We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting shape and decor for a pub, worth checking out”
Review of The Blackfriar

The Blackfriar
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 1/18
20:00
Ranked #1,491 of 23,821 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: A member of the iconic fleet dating back to 1873, Nicholson's offers timeless British pub hospitality. A fine stock of smooth and silky cask ales are pulled at the bar, while homely British classics are served in the dining room. The carefully chosen wine list brings together some great international bottles, while a Cask Ale Club is offered for any true beer aficionados.
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Visited The Blackfriars as part of drinks for a friend. There were about 10 of us and my friend had booked a table in advance for 7pm. It was a great spot as it was a little away from the bar and in the small dining area. I liked that fact as it was not as loud and easier to hear everyone which sometimes can be a challenge in pubs.

There was also table service in that area for food and drinks which was helpful although as one can imagine a little slow. We could still order drinks ourselves.

Most of us had food and it looked pretty good with no complaints from our friends. Our waitress was okay as well.

Nothing much else to report on this place. Definitely an option to check out if you're in the area and after a drink or some food.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BradRevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 518 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2016

We had to go for the fish & chips. Were not able to get near it at dinner time during the week, but got a reservation and table on a Sunday evening. Fish & chips were very good. Carvings on walls and ceilings were beautiful. Staff very helpful.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank RWishner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Came in for some lunch before we head off for some champagne tasting (). We had burgers but they were really good, food was hot and the service from the waitress really good. Nice quirky decorated pub for tourists- but good food, beer and service,whilst being reasonably priced is refreshing in London.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank AGMStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I have often walked past this peculiarly shaped pub, but until today I had never ventured within. What a mistake! It is areal treat.

This art-nouveau pub looks enticing from the outside, and is a treasure inside. The interior of this busy pub is lined with entertaining bas-reliefs by the artist Henry Poole (1873-1928). The pub was built in about 1875, and then re-modelled in about 1905, when art-nouveau (Jugendtstil) was very much in vogue. It is a most attractive pub.

The pub serves not only drinks but also food - anything from sandwiches to full meals. I ate a very tasty grilled-chicken and bacon sandwich with delicious potato chips, and my wife enjoyed a tasty macaroni cheese, While we were eating, i watched waiters hurrying past our table with wonderful looking hamburgers and well-filled salad bowls.

The pub is patronised by both locals and tourists. It has a good feeling, what you expect from a great pub.

Not to be missed - a great London experience.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barklyeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a wonderful building. Arts and crafts, very eccentric and beautiful cared for . I've not eaten here but the food looks great. The atmosphere is very good. Despite the lavish interior it has a local feel to it.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mickf173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackfriar also viewed

 

Been to The Blackfriar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.