type you can buy for £4.00 in a supermarket but they charge you £17.00 per bottle.

Room Tip: Stay at the Montague hotel on the other side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    248
    141
    65
    40
See reviews for
72
244
28
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 9th November as part of a theatre break with our friends. Online booking is very easy. You can enter requests for rooms etc but you are advised that your requests are subject to availablity etc so you know in advance you may not always get what you ask for.

We asked for two quieter rooms overlooking the courtyard at the rear of the hotel, we got one at the back and one on the ground floor at the front. My wife and I stayed in room G3 which was a great sized room. The bed is a fold down model which was very comfortable. Room was well appointed with plenty of wardrobe and storage space. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and the bathroom has more than adequate complimentary toiletries. Our room was not too noisy to be fair but we did stay at the weekend. If staying during the week, ear plugs will be useful if you are a light sleeper.

Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 1300 hrs, we knew check in time is usually 1500 hrs but our luggage was securely stored while we went to the show we booked for. We came back to freshen up and our rooms were ready to go. You can ask for early check in but again you are advised this is subject to availability so no issues there.

The staff are all very friendly. The hotel have clearly taken on board earlier feedback about being able to run a tab for bar bills etc. You are now offered the option of swiping your card for pre authorisation to charge spends to your room. Just goes to show you that the management read these reviews or listen to customer feedback.

Breakfast is a continental style which is included in the B&B rate, you can upgrade to a full english for an extra £6. Very good value for money in either breakfast options, the buffet selection for the continental was superb.

This hotel is well situated for the British Museum, Dominion Theatre (We Will Rock You), Oxford Street, etc. All well within walking distance. There are some great pubs around the area of the British Museum so for the couples weekend we planned the hotel was very well situated. Less than 5 minute from Russell Square tube which is the nearest station.

We would certainly go back to this hotel again and we would recommend it to anyone. Very friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room overlooking the rear of the hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at The Grange White Hall as part of a theatre break. My friend and I stayed in room 303 as a twin room, whilst fairly small the room was fine, clean and overlooked the garden. There was a noise in the room which sounded like a generator and whirred all night but otherwise it was a quiet room. Our friends stayed in room 307 which was smaller than 303, located at the front of the hotel so traffic noise could be heard. Fortunately, we visited in November as room 307 was extremely hot. We all had continental breakfast and this was very nice and staff were attentive. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to Covent Garden, Oxford Street etc. However, if you do require a taxi, the cost is only £8 to the Covent Garden area.The hotel was booked as part of a theatre break and we feel that it was good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel the staff we courteous and helpful. Our room wasn't ready but were able to leave iur luggage until check in. The room was nice and comfortable for 2 people with a separate space for luggage and work space. My only negative would be that the room was too close to the lift and we could hear it going up and down all night. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dondon311282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just returned from a trip to London to see 'Warhorse'
Wonderful Show - break out the tissues in the second half!!!
We stayed at the Grange White Hall Hotel,Montague Street in Bloomsbury. Lovely hotel, Helpful and welcoming staff. Pretty room overlooking the hotel garden and the back of the British Museum. Lovely breakfast. Great, quiet location, walking distance to Oxford Street, Covent Garden and theatreland and of course for the British Museum.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking their garden and the side of the British Museum so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is in a good location, just behind the British Museum, within easy walking distance of Covent Garden. We had a room, which was very comfortable, overlooking the garden at the back and it was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoventryDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon BC Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Looking at the Grange White Hall website it is advertised as a 4-star boutique hotel with Spacious guest rooms either Superior or Executive with Concierge services that include sightseeing requests.

First the Good:
- great location in Bloomsbury directly behind the British Museum
- good breakfast (if it is included in the room rate, otherwise it is very expensive)
- nice garden views (from some rooms)

Bad:
- Superior rooms are grossly mislabeled, these are Standard rooms at best. Also, "superior" rooms are located on all levels, including the basement below grade. Requests for a Garden View room even though booked well in advance and paid for prior will not be given more than a passing glance. We only got a Garden View room after 3 attempts and finally involving the Manager.
- Executive Rooms after viewing are not much bigger than their "superior" rooms and at 30 GBP, not worth the upgrade in my opinion
- Staff are not given adequate training on handling requests for sightseeing tours. Although they have a Concierge service, not once were we transferred to speak with the Concierge when we made inquiries about a sightseeing tour. We were dismissed by the front desk staff and forced to handle matters on our own.
- were given keys to our room only to enter and find the room turned upside down, beds not made, linens and pillows thrown about. Asked to be moved to a room that was ready.
- Upon being told to return at a certain time were told to wait while room was being prepared only to find out from a returning front desk clerk that the room had been ready for some time and wondered why we had been told to wait.
- that being said this is not a 4-star quality hotel and should not be marketed as such

My recommendation if you are set on staying at this hotel, make sure you phone ahead and specifically ensure you are getting the room and services you requested prior to your arrival.

Room Tip: Room 110 has a nice garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#584 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#460 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#290 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#562 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#582 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#678 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#351 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing