We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of intruders”
Review of Oakwood Farringdon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakwood Farringdon
Ranked #197 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Scary- If you are staying in a unit with a terrace- be aware that intruders have entered your flat from the sliding glass door. Even if you are INSIDE with the front door locked, the intruder enters late at night through the slider, knowing the layout of your apartment as well as the building's fire exits and unsecured street access points. If you are already booked to stay here- units with balconies may be safer from intruders. If you have children, request to be moved to a flat where you only have to guard the front door from strangers in the hallways. Hopefully, last night's intruder was a burglar as opposed to violent criminal. Our group has stayed here before without a break-in but after last night, maybe not in the future. Oakwood did not notify other guests of the intruder so we posted this review to caution you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharron S, Public Relations Manager at Oakwood Farringdon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Globetrotz,

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your experience while staying with us at Oakwood Farringdon in London.

We can assure you that this was a stand-alone occurrence and we have had no other incidents of this nature occur at our building before or since the incident. Please know that the safety and security of our guests is of highest priority to us. As a result, we have installed a number of additional security cameras in the building in addition to our onsite 24-hour security personnel.

Following an extensive investigation, we were advised by local authorities that this incident was one of several carried out by a group of burglars targeting businesses in the Farringdon area.

We hope that you will consider again staying with us at Oakwood Farringdon. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards,

Debbie Lundon, Oakwood Worldwide Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

The building is located in a quiet residential enclave yet only a stop or two away from everthing else in the city. There are 2 supermarkets right at the doorstep - can it be more convenient than that? The apartments are bright, modern and clean and there's a day-front desk person who can help with anything you need. The space is so much better than any hotel you'll find downtown and the kitchen and washing facilities are so good to have when you''re travelling with the family. Another nice thing about the apartment is the balcony that spans from the living room to the bedrooms - so peaceful to just get out there and take in the fresh morning air!

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We a fantastic stay at the Oakwood Farringdon. It is in an excellent location just minutes away from the Farringdon tube/train station with links to the rest of London. There are many choices of restaurants, and taverns within walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The beds were comfortable, the living area spacious, the kitchen well stocked and the bathrooms clean and tidy. The kitchen and bathroom are sufficient in terms of size, and both are fully equipped. There was a complimentary basket in the kitchen, with pasta, sauce, and cookies. There are 2 small markets right as you exit the building. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingShasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The apartments are within 10mins walk of 3 tube stations, giving good access to all areas of the city.
There are many great restaurants and bars within 5mins walk in the Smithfield market area.
The apartments themselves are of great quality; clean, comfortable, and modern decor. Good facilities, inc all mod cons, free high speed Wifi, and comfortable beds and sofas.
12hr/day reception, with friendly and helpful staff.
Overall a great experience, and would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_killington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OlgaGTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#47 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Farringdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Farringdon

Address: 2 Brewhouse Yard, London EC1V 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakwood Farringdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakwood Farringdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing