We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent :-)”

The Royal Air Force Museum London
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.85*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #33 of 1,591 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you're searching for something different why not take off to Colindale and navigate your way through the history of aviation from the earliest balloon flight to the latest Eurofighter? This world-class collection of over 100 aircraft, aviation and wartime memorabilia offers a fun day out for all the family. Don't forget to visit our awe inspiring sound and light show that takes you back in time to the Battle of Britain. Better yet admission to the museum is free of charge. The Museum is open daily from 10am to 6pm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say, absolutely awesome.
I went with my son expecting it to be OK at best due to it being free! But it was amazing. How they can provide such a big display of aircraft and no cost is beyond me.
Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,973
    605
    117
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Too many displays not working or closed off - poor catering”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have never visited the Museum before and all I can say is that I was disappointed and it is as well that entry is free. Overall the exhibits are well displayed, beautifully preserved, interesting and, obviously, relevant to the 100+ years of the RAF's existence.

However,on the Balcony of the Bomber gallery there were five briefing screens, all labeled Sorry - Not in Use and the lift down to the ground floor was also out of use - not good for the less mobile. The 100 Year Timeline was roped off from about 1954 onwards. There was a helicopter rotor head set up with a handle to rotate it but there was no explanation of what it was meant to do and actually it was just turning and not demonstrating any aspects of the "Swash plate" in a helicopter rotor head

The toilets I visited were clean but had no soap or gel and the old fashioned hand drier blew cold - people were drying their hands on toilet paper.

The Wessex cafe I visited charged £15 for two sandwiches, two bottled drinks and a flapjack. The sandwich fillings were excellent but the sandwiches were made with thick toasting slice bread. One drink was cold, from the chiller cabinet and the other was not, they were both served in glasses, warm from the dishwasher and there was no ice. It was not busy enough for there to have been a cold glass problem.

The complete Grahame - White hangar was closed, just a sign with no explanation. It probably only represents about 5% of the whole museum but it is highly historically significant and contains some of the oldest aircraft in the whole collection; disappointing

The Shop was good with plenty of souvenirs, memorabilia, books and DVDs and of particular note was the second hand section where donated books could be bought very cheaply and there were a lot of them!

Overall a fine collection of aircraft, vehicles, equipment and memorabilia, badly let down by catering, toilets, closed off sections and inoperative audio-visual equipment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFMuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Air Force Museum London, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review which has been posted by Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you found your overall experience disappointing particularly as you state in your review that overall our 'exhibits are well displayed, beautifully preserved, and interesting'. However, we would like to answer a couple of the comments made in your review for the purposes of clarity.

Our Grahame-White Hangar has been closed since April and will be until Winter as we are currently building a new exhibition in this area, 'The First World War in the Air'. There have been signs placed outside the Museum's Main Entrance, giving this explanation to our visitors and there are also notices and press releases on our website about this.

The reason why the Timeline was roped off from 1954, was that we have been building a new exhibition in our Milestones of Flight Gallery 'An Enduring Relationship' which explores the history of the Royal Air Force in Oman and which opened to the public on 15th of July. Again signs were placed in this area explaining that the area was roped off and apologizing for our appearance at the time. This section of the Museum is now open to the public and to celebrate this fact we are giving free Omani coffee and Halwa (a lightly spiced cake) to the visitors of this area until the end of July 17.

We are aware of the problems with our Kiosks in Milestones of Flight this area and these items will be replaced in the near future. However, it should be noted that over the last few weeks our AV Team have made a concerted effort to repair these items with some success.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we would advise members of the public to check our website before setting off on their journey to double-check which parts of our museum are closed and the reason why.

Kind regards,
The Royal Air Force Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent museum. We planned a quick visit but spent most of the day there. Fantastic collection of aircraft and very well displayed. Well worth the visit. A little hard to access without a car or taxi but the tube station can be reached by bus. Look forward to returning one day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Static Display of Aircraft to be Seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have been to many Air Shows and Air Museums and apart from the Smithsonian in Washington DC this would be the next biggest display of Aircraft I have ever seen. From simulators to actual films to getting up close and personal with a variety of craft is mind blowing. A MUST SEE if in London. Be prepared to spend the whole day and possibly the next day if you have the time. This place goes from hanger to hanger to hanger and it is FREE. A donation will go a long way though. How to get their. By the tube take the northern line to Edgeware getting off in Colindale.
take the bus right outside the station to the Air Museum you can pay the driver and tell him the Air Museum. coming home the Bus stop is right out side the Air Museum and asking the driver again to get out at the Station stop. They have cafe's for lunch and also a museum shop for keepsakes. This would have been a highlight of my London trip. For all Aircraft enthusiast
its a must see. A good family day, or if you are a couple or just on your own. Something for everyone. I cant speak highly enough of the dedication the way the craft displayed inside and out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Startrekker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I expected to spend a couple of hours there but my friend and I stayed until almost closing time. There is so much to see and the exhibits are set out in such an intelligent way. Great for 'anoraks', families and even those without a passion for flight. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent - easy walking distance of Colindale Underground & main line station. There are bus stops by the entrance & parking on site.
We found an excellent local pub, the Chandos Arms - great food and well kept beer and so reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Air Force Museum London also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Air Force Museum London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing