We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #580 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a theatre break in room 108, located next to a very noisey lift shaft. The room was very small made worse by the dressing table being too big, restricting access to the wardrobe. It was hot evening so with no air conditioning we had to have the window open and was woken up by refuse collectors at 6.30 on Sunday morning. On the positive side the staff were very friendly. I have stayed in much better London hotels for the same tariff. If you do stay I would suggest you give the offer of 2 for 1 afternoon tea in the sister hotel, The Grange Holborn a miss, £24 per person very average.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orsett18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for placing your review and we are sorry that you were not fully satisfied on this occasion. We hope that you will try us again, or even one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    248
    141
    65
    40
See reviews for
72
244
28
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed one night at this hotel in May. Lovely quiet location but just round the corner from The British Museum and very central for a tourist trip to London. My room was a little small, but colleagues got bigger ones, so that's the luck of the draw.Bed comfortable and good satellite TV. I had a great view of this hotel's marvellous USP: the lovely tranquil garden. In the heart of London somewhere quiet and green like this is a real plus.
Good breakfast, small bar and limited public rooms. Couldn't get the Wifi to work, but others did! Staff friendly and helpful. In all,a real little gem

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Snowweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It was such a beautiful sunny weekend, I'm sure it was lovely sitting in our peaceful garden - you forget you are in the centre of London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will return! Located on a peaceful street just behind the Natural History Museum it is in easy reach of the tube station. Outside there is a lovely garden which you can relax in.

I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in my room price and was superb. Choice of fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cereals, croissants, toast, juices and the usual english breakfast. Regular top ups of tea and coffee should you require it.

My room was located on the lower ground floor (room 11) It was a great size. Only down side is that it had a small window so was quite dark, but then I didn't spend ages in my room so it wasn't a problem. Lots of tea and coffee provided in the room and nice touches like magazines by the bedside and plenty of toiletries.

The only reason I haven't given full marks is because my room was opposite the door to the stairs which meant it could be a little noisy at times...but thats me being really picky!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lankylegs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although I booked through grange hotels to stay in Whitehall hotel London when we arrived we were moved to blooms town house next door. So if you want to stay particularly in the White hall part of the hotel do state prior to booking. In the town house side of the hotel it is quiet and you use the small dining area in the basement. The main bar and main restaurant is in the white hall side of the hotel. This said it was not a problem to us. The rooms are on the small side but it is boutique after all. Our room over looked the back garden which was enchanting and quiet. The bathrooms are a little old and the shower was a bit of a dribble but the building is old. The room was very clean and the pillows comfortable. Bed was a little soft for my taste but comfortable.
I cannot praise the staff enough. Every one was very helpful and friendly. This was a lovely change for an English hotel. I usually find I have to go to a 5* hotel abroad to find such attentiveness and happy people. The hotel is near Russell square and the British museum. Only a short walk and you are in oxford road. I found the hotel quite central. At the end of the road are bus stops for the hop on hop off buses, ask the hotel to book this as it is easier than trying the places around London. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel for different destinations around London. The nearest underground is just across the square about 5 min walk. I enjoyed my stay here so much that I will be planning to stay again in the next year. This will be a first for me as I never stay in the same hotel twice, this will be mostly due to the staff who made us feel so special. A big thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the garden they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmacwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it is a great location, particularly if you want to visit the British Museum.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is a peaceful oasis in the midst of a busy and exciting city. The rooms on the back look out over a lovely greenery-filled yard. Large rooms, great value. Lovely area to walk with many parks and college buildings. SInce there are UCL and London School of Economics students in the area, there are some great restaurants with good prices. Very pretty Georgian building. Decent buffet breakfast and friendly staff who will make you a drink at the bar, Odd there aren't cold drinks with ice available though? Lunch and dinner should be taken elsewhere, they aren't set up for this since they are small. Book a back room for quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side look over a lovely garden (wedding-worthy) and are peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveWailea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We picked the Grange White Hall hotel primarily for the perfect location. As it is located next to the British museum and close to Russell Square it's a great location to start your London city trip. West end is even at a walking distance.
The hotel itself was definitely ok but a bit on the older side. As we were with 3 couples, we could compare the different rooms and I must say that there is some difference in size.
The service was ok. Staff was very helpful when we asked for a transfer to the upper floors, like asked upon booking. Our first rooms were located on the lower ground floor, and although you have a window you're actually in the basement. But on other occasions like in the bar or at breakfast, you missed the 4 star experience.
Overall, was it value for money? Not completely. I just expect that little extra from a 4 star hotel that wasn't there, especially for the price tag.

Room Tip: Ask for a graden view room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bockest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is located in a very nice area. It is close to the British Museum and the theatre district. The staff members are very helpful. I stayed here twice, before and after a tour, during my last visit to London. The breakfast is wonderful and the tables are cleared immediately. Hot tea, coffee, and toast are brought to the table. I would highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again when in London.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back on the 3rd or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#585 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#467 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#563 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#572 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Property: Grange White Hall Hotel
Address: 2-5 Montague St | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing