We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scottish Smoked Salmon”
Review of The Blackfriar

The Blackfriar
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 1/17
20:00
Ranked #1,491 of 23,821 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: A member of the iconic fleet dating back to 1873, Nicholson's offers timeless British pub hospitality. A fine stock of smooth and silky cask ales are pulled at the bar, while homely British classics are served in the dining room. The carefully chosen wine list brings together some great international bottles, while a Cask Ale Club is offered for any true beer aficionados.
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Small plate selection of Scottish Smoked Salmon & G&T with Roku Gin...a double because I’m on vacation. But when I went to the loo I sat on the cover...so maybe not!
Huge portion of smoked salmon but on very poor quality sourdough bread...dry & thin. Supposed to come with butter but had to ask for it. Salmon was quite good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank islandgryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2019

Love this please, so lovely on the interior, always bring people here when visiting London. Keep the same and I will be back again and again £

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA84, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

James M, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Blackfriar! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Arrived here for a pre boat trip meal was a Sunday so not that busy we had to wait 40 minutes for our food which we saw in the service hatch for about 20 minutes everytime I asked for it to be served the barmaid said theres no tickets so I dont know who its for . I repeated the order to her in the end she became aggressive and just slammed the plates down on our table cost £32 for a cold chicken burger and a cold gourmet burger with cold chips will not be returning

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peterpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Blackfriar. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 020 7236 5474 to speak to our manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

We stayed in London for 3 days with 3 kids so five of us. Being the 5 of us it's difficult to eat anywhere much besides fast food places but we passed this and the prices seemed very reasonable and desperate for some 'proper' food we went in. Staff were very friendly, the history of the place interesting and great atmosphere. Good selection of beer/ales but being so hot went for Peroni!

We all had something different, we didn't go for starters (as I have 5 to pay for!) but they all looked good, would have gone for the calamari.. For the mains I had a ribeye steak cooked perfectly and a VERY reasonable price for London.. I also had a nice surprise as I'm an English mustard person, they only brought out a jar of colmans mustard, that made my day :-) makes all the difference, always a spoiler when it's sachets of Heinz or something else. so top marks for that.

Everyone enjoyed what they had which included the steak pie, fish and chips, & gammon steak. We all did go for desert, the chocolate brownie which was very good (sadly they ran out of rhubarb crumble though)..

So in summary, loved the experience, proper pub with proper food and interesting history. Thanks to them for giving us a lovely meal before we headed back up North.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MDCShropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA84, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Hi MDCShropshireUK! Brilliant review! Extremely glad you and your family could enjoy the most of our food and our pub! Thanks a million for taking time to let us know how we done! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

Three generations from Wiltshire, Northampton & Bangkok ! Historic pub with good selection of ales but the food was poor for eight of us. Wrong choice but service was good. This place was overrun with city drinkers on their way home but it was too touristy for me.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerA84, Manager at The Blackfriar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Blackfriar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackfriar also viewed

 

Been to The Blackfriar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.