We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing meal”
Review of The Blackfriar

The Blackfriar
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 1/17
20:00
Ranked #1,491 of 23,821 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: A member of the iconic fleet dating back to 1873, Nicholson's offers timeless British pub hospitality. A fine stock of smooth and silky cask ales are pulled at the bar, while homely British classics are served in the dining room. The carefully chosen wine list brings together some great international bottles, while a Cask Ale Club is offered for any true beer aficionados.
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is a really interesting pub - for the decor and drinks, but the meal was disappointing this evening: an overcooked, dry pie, cold veg. (and not much of them), a ridiculously small piece of steak and a small, unexciting macaroni cheese. Perhaps they were having an off night but we were expecting something better (at least, from the previous reviewers).

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnThompson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Johnthompson2014, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to use directly at 442072365474 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 310 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

This pub was across the street from our hotel and we found it be to a little gem. It was conveniently located and had so much old world pub charm as well. Nice staff, and we had our breakfast there a few times, Breakfast is basic and reasonably priced. Then a short walk to the Blackfriar underground station takes you anywhere you wish to go in London.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BillCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Billcali, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

The Blackfriar is a really quaint Pub opposite our Hotel and clearly visible from our room. It is a very popular venue and was packed on both Friday and Saturday evening.

We finally had a drink here last night on our way back to the Hotel from dinner with our daughters.

A lively atmosphere and serving a good selection of food and drinks. They offer daily breakfast as well.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank X1105XOashleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Ashleyazavedo, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Blackfriar. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

No idea about the food, but this is a remarkable,truly beautiful pub. If you like a beer in an unusual setting, this is a must see, like walking in to Aladdin's cave. It's full of delights and little detailed gems, both inside and out. Gorgeous!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank ZolatheGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Blackfriar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Called for a Guinness with friends, sat outside as it was a lovely evening, very busy old pub, full of old mosaics and murals of the old Blackfriars Priory that once stood there, Excellent

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Jessybobs, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Blackfriar. We're happy we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackfriar also viewed

 

Been to The Blackfriar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.