We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel-Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel-Great location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I just returned from a lovely week at the Grange White Hall Hotel. Rooms are typically small, but nicely decorated. Breakfast is included: full English on weekdays and Continental on weekends. The hotel has a nice courtyard and literally abuts the British Museum. Quite close to Russell Square and Holborn tube stations. The restaurant staff was particularly friendly. No air conditioning, but windows open (ours to the courtyard which was blessedly quiet) and a fan is in the room. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moddycurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    252
    142
    65
    41
See reviews for
72
245
28
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for a theatre weekend and hotel is placed very well, only a couple of tube stops away from theatreland or covent garden etc - alternatively not too far to walk as well. There was a mix up with our room when we got there, firstly room wasn't ready, then changed us so we could get in but sent us to a twin room instead of a double. When we went back down the staff were very good and gave us a free upgrade to an executive room without us even asking & also gave us a complimentary coffees in the bar, again without the need to ask. The room itself was very big and well laid out, nice furnishings etc, but the bathroom was a bit tired & dated & wasn't as good as I was expecting. Overall, very nice & would go back again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simo117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have stayed here before and the room allocated was very small, however, we decided to return this past weekend. Having booked through the hotel rather than a booking web site, we received a favourable deal. B&B only £120 for a superior room. Our room was no 005 and was very nice indeed. Very spacious and on the lower ground floor, but with large sash windows that gave a view of a small terrace and the pavement/street above - this offered natural light which was most welcome. We arrived before check in, so the Reception staff were happy to store our bag for when we returned later in the afternoon. The hotel seemed very spruced and everywhere was spotless. The hotel is very well situated for the British Museum and some excellent pubs and Restaurant. Its also only a 15/20 minute walk from Euston. Our nights sleep was perfect. We heard not a sound, not even from the road or pavement outside. The hotel staff were very helpful, pleasant and eager to please. Arriving for breakfast at 10 a.m. the Restaurant was full - its not very large, so as they were fully booked, it was no surprise to find it over subscribed. A staff member quickly asked us if we were happy to breakfast in the lounge area and as a table was already set up this was not a problem. We were supplied with tea and toast and merely had to walk in to the Breakfast area to help ourselves from the Continental buffet. There was a pleasant enough spread of cheeses, cold meats, rolls, fresh fruit & yogurts as well as croissants , but at £17+ per head could have been more extensive? All in all though a most pleasant stay and we shall be back.

Room Tip: 005 was large and very comfortable. I would ask for this room again. Its situated near the glass lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clootiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just spent a few days at this hotel for a tuc women conference and enjoyed a very nice stay room with on the lower ground and they had given the outside a face lift with pot plants etc made it look like a patio very nice. My room was spacious and bed comfortable over all a great stay very quiet, and handy to visit the British Museum (but get there early to avoid the rush of visitors and students). would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very quiet location and our room was overlooking the garden, so no problem with noise whatsoever, and the room we were given was very large with a flatscreen TV. Breakfast was nice , offering continental, and we didn't realise we were also allowed full english until we asked on the last day! The location is OK, you need to walk a fair bit to get to the underground stations (Holborn/ Tottenham court rd) But we ended up using Boris Bikes (there is a depot on the road of the hotel). I would have given more stars but in the night we were rather cold as the bed covers were thin, and there were no additional covers in the cupboard. Also, when we went to turn on the heater, it was a very old oil one and made alot of noise when heating up. Also the Bathroom was a bit dilapidated and needs renovating.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking garden but if not the road is very quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseyswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for four nights on business. First night I got a room next to the elevator which was a nightmare. However, next morning I got another room which was perfect, even spacious for London hotels. The location is excellent, you can reach lot of key attraction on foot but two underground stations are nearby. A big plus here is friendly and well trained staff. You will feel welcome and appreciated. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home counties
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A terrace of Georgian townhouses is now the Grange Whitehall Hotel in Montague Street, just off Russell Square. Pleasant reception staff and easy check-in and out.

Comfortable, rather than luxurious, my relatively spacious room boasted a Sony flat screen TV, decent bed and bedding and a bath with an excellent integral shower. Good quality towels, but budget toiletries. Generous supplies of tea and coffee in the room.

The hotel has an attractive conservatory and walled garden that backs on to the British Museum.

Quite a light continental breakfast and the cooked option was a little overcooked and not hot enough.

The hotel has a small residents’ bar with a good selection of wines and spirits, a number of bottled beers, but only Stella Artois on draught.

Overall, a good value, clean and friendly small hotel, situated conveniently for a night or two, while doing business locally in Bloomsbury.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#577 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#479 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#586 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#579 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#349 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing